We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in a Castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kasteel Terworm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kasteel Terworm to your Saves list
Kasteel Terworm
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terworm 5, 6411 RV Heerlen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Heerlen
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel in a Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We loved our stay here. The ambience of an old castle with modern updates were a perfect blend. Our room was quiet, overlooked the moat, and was equipped with a large modern bath. Breakfasts were tasty and plentiful. The only reason I didn't give a 5 is that we were unable to have dinner - we were always out with friends - so that important part of a stay was not utilized. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Best hotel we stayed in over our 14 day trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    35
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
55
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

This was a total surprise. On a road trip last summer through Europe with my daughter we were searching for places to stay via TripAdvisor and this place turned up. The pictures didn't prepare us for what to expect.
Just beside the highway, yet far enough away to not to be disturbed by it at all, we eventually found Kasteel Terworm.
We took a wrong turn and came in the wrong way on small roads. And suddenly this beautiful castle appeared.

Everything was just amazing. Restoration of he facilities had been made with great finesse and also some humor.
The rooms were very spacious and atmospheric. Top class.
Restaurants and service were as good as everything else. We had three waiters just to serve us coffee and a cake, sitting beautifully beside the canal. Dinner in the castle restaurant was a real treat.

Staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. So the stay was a total success.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg/Europe
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went to the hotel with my wife in January for a weekend. The hotel was very nicely kitted out, huge rooms and a fantastic view make this a really nice stay.
Also the dinner in the restaurant was fantastic, very good food, good wine and a good service.
The hotel near to the motorway so easy to reach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Absolutely awesome place to stay! Spent 2 nights in one of the suites in the main castle, then 1 night in a standard room. The suite was big enough for the wife to do her yoga in with multiple friends, and had a terrific view of the gardens. The standard room was a little tighter, but still more than enough room to be comfortable. The staff was MORE than helpful and always willing to pull tourist sights up on the internet for you. The resteraunt was a little pricey for the amount of food you get, but it's a FANCY resteraunt no McD's. Breakfast was 20 euro, but a good enough spread. The view is undiscribable. It's out of town far enough that it's peaceful. You will have to drive about 5-10 minutes for a grocery store, but again, well worth the quiet you get at the hotel. Plus, it's a CASTLE you're sleeping in. I'm looking forward to seeing it decorated for Xmas, and also seeing the gardens during the spring.

Room Tip: If you plan to spend all your time in the room, get a suite. But, if you're planning on spendin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here end of October on a business trip as the 'usual' place in Brunssum was full. What a gem to stumble upon. Beautiful setting, wonderful staff, fantastic breakfasts and glorious rooms. A wee bit out of the way but not a problem for the 3 of us. Would we stay here again, you bet!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed a night here while visiting family around the corner, and I have to say this is the most beautiful hotel I've ever stayed in. The converted castle hotel is like something out of a romance novel. We arrived at the property parked and crossed the moat in to the main court to be greeted by a live jazz band playing some wonderful smooth jazz. The receptionist at check-in was very knowledgeable, kind and helpful. The bell boy carried our luggage to our room and when he opened up our ground floor room off the main court I seriously thought this must be heaven. The exposed brick, hardwood floors, large patio overlooking the back garden and moat, antique wood desks and tables mixed in with the contemporary cream furniture, painted wall mural, large white marble bathroom, basically everything was PERFECT and looked like a feature from my favorite magazine architectural digest. I highly recommend this hotel for those looking for a romantic getaway!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Staying in such place is like playing in a movie - the ambience is very stylish and surroundings are beautiful. The castle is located in a beautiful park, surrounded by a moat. Funny ceramic sculptures are contrasting with antique character of the castle and park. Lobby and the restaurant are taking us into 19th century, and so do the rooms. We always stay in courtyard rooms, which are oldfashion but spacy and comfortable.
The hotel is missing some comfort (like ie water in the room or a real wifi, as the one they offer let you surf on the internet, but does not let you to send emails from your computer), but is stylish and charming, so we stay there everytime we go to Holland. Service is slightly sluggish (except the reception there is no service at all - nobody helps you with your luggage)
Restaurant is terrific - their wine and dine is a great option, as it allows to enjoy different tastes without overeating.
Definitely we will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasteel Terworm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasteel Terworm

Address: Terworm 5, 6411 RV Heerlen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Heerlen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Heerlen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasteel Terworm 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kasteel Terworm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasteel Terworm Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasteel Terworm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.