We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located between city and nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Radesingel 50, 9711 EK Groningen, The Netherlands (Binnenstad-Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Groningen
Mijdrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly located between city and nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were presently surprised by everything the hotel and the surroundings had to offer. We stay in the north of the Netherlands quite often and this is a hotel to come back to.
We were there on one of those rare hot days we sometimes have in The Netherlands and decided to treat ourselves and get an executive room because it had airco. The airco worked perfectly and was quiet.
The room was big, on the seventh floor with a beautiful view over the lakes. The only negative thing we could find was the dust on all surfaces just above eye level. I wrote something in the dust and after 3 days it was still there.

The breakfast buffet has everything you can ask for. Lots of healthy options, fresh fruit and local organic juices. But you can also get bacon and eggs and those tiny Dutch pancakes we call 'poffertjes'.

The pool is basic and could be cleaner.

The staff are very helpful and friendly. When we checked out we were even offered some fresh fruit for the drive home.

The location is perfect for a city trip, but also for nice hikes or bike rides through the countryside. If you have some time, go for a nice stroll around the lake and (if it's the right season) pick some blackberries or raspberries that grow all over the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the right wing, which overlooks the lakes. The other wing overlooks the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    65
    34
    8
    4
See reviews for
15
55
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The wonderful friendly staff contrasts with this so-called hotel which shares a building with other businesses. It is dull and lifeless and I passed it by whilst looking for it because it so does not look like a hotel. Located in a very quiet corner of Groningen, nearby a canal - which may suit some - it is lacking in any atmosphere. Although it contains a nice looking bar - wait for it - you have to ask one of the reception staff to go and get you a drink from it. The rooms are very large, an office converted to a hotel-room, apparently it was once a clinic. and the décor was very poor. It was not to my liking in any way, but as mentioned at the start, the only redeeming factor was the staff, who were extremely helpful.

Room Tip: a room facing the canal would be helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Was here for just the night. But c/i went quick. Good room, flat screen tv, nice coaps, small desk. Would reccommend the hotel to get some harder pillows. Also to put a small shelf within the showercabin so the guest can put the soap on it instead of having to put it on the floor. But it is a nice location for a one or two night sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I am a touring musician so I like my hotels cheap, clean, and convenient. I don't care about workout rooms or pools or how new it is, I just want to relax when I'm in my room! This hotel is within walking distance from the city centre and had underground parking for an additional €15. Parking is important to me as when on tour I am driving from city to city. My room on the 6th floor was spacious and appeared recently refurbished. The view from my room window and from the hallway outside the door was wonerful. Bed comfort was very good, cleanliness in the room and in public areas were perfect. Free coffee and tea (and more importantly, latte and cappuccino!) is available on the ground floor througout the day. The staff was friendly and helpful at all times...(1) when I had trouble making a phone call from both my room and my mobile phone, the girl behind the desk came out to help me from the hotel lobby phone. (2) We didn't want the entire breakfast, so one of the staff spoke to the manager and we were each given a croissant with jam for no charge with our coffee. Internet was available for free and worked better on my phone than on my laptop, not sure why. Wi-fi in the lobby had no problems. Please note that there is limited space in the parking garage and you must leave your keys with the hotel desk. As a driver raised in America, I found the small spaces intimidating but having lived in the UK for the past year I am familiar with the impossibly small spaces you sometimes have to maneuver your car into...I managed it in my slightly-smaller-than-average size Toyota sports car but if you are driving an SUV and are from America, you might find it challenging to park. Given the size and quality of the room as well as the central location, you get a lot for the money. The Hampshire City Hotel was nearer the venue we were playing at, but more expensive...I might stay there but I will likely return to this hotel when we come back next year to Groningen...either way, I would definitely recommend the Hampshire chain of hotels as my first choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Once again this was a one night stop hotel. The hotel is poorly signposted and could be difficult to find. Modern in design, with a friendly reception. Has a swimming pool (not used by us) and close to a park area, which is ideal for a short walk. Wifi in the rooms was patchy, and no tea/coffee facilities in the room. We had a standard meal in the restaurant, with a bottle of wine, and this worked out at over £80 for 2 of us - overpriced for the quality, in our opinion.
Looks more like a business persons hotel, rather than a holiday maker!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Hampshire Hotel Groningen Centre is conveniently located in walking distance from both city centre and main railway station.
Obviously our spacious room was refurbished recently. Bed comfort was very good, cleanliness in the room and in public areas were perfect. Free coffee and tea is available on the ground floor througout the day. Very nice for an afternoon break! The staff was friendly and helpful at all times. Another highlight: Internet was available for free.
Given the size and quality of the room as well as the central location, you get a lot for the money. I would definitely return to this hotel for my next trip to Groningen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I find the service great, food great and the rooms very comfortable . Just missing a workout room which would have made it more except able. The staff has alway been helpful and practical. It is good to be at a hotel where the atmosphere is great from when you first come in and you see that it is genuine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre

Address: Radesingel 50, 9711 EK Groningen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen > Binnenstad-Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Groningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Groningen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.