We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terworm 10, 6411 RV Heerlen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Heerlen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
“Clean and spacious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Beautiful spacious rooms with a great bathroom...construction and renovations going on but they are worth! The fitness area seems to be brand new and has all the sports heart desires......Breakfast has great variety and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    84
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
39
65
5
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Had a great weekend away with a car club, and its my 5 the time at the hotel over about 12 years and its always been good. The rooms are good size, good restaurant, and a reasonable bar. The hotel does get very busy. There are a number of rooms that have been refurbed and the refurbed rooms have a new facade, although very nice the old ones have more character. It is located on the outskirts of town so it is easy to find if coming by road. Town centre is walkable but a taxi is well worth considering.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here just one night. Hotel is good and very good service, but need renovation. Actually there are works there, so I think that will be renovated in the future (close I hope ...). Rooms are quite big, with a terrace on the ground, but furnitures start to be old ... bathroom is ok, big, clean. Staff at the reception are very kind, we booked a buffet at restaurant in the evening, service was excellent, staff take care very much of clients. Just to go to the pool need to pass through the works ;))) quickly during bad weather, or u risk a flu !!!! ;)) They make new rooms at the ground floor. Pool is very big and there is a Jacuzzi too, clean, well organized. With a good renovation this hotel will be over the top ! ;)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had a company breakfast at Van der Valk Hotel. From mistake i left my sunglasses on the table. After half a hour i called with the reception and they found any lost objects. I called after 3 hours again and no result. Sunglasses value 200 euros---->>>>Conclusion, very expansive breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Good Hotel, very professional Staff. Breakfast with wide variety and good quality.
Really Good accommodation. I suggest to take a superior room. The location is good because not far from the Motorway however it is not at a walking distance from city centre

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

this is a good chain of hotels, at least the ones i've stayed in. Quite a large hotel that has gone through some extensive refurbishment of the rooms, which are very good. Good conference facilities and very helpful staff. Food is pretty good too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed here twice - both on work trips - for a few days each visit. I had a beautiful large room with spa bath and a lovely outlook over some paddocks on my first stay. The second stay I wasn't quite so fortunate with the view, but it didn't matter too much. The hotel is very large and has a vast array of different rooms to choose from. The breakfast is very reasonable and I highly recommend you include this. The 'cooked' component of breakfast was pretty standard - but the choices of other options were vast and many. The restaurant is gorgeous and very comforable. The reception staff are attentive and friendly and they all speak English very well. The bar - this was one of the disappointments. Unfortunately on both stays, the bar staff were flustered and lacking in attentiveness. I don't know that it was the individual's fault more so than the hotel did not have enough staff on? It just seemed like long waits in between drinks. It's a shame because the bar area is quite nice with a fire-place to keep you warm. The only other disappointment was the gymnasium. The facilities are ok but the staff are rude and lacking interest to provide any form of customer service to the hotel guests. I got told I could only use the gym for '10 minutes' on one occassion because they were conducting a class. As it turns out, the provide personal training and there was a group of around 4 people that had a personal training session. Not very good for customer service though I am afraid? Overall though, either here or Hotel Kasteel Treworm down the road (which incidentally has sensational restaurant) are the only options in Heerlen. I would definitely recommend a stay - whether it be for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room down the back looking over the paddocks (not the car park). These are lovely rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen

Address: Terworm 10, 6411 RV Heerlen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Heerlen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Heerlen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On one of the most beautiful places in the Netherlands, centrally in South Limburg, is the 4-star Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen located. This unique location is directly located to the beautiful estate TerWorm and is within walking distance (15 minutes) from the center of Heerlen. In addition, the many tourist attractions in South Limburg, Belgium and Germany are easily accessible.If you are looking for peace and nature, Hotel Heerlen is an excellent choice. For a nice mini vacation with family or friends, a business trip or a weekend away: Hotel Heerlen is the ideal location.Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen offers 189 spacious and comfortable guest rooms, 12 meeting rooms, modern and internationally oriented à la carte restaurant, cozy bar, free parking, free WIFI and a wellness center with swimming pool, gym and sauna.Hotel Heerlen features a golden Green Key label. The Green Key is an international standard for businesses in the tourism and leisure industry who are serious and verifiable concerned with the environment in the company.Let us surprise you with the many possibilities Hotel Heerlen has to offer. The best mini-holiday, you celebrate with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.