We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staying in Nijmegen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B de Prince

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added B&B de Prince to your Saves list
B&B de Prince
3.0 of 5 Specialty B&B   |   Lange Hezelstraat 44, 6511CK Nijmegen, The Netherlands (Stadscentrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice staying in Nijmegen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable room. Steep staircase and no elevator. Staff friendly ready to help. Very well located, close to the Kronenburgerpark. Breakfast quite good with a variety of baggels. They make orange juice and prepare a hot drink (eg, caffe latte, cappuccino, etc.). If you prefer, they make it with soy milk.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
17
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I thought the room was pretty good. Big TV, comfy beds, quite spacious, nice furniture, fittings and decor and very modern bathroom. Good location near the Grote Markt. Decent wifi connection in room (but not perfect) and a decent breakfast as well, served in Bagel and Beans restaurant (which offers good lunches and snacks at affordable prices). Good amount of tea/coffee made available in room also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Charming place in the heart of Nijmegen
I stayed in de Prince for a 5 days and I would stay there again if visiting Nijmegen. The B&B is very centrally located - on one of the main streets of the old town, walking distance to shops, museums, parks and the river Waal. This B&B is located in 3 or 4 old houses, and the reception (and breakfast) is in the Bagels and Beans bistro. I enjoyed my room that was quiet with a very good bed, tea and coffee making facilities, tv and wi-fi. Room was very big and bright.
Room 22 and 21 are located on the top floor that means climbing VERY steep stairs, but I don't mind that.
The breakfast was good - bagels, cheese, ham, jam and of course coffee and orange juice.
The bagels&beans staff was very nice and friendly but also very slow - it was usually only one person from 8 till 9, so if you think you'll eat a breakfast in 20 minutes add en extra 20 ...
Beside that I really enoyed my stay and would come again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at De Prince for three nights and we would probably go there again. The room was quite large and charming, if you like Buddha's (as I do), with a good bed, tea and coffee making facilities etc. And it is in a very central location. We really liked the breakfast at Bagels and beans, with organic products, fruit and great coffee, and several newspapers at your disposal.
Still I would not recommend this B. and B. to everyone as a personal touch is missing. You are served by different young women each morning, and nobody asks if you have any questions or requests. If you ask for something you do get it though. But as the young girls are clearly not the owners, we did not express our small suggestions: e.g. some more hooks in the wall for coats and for towels in the bathroom.
This place is great if you like your privacy and if you are not shy to speak up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed the the B&B De Prince during this year's 4 day walk. The room was extremely small but thankfully I wasn't spending much time in the room, It was away from the coffee shop but not that far to walk. The room was small but clean and modern, but it was a heck of a lot of steep stairs to climb up and down The breakfast was OK it was a small and the coffee was decent.The staff was friendly but maybe all hung over. Not the worse place but wouldn't want to have to share the space as part of a couple.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was at the B&B De Prince during this year's Vierdaagse Mars van Nijmegen. The room I got was in an old but very good renovated and maintained building. The room itself was small but very clean, modern and cozy. The breakfast was a small but very good buffet. For this price I paid (around 60,00 EUR per night + a small local tourist tax) I would stay here again!

WARNING concerning parking in the city area of Nijmegen!
The only problem is the parking in this area. The B&B has no own parking lot so you have to park in the streets around the B&B. Watch carefully the parking signpostings where you can park and where not because this is mostly not clearly posted (!!!) and the City of Nijmegen is only waiting for international tourists / visitors to put them a parking ticket with a huge fine on the front shield of their cars! Yes that's true! They do that only on cars with a non-Dutch-license plate!
If in doubt take pictures of the parking signpostings where you park as proof that you are not parking false! The City of Nijmegen prefers to give parking tickets also if parking signposting is not clear and therefore in doubt for the visitor! If you should get a parking ticket go directly to an lawyer and let him "fight" against this ticket!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The meaning of a room with a private bathroom in this B&B can mean having the use of the laundry room with a shower and WC on the opposite side of the corridor of the room. Unconventional arrangement to say the least, and not at all private. This would be acceptable if the room would be described more honestly.The hotel staff (not responsible for the marketting of rooms) is very friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts are good. Good location too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nijmegen hotels
Stadscentrum
Mercure Nijmegen Centre
Mercure Nijmegen Centre
#4 of 11 in Nijmegen
4.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Benedenstad
Hotel Courage
Hotel Courage
#7 of 11 in Nijmegen
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Stadscentrum
Hotel Hertogplein
Hotel Hertogplein
#1 of 11 in Nijmegen
5.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadscentrum
Credible
Credible
#3 of 11 in Nijmegen
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Amrath Hotel Belvoir
#10 of 11 in Nijmegen
3.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B de Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B de Prince

Address: Lange Hezelstraat 44, 6511CK Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Nijmegen > Stadscentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Nijmegen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B de Prince 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast De Prince in Nijmegen offers you a modern accommodation in lovely historical buildings on different locations on the oldest shopping street of The Netherlands, de Lange Hezelstraat. Our Bed & Breakfast is right in the city centre, in a pedestrian area. Our guests have a 24 hour access with their own keys to the building in which their room is situated. Above the various shops, rooms are located on the first, second or third floor. The monumental buildings all originally have typically Dutch steep and winding stairs. Breakfast is served at our Bagels & Beans shop, which is also situated in de Lange Hezelstraat. Our organic bagels are freshly baked off as you enjoy one of our coffee specialties and a freshly squeezed orange juice. Our staff is always open to any diet wishes you might have as your breakfast is freshly made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your B&B de Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B de Prince, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.