We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Derlon Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6 | Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6, 6211HD Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Dubai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Heart of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great hotel in heart of town in walking distance of central square. Vibrant with a lot of shops and restaurants around . Excellent reception who are quick to respond on all matters. Food is also good and they have a nice public area . Next to a very old church it gives a real medieval feel. Rooms are modern and comfortable . Lift is terribly slow. It has an underground restaurant where there are Roman ruins - but is not too great to see . Overall a nice central place and worth staying .Parking is at a short distance underground park and is concessional

Room Tip: Room facing main room in lower floor but limited view due to small windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    54
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
14
68
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was definitely more impressed with this hotel than I expected! We had requested and received a quiet room and our room facing the inside was definitely quiet. Windows opened and had nice shades that were either for light filtering/privacy or to make the room dark. (There was also AC, but we didn't need it during our stay.) Room was quite large by European standards, very clean. Comfy beds. Plenty of little amenities - soap, shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, dental kit, sewing kit, shower cap. Robes and slippers available for use. The mini-bar had some space for us to add a few items of our own. The coffeemaker was a Nespresso machine - which makes great espresso (though, if you haven't seen one before, you might want to view operating directions online). Staff in the lobby were very helpful with things to do and local restaurant recommendations. They were good at making sure the recommendations fit us, not just generic standard answers they give everyone. It's location made it very walkable to shopping, Univ. of Maastricht, and the train station. Our bathroom had a frosted glass door that swung in both directions. We thought is was cute, but if two people are sharing the room who don't know each other well, they might feel like it wasn't private enough. For someone staying several nights, the room had drawers, shelves, and a fair number of hangers to allow you to settle in and keep your stuff organized.

We didn't eat the breakfast or in the restaurant, so I can't comment on those. I definitely go back if I ever return to the area.

Room Tip: Be sure to request if you want a quiet room or if you want to be directing facing the main square de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Recently stayed at the Hotel Derlon as I was attending a conference. Could not have been a better choice. Centrally located with a wonderful square outside, the hotel is modern, clean and relaxed. The service was warm, friendly and helpful. I had to make changes to my booking prior to arriving and also after I had arrived and the staff could not have been more accommodating. The food was excellent. I'd read some comments before about the noise on the square at night disturbing other guests. My room faced the square and while people sat out at night having dinner and trucks came by early in the morning it was no big deal for me, but then I'm an early riser. You are in a city and all cities have noise. If you hate noise don't ask for a room facing the square. I found the location, service and hotel to be wonderful. Planning to return in the future.

Room Tip: Facing the square was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Maastricht for starters, what a great place to visit. Very picturesque and perfect for a weekend away. I was here on business, but never mind. The Derlon sits on a square complete with cobbled streets, cafes and cute shops. Nice setting for sure. The hotel itself could probably be described as contemporary chic within an older building. Check in very easy and facilitated by the fact that the reception knew my driver and had anticipated my arrival. Not the norm. My room was on the (top) 3rd floor which was once part of the roof, I think and for that reason had more character than a usual room, benefitting from some eaves slope and being multi mirrored to maximize the light. It worked well and was both comfortable and stylish at the same time. The room service food was not what I expected, no burger and fries on the menu. King prawn tagliatelli well presented followed by frozen yoghurt and forest fruits. Comfortable bed but here is the real bonus, air conditioning which actually works without a huge noise from the grille. A rare treat and worth an extra mark or two. Breakfast was also a treat, the restaurant is in the basement where there is some historical digging and excavation, entering the place is more like going into a night club with ambient lighting and red uplighters from the stone tiled floor. But quite soothing, who wants bright lights first thing in the day? Excellent food. All in all very good and I will be back next time.

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatoon, saskatchewan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

PERFECT location on a beautiful square. Could walk everywhere with ease on either side of the river and in the historic core. Odd arrangement for check-in in the bar area. We had a room on the back side, with windows that opened onto the roof of adjacent building, hence very quiet. Excellent breakfast for a hotel in Europe. Interesting archaeology in the basement where the breakfast area was located. Nice linens, bathroom and fixtures. On time wakeup call done by a "real" person. Nespresso machine was a nice surprise but a few more capsules would have been appreciated. Very friendly and accommodating staff with late checkout and holding of the bags. As our room was not ready when we arrived, espresso and biscuits were served to us. Thoughtful.
We would stay there again, however it is pricey.

Room Tip: For quietness, ask for the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putten, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you're planning to stay a few days in the wonderful town of Maastricht, there's no better place to stay around the area of Onze Lieve Vrouweplein. There are lots of good restaurants, bars and shops in the immediate vicinity. The Derlon hotel is situated at this excellent location. The hotel is a mixed bag of nice design, atmosphere and outdated interior (the stairs and halls need an update!). Quirky but lovable. My room was clean and nice, situated at the front side where you could see the whole square with the terraces. Which brings me to the biggest negative: the rooms aren't really insulated well, so you can hear a lot of noises from outside. This was a problem in the early morning when touring busses are parked in the front of the hotel and kept me awake.

Still, the was the third time I stayed at this hotel, and I'm planning to return in the future. There's much charm and identity in this hotel to recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights last week and had a pleasant stay. Staff are very friendly, entrance of the hotel is through the bar so it doesn't feel like entering a hotel. Outside on the hotel terrace there was live music when I arrived on Sunday afternoon (Jazz). I was in a standard room on the second floor, basic hotel interior, quite spacious and bright with lots of mirrors and windows. My room overlooked the side of the OLV church, so no one looking in the room and quiet but for the church bells sounding on the hour. Very clean room and bathroom (shower over bath), good bed, nespresso machine and paper cups in the room. I had breakfast downstairs in the bar/café area, good coffee, breakfast basic. The best thing about this hotel is its location right in the centre of Maastricht at the OLV square!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Derlon Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Address: Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6 | Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6, 6211HD Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the hart of the historical city center of Maastricht, located on the beautiful cosy square of 'Onze Lieve Vrouwe' we welcome our guests in an ambiance where history is combined with a touch of design. Derlon Hotel Maastricht is the perfect place for people who adore the good things in life. People who can enjoy the culinary and cultural possibilities which Maastricht has to offer, feel at home at the hospitable Derlon. Stay in one of our luxurious 4-star hotel rooms, enjoy a good cup of coffee, dine in our restaurant, host an event in our unique basement 'Piazza Romana' or arrange a meeting at a very special locatie in the Basilica. It is all possible at Derlon Hotel Maastricht! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Derlon Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derlon Hotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.