We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Apollo Hotel to your Saves list
Apollo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bisschop Hamerstraat 14, 6511 NB Nijmegen, The Netherlands (Stadscentrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Nijmegen
terneuzen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More than Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Small midcity hotel, good clean rooms. Noisy street did not distract from pleasant stay. Commentable for short stays. This oldish hotel was wellkept. Breakfast though not for big eaters! Near station with underground carpark across the street. Excellant eateries nearby, as well as main city centre shopping area. No airconditioning only reason why 4 and not 5 stars.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
11
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Hotel in good location just a 10 minute walk from the train station and well positioned to explore Nijmegen centre. Extremeley professional and friendly service - made to feel really welcome. Decent sized rooms maintained very well. Breakfast was pleasant - especially enjoyed trying the new coffee machine!
Don't be put off by the outside appearance of the hotel - Nijmegen isn't exactly a town laden with architectural delights (the Americans bombed it by mistake in the 2nd World War, apparently) but it is a lovely place for a short visit, as was this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

For a hotel that may be described as a motel, the Apollo delivers a generous clean room with comfortable beds, excellent bathroom with a generous bath.
A good continental breakfast from the superb, friendly and attentive staff and fast effective wifi is available throughout the building.
The railway is a short walk and the hotel is located on the edge of the town centre and lots of good restaurants are within a few yards regardless of pocket depth!
The building is from the plate glass window era but is well maintained and clean. Some grumbling noise from the pipes but not excessive.
Good value for money and would recommend unless you can't climb stairs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I was in this hotel for two nights, at the end of October. Apollo is essential, very well positioned: 5 minutes walk from the Station and very close to the old city, including the Great Market and some other nice places. St AnnaStraat is just nearby, so is the University.

One cons: the hotel closes at 11 pm and you can only enter with your room key. Well I was late (due to my flight-delay) and I was worried about this stuff. But the hotel staff called me to ask where I was and to say me what to do in case of arrival later that 11pm. I appreciate it very much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larochette, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located in the city center. Everything is really close.
There are only a few parking possibilities for your car, but there are enough other parking-opportunities.
There is no elevator in the building, and it has two levels.
The room is big enough and very clean. Also the bathroom is big and modern. Try not to get a room on the 2nd floor. The room was extremely hot because of the good weather. You can open the windows but there is no air conditioning...
Breakfast was very good and the staff was very friendly and nice.
All in all, a good city hotel only for sleeping, not to spend a lot of time in.

Room Tip: Try not to take a room on the last floor. Extremely hot if the weather is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is a fine small hotel, with one condition--if you require an elevator, they don't have one. On all other counts it excels. The rooms are very comfortable, the bathrooms modern and well laid out, and the location is just right--between the train station and the the business activities.
The best part of our stay was the interaction with staff for advice on restaurants and train schedules. Best of all, when we needed a reservation for our next stop in Groningen, the amazing Suzanne took care of everything for us. (This was truly exceptional service. No wonder Leonard Cohen wrote a song in her honour.)
Neil M.

Room Tip: Not facing the street probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed there three nights visiting old friends. You can walk to everything in City Center. It was a struggle walking from the train station schlepping all our luggage..I was exhausted. We ended up on the THIRD level....(they insisted it was the second)....as there is NO ELEVATOR.
Since I have leg problems...this was so difficult for me...I couldn't come down for breakfast and go back up so husband had to bring it to me. I was shocked this hotel had no elevator. Also my reservation got cancelled before our arrival...not sure how this happened and it was the only room left. Rooms are spacious. Breakfast left a LOT to be desired...not enough variety at all. Staff friendly. Bathrooms are very nice...the nicest thing about this hotel. Great location but I would NEVER stay there again.

Room Tip: If you need an elevator, do not stay here. Otherwise ask for a room on the first level... (which m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: Bisschop Hamerstraat 14, 6511 NB Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Nijmegen > Stadscentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Nijmegen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Nijmegen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.