We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff, good location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Hotel Nijmegen

Save Saved
You added Bastion Hotel Nijmegen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Nijmegen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neerbosscheweg 614, 6544 LL Nijmegen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Nijmegen
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good staff, good location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The staff really disearves the 5 points
Everything else dont
Terrible bed
Shower dont have curtain
Very small room
The food was frozen everytime so the receptionist put it in the microwaves and then she serves it.
Good internet conection
Frozen in the bedroom is also ok.
Sometimes a smoke of mariajuana comes from the lobby

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Nijmegen, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Situated on the central reservation of a main road, this hotel is very noisy. If the beds were comfortable enough to sleep in...the traffic would wake you up .
The staff are very friendly and efficient...as they bring you your overpriced frozen food.
If you can afford something better, i would definately not bother staying here.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Nijmegen, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor about Bastion Hotel Nijmegen. Your opinion is very importrant to us and will help us to increase our service. I am really sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations.

I can assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. Please accept my sincere apologies for your (unfortunately) negative stay at our hotel! I do hope to welcome you again in one of our Bastion hotels.

Kind regards,


Maik Willems
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed at this hotel because my usually hotel was fully booked. This was during the 4 day march and all hotels in Nijmegen are fully booked this week.
Location was poor it is too far out of the town to walk to the restaurants. The bed had a thick incontinent sheet on it making for an uncomfortable sleep. The rooms are quite small and furnished with cheap laminated furniture. It has all the trappings of a budget hotel but was priced as a business hotel. I would suggest this hotel belongs in the 50-60 euro range. That would be OK value.
Upon checking in I was greeted by a very strong smell of cannabis. The reception was next to the bar and I was surprised that the staff allowed people to smoke this in the bar. Although this only happened on the first night of my 4 night stay. It is also located between 2 roads. So noise is a problem if you are a light sleeper.
On the plus side staff were very nice. The bar and restaurant looked quite ok. I did not try the food but it looked quite nice. The high price I paid for the room was due to the 4 day march, so would probably offer better value that I got. Plenty of free parking.
This place is more of a motel than hotel. Fine for people passing through, but not a good choice for people wanting to see Nijmegen.

To clarify this hotel is a 20-25 minute walk to the center of Nijmegen.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

A good hotel, centrally located, within easy reach of the city. Good breakfast, friendly staff

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaph
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

If you can deal with trucks close by as the hotel is in the central reservation between the main road going in and out of Nijmegenand the drone this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bastion Hotel Nijmegen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Nijmegen

Address: Neerbosscheweg 614, 6544 LL Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Nijmegen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Nijmegen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Nijmegen 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Nijmegen offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Hotel Nijmegen is situated in the west of Nijmegen, near the A73. This makes the hotel very well accessible by car. Per bus the centre is easy to be reached. The Hanzencity is the oldest city of Holland and celebrated its 2000 year anniversary in 2005. Culture, sport, events, shopping, going out the Waal and a variation of natural environment are words that makes to think about the bubbling city of Nijmegen. The Hotel is easy to be reached from Arnhem, Utrecht and Apeldoorn. The green surroundings offer a lot of possibilities for cycling and walking fanatics. The river areas of Rijn, Maas and Waal and the Reichswald in Germany are nearby. Rooms The 40 comfortable rooms in the hotel are equipped with two twin beds, a television, a telephone, a modem, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Nijmegen guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Bastion Hotel Nijmegen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Hotel Nijmegen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.