We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostel ive ever stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barbarossa Hostel

Barbarossa Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Barbarossa Hostel to your Saves list
Barbarossa Hostel
St. Anthoniusplaats 14, 6511 TR Nijmegen, The Netherlands (Benedenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best hostel ive ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Was only ment to stay for one night ended up staying for four, had a awesome vibe and great hospitality and location! Had a safe place to lock up or bikes. Cant wait to come back and see the what they do downstairs! Great people could have easily stayed longer! Will be back again one day!
Cheers Brenton

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This place just opened very recently, it's very cool. It's very clean (both the rooms and the bathroom) and close to the city centre and all the awesome pubs. Free wifi and brekkie. Bring a map of Nijmegen and they'll mark some cool spots for you to visit. I loved my stay there - everyone is very relaxed and friendly and there's a great balcony to hang out on. The living area is great, with a TV and some really comfy couches. There's also a computer you can use as well, it's a bit slow though, so if you bring your own laptop you can use the wifi which is quite fast. Really cosy and trendy, it's very boutique. Definitely recommended as a base to explore Nijmegen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hostel had only been open for a few weeks when I stayed, but it had already built up a good reputation for itself. Locals and former guests would come by to drink on the balcony terrace and hang out, which gave it a good vibe. I had a bit of trouble finding it (I didn’t have data roaming on my phone), but I called them up and they gave me direct directions from where I was (it actually turned out to be fairly easy to get to from the Nijmegen central station). The staff were extremely friendly and were very knowledgeable about the local area. I stayed in a 2 Bed dorm, the room was clean and everything was new and freshly painted. All the furniture and décor in the common areas had been bought from local antique stores, so it gave the place a casual unique look. The free Wi-Fi and breakfast was definitely a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A brand new hostel right in the city center, close to central station, the beach and bus lines. By far one of the cleanest hostels I've ever stayed in! The service was great, I arrived without having booked and they shuffled some things around for me so that I had a bed. Breakfast is very relaxed with self-service fruit, tostis, muesli, tea and coffee and juice. I stayed in the dorm but they also have double and twin rooms. You share the bathroom and it is cleaned every day. There's also the chance to cook dinner in the kitchen, which is great if you're on a tight budget. It has a very relaxed vibe and Joep puts so much effort in to make sure there's always something to do and show his guests Nijmegen. Nights were spent on the terrace making new friends, or being shown the pubs by Joep and his friends. I only stayed for two nights before moving into my flat but have been back almost every day, they made me feel that welcome! Stay tuned for movie nights and foosball championships! I will definitely be back, thanks guys!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barbarossa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbarossa Hostel

Address: St. Anthoniusplaats 14, 6511 TR Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Nijmegen > Benedenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Nijmegen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Barbarossa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbarossa Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.