We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very relaxed hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martini Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Martini Hotel to your Saves list
Martini Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gedempte Zuiderdiep 8, 9711 Groningen, The Netherlands (Binnenstad-Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€85 (EUR)
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Groningen
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great location and very relaxed hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I was working at the university, i could get a bus from the university to the front door of the hotel. It is also a short walk into the center of the town.

The hotel was very nice, it had a restaurant attached to it and a nice bar too. the room was clean and very comfortable. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was also very good. I had a roll with bacon and scrambled egg. They had a selection of breads, fruits etc..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    40
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
7
36
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TD1981
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We were guests here on new years evening '11/'12 and were impressed by the hospitality of the staff. It was a busy evening, with lots of guest arriving and even an accident that happened on the hotel's doorstep.

Nevertheless the front-desk employee was calm and very friendly. We got one of the hotel's bikes free of any charge and enjoyed a simple but tastfull meal (although the kitchen was actually already closed).

Location is very close to the city center, parking for 10 euros a night is possible at the back. Our room was small but clean and had a good price for the quality offered. Perfect hotel for travellers with no need for unnecessary luxury and that appreciate good service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Was a bit put off by the prior comments but we found the hotel to be just what we needed. We stayed four nights (2xcouples) and had a great time. The hotel is walking distance from town which was very convenient. Our Rooms were in the new part of the hotel and were perfect - very large double, TV, Bathroom and the usual desk/chair arrangement. The hotel staff were very friendly and were on hand at all times to help. The parking was great and on one night we ate at the restaurant where we found the food to be brilliant (local dishes alongside mainstream choices). The breakfast included hot and cold choices with staff ensuring that there was plenty available (even up until the 11 o'clock finish time). The bar staff were brilliant and helped us play the 'billiards' game that was free to use. We would absolutely recommend the hotel and would definately go back.

Room Tip: Request to be in the new area - we stayed on the 4th floor and our rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The Martini hotel is quite close to the rail station and closer still to the centre of town. I chose a comfort room that has been updated and better than the standard room. The shower/ WC is very small and not very good really. It could have been a bit better. The rooms at the back of the hotel are not suffering from road noise..
The bed was very comfortable.
I had breakfast rather late and unfortunately there wasn’t so much left :-(
The internet would only work downstairs which is a pain if you want to do some work.

Room Tip: Comfort rooms have been refurbished. Romms at the back are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

The hotel is central, but rally need to to be modernised.I was staying in the standard rooms which really are cramped. Check-in and staff very pleasant. The hotel is part of a bar and food place with the rooms upstairs.

Room Tip: Stay in quiet room sat back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Over the years I have stayed in almost all hotels in Groningen and they all seem to be below standard for the price you pay. The same with this hotel. The bar and restaurant are spacious and pleasant but the rooms seem to have sacrificed some basics for this. My room was very basic with low light and a dull design. Very outdated and not all that clean. The linen on the bed had spots and had holes. The bathroom was very basic with only a soap dispenser and was not very clean. Above this there was no light as the bulb failed. With some trouble I got a new bulb from the front desk. I have not tried the internet as this was way too expensive with almost € 6,00/hour. Beware of the hotels claim that some rooms have free fixed internet as these are only available in the more expensive rooms. The breakfast buffet is ok with a good choice of good food and friendly service. The hotel is in the center of town and for me rates slightly above the other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the road in front of the hotel is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The lobby / restaurant / bar is a very enjoyable place to have drinks and the breakfast buffet is really good and generously appointed and serves until late in the morning. Rooms are very basic, small, cheap and poorly appointed, but clean. Some of us were cold in the evening and asked for heating, the front desk answered that "we are still in Groningen Summer" and didn't turn it on.
Overall experience at Martini was OK. Good location in the city center.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martini Hotel

Address: Gedempte Zuiderdiep 8, 9711 Groningen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen > Binnenstad-Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Groningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Martini Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Martini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martini Hotel Groningen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martini Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.