We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to my birthplace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of No 16 Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heerlen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
No 16 Guesthouse
Coriovallumstraat 16, 6411 CC Heerlen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Heerlen B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Back to my birthplace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I did a trip to our birthplaces in The Netherlands (for me) and Greece (for him) in the European summer of 2007.
In Heerlen, my birthplace we arrived without a place to stay and were directed to a B 'n B by the nice lad at the VVV. The Dutch help for tourists.
Although the place was a little hard to find as it was pouring with rain we were welcolmed by Marij who told us that Chir would meet us two doors down. We had a wonderful room with an extremely comfortable bed overlooking their lovely garden. The bathroom (down the short corridor ) was huge with a bath and an extra shower.
Breakfast was delicious and very well provided, with great conversation about all things Heerlen and anything else we wanted to know. Chir gave us very good information about buses and where to find places of interest which he would also look up on his computer if he didn't know the answer.
I would recommend this B 'n B to any one who is looking for a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The place is so lovely any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jarrestville, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

On our trip to the Netherlands and Germany, this was our favorite place to stay (four nights). Chir and Marij Dovermann made us feel right at home. Our room was very large and over looked they're lovely garden. The breakfast got us started each morning, and we were able to have wonderful conversations with Chir, Marij his wife usually does breakfast but was down with a cold. Chir printed a map for us each day; to the sights we had chosen the day before.

No.16 is located with many fine dining places and shopping close by. There is free parking after 17:00 across the street from the Guesthouse.

Oh yes, the Dovermann's mailed us a souvenir box that we must have left in our room.

This is a beautiful part of the Netherlands and should not be missed, and a stay at No.16 Guesthouse is highly recommended.

Bruce Roush, Jarrettsville, Maryland

Room Tip: All rooms looked nice, but the rear of the house is not on a street. We say it was quite out front a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

Chir was great. B and B was in a great location in relation to the center of town. I would stay here again.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

For over 10 years we had planned a trip to the Netherlands, to visit Heerlen, my father in law's boyhood home town. We booked all our hotels and bed and breakfast places on line, as our travel agent wasn't familiar with the area. We didn't know what to expect. We stayed in 3 places during our stay in the Netherlands, and Guesthouse #16 was the best place of all!

At first we didn't know what to expect, as we walked to it from the train station. But as soon as we met our kind host, Chir, we knew we had picked a great place to relax each night after touring the nearby cities in Belgium, Netherlands, and Germany.

Our room was spacious and the beds were very comfortable. It was hot a few nights but we had a fan to cool us off. The bathroom which we shared with other guests (toilet seperate from the bathtub) was very clean. We had a sink in our room, and fresh clean towels each day. The room was lovely, decorated with an antique dressing table, hair dryer, couch, TV, and lovely pictures on the walls.

Across the street from the house is a really neat museum which houses an original 2000 year old Roman bath ruin! We visited it, and we highly recommend it too.

Best of all was the delicious breakfast, provided between 8 am and 9 am each day: hard boiled eggs, toast, chocolate sprinkles and jam, tea, coffee or hot chocolate, ham, and delicious Dutch cheese. Mmm...we were so spoiled.

We had the use of the sitting room whenever we wanted to relax to read or write postcards back home. The room looked out onto a pretty garden in the back, which we were welcome to sit in. Our kind host even let me use his laptop computer to update our travels on my blog! He also checked out train schedules for us. We would certainly go back again! We highly recommend this lovely guesthouse!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2004

This guesthouse is the best place in Heerlen located near the city center. Warm, friendly and very comfortable My next stay is not in a Hotel in Heerlen but in this great Guesthouse.
their home page is if i am not mistaken
-------------------------

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to No 16 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 16 Guesthouse

Address: Coriovallumstraat 16, 6411 CC Heerlen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Heerlen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Heerlen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House, only occupied by guests, is comfortably furnished with antiques, special family pieces and original works of art. Five comfortable guest rooms, all centrally heated and all with warm and cold water wash hand basin, en-suite color TV, radio and tea/coffee making facilities. There are 2 bathrooms with shower (one with bath), and 3 separate toilets only for our guests. No 16 - Your Heerlen home where you will find yourself in a homely atmosphere of seclusion and comfort. Guests should bear in mind that this is not a purpose-built guest house and every bedroom is different in size and layout, some rooms could be interpreted as small, but then this is one of the characteristics of a town house hotel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No 16 Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added No 16 Guesthouse to your Saves list