We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Radesingel 50, 9711 EK Groningen, The Netherlands (Binnenstad-Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Groningen
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Excellent value for money well located serves both the business and leisure traveller I will not stay anywhere else in Groningen!

Also good for wedding parties. The all night access to tea and coffee is something that means a lot to me. While I have not tried it, the breakfast offering looks weak and I have not been tempted on any of my half a dozen or more visits




  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HampshireCentre, Public Relations Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Vinit K,
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you again when you return to Groningen. The coffee and tea will you like so much will be ready when you arrive!
We are sorry to hear that you weren’t tempted to try our breakfast. We hope to welcome you again soon and like to offer you to try our breakfast, because I’m sure that also the breakfast will exceed your expectations!

Kind regards,

All the employees of Hampshire Hotel Groningen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    65
    34
    8
    4
See reviews for
15
55
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

As usual just some pro’s and cons

Pro’s
• good location
• nice lobby area

Cons
• very basic room
• not enough lightening in the room
• overall a bit shabby, meeting rooms, rest rooms
• the wall plug is to too far from the mirror when dryblowing your hair
• the clotheslines (telescopic) is just out of reach even for a person of average height

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed 1 night with 13 year old son to go to gig at Oosterpoort in Groningen.
Staff very friendly
Room very nice
Nice view from room on 6th floor
10 mins walk from rail station
10 mins from main market and shopping area
accidently booked a double instead of a twin room. Staff sorted this even though hotel was fully booked
Room was very clean and comfortable. Ensuite was fine
Would stay again if in town.

Room Tip: Views from higher floors very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited Groningen for a weekend. We picked this hotel to stay because it is a 5 minute walk from central station and a 5 minute walk to the city centre. The lobby looks nice and modern, reception was friendly but the room was a bit disappointing. Small room, small tv, small beds, no bath. Also an air freshener was missing in the bath room. There is free wifi. We had booked here also because it said that we could checkout at 5 PM on Sunday but when we got there they told us that we had to pay 20 euros extra for this.

Overall it was a very average hotel and I'm not sure if it worth 4 stars. The location is perfect though!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have just returned from visiting our son at University in Groningen, and would recommend this hotel for convenience to the town and a short weekend break. We had rooms on the 3rd floor, and they were clean and functional. Not particularly roomy, but perfect for a short break. The lighting in the bathroom was poor, but this would probably only affect those of us who need bright lights for applying make-up.The bathroom was new and the shower fine but a shelf for shampoo etc would be helpful. The towels were small, and weren't changed during our two night stay, however we didn't ask them to be so can't complain too much. The beds were comfortable but only one pillow was provided per bed. We didn't ask for more as we were only staying two nights, but it would have been nice if there were spare in the cupboard. I found the room noisy at night from the street noise, people enjoying themselves and the occasional motor bike and car, but I'm a light sleeper and my husband didn't hear a thing . The windows are not double glazed, at least they weren't in our room, so this may improve things in the future. We had breakfast one morning, which was acceptable but nothing special. For the short walk into town I would wait and get something there in the many cafes and restaurants available. The best thing about this hotel is the staff and location. The reception staff were very helpful and spoke perfect English, as do most Dutch people. Just as well as we don't speak a word of Dutch! It was a short walk to the town centre where the architecture and shops are plentiful, and also a short walk to the University. We hired bikes from the hotel, at 8 Euros each per day, and this was a wonderful way to see the sights. It was lovely to open the curtains in the morning and see the canal with boats mooring and the town skyline. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit and would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the town for a weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the canal side have a great view, but you may be disturbed from street noise if you are a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and had an enjoyable stay. Check in was completed with no fuss and very polite, helpful and friendly staff. Made use of the secure under ground parking at an extra charge but it was very secure and gives you that extra piece of mind. We had a room on the 3rd floor which was nice and comfortable. Bathroom was large and clean, but only small towels provided. Bed was large and very comfy so giving a very peaceful sleep. No coffee or tee available in the room but a short trip downstairs to make use of the very tasty coffee machine.
We only had breakfast on the first day and we were not over impressed, poor cooked food option that didn't look very appetising so went for the continental selection, again not too much choice so went out for breakfast on our remaining days.
Overall a nice hotel with an excellent location for exploring the town. Would probably stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Good location, secure parking,good sized room and en suite though towels small and no robes. very clean, coffee and tea free but not in your room it's in the dining area. We had breakfast once and stuck to continental as cooked didn't look too appetising. Staff very helpful polite and friendly would definitely return

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre

Address: Radesingel 50, 9711 EK Groningen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen > Binnenstad-Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Groningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Groningen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.