We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the 1980s” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Hotel Belvoir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amrath Hotel Belvoir to your Saves list
Amrath Hotel Belvoir
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Graadt van Roggenstraat 101, 6522 AX Nijmegen, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Nijmegen
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I love the 1980s”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I love this hotel. It is so uncritically and unaware of its retro look that I love it. The rooms are huge. i had THREE beds. Who needs that many? The bathtub is amazing and the hairdryer has the kind of energy that is unparalleled. The breakfast is also pretty good--lots of things to eat on bread, including varieties of sprinkles--that apex of Dutch breakfast eating. But also you can make your own eggs, which I did not do, but was amused to watch. The breakfast is included, as is the wifi. The hotel is not really that near anything--if you are an American. But it is walkable and Europeans walk--and so I was able to get into the town in like 7 minutes. B

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    39
    17
    14
See reviews for
7
31
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I arrived at the hotel several hours before check-in, but they managed to accommodate me with one of the larger rooms anyway. When I told the receptionist I had parked in one of the hotel spaces, she told me that the public spaces were free on Sunday and I would save money by moving across the street! (Just love the frugal Dutch). My room was clean and spacious, with a good sized bathroom. The furnishings were just a little bit out of date: a punchcard key entry, unobvious (but free) WiFi, an older model TV set, but if you had simply checked in ten years ago, you would have thought nothing of it, because everything appeared to be quite new. Breakfast was included in my rate, and it was the usual Dutch thing with scrambled eggs, bacon, and a lot of sandwich fixings with six kinds of bread and koek.

The only quibble with this hotel is that the staff seemed almost invisible. The reception desk was empty most of the time, the hotel was eerily quiet, and the breakfast waitresses hung out in back. I was quickly helped when I called them, or rang the reception bell, but it seemed a little strange nonetheless. Perhaps Sunday - Monday is a very slack time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our first stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the room was as promised. It was a little hard to get to as the "roundabout" nearby was one of the most complicated we encountered in our travels.

The room was quite basic - felt like it was in need of an urgent refurbishment but clean and spacious. Parking was a bit of an issue. The hotel had a limited number of spaces, all of which were taken but we could park in the street paying at a pay-station that took credit cards. However there were parking spaces available nearby but we were there on a Saturday and don't know what it might be like during the working week.

The restaurant had a pleasant gemutlich atmosphere and was extremely accommodating of our dietary special needs and created a good quality meal on the first night - the wines were also good quality and quite well priced. On the second night it all got too much for them and the meal was rather poor, overcooked steak and fruit for dessert recycled from the breakfast buffet.

The ambience is good, the staff are lovely and the sense of faded gloire adds to its charm. It is close to the city centre which was humming with a street market and a lively atmosphere on the Saturday we were there.

David C

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Excellent location and easy to find. Park your car, unpack and the friendly staff will show you how to best explore Nijmegen. Rooms are spacious and clean. Very flexible with checking in before time. Nice bar to relax and good food in the restaurant. Did not use the pool, but looked very attractive. Sometimes wonder though how high peoples expectations are: not every hotel is new and there is nothing wrong with that, as long as it is clean, comfortable and taken care of. I can totally recommend this hotel and I am thanking the staff for being so helpful and friendly at all times. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Breakfast was not brilliant. Rooms were a little bit old fashioned but comfortable. Bar was fine. Reasonably central. Parking was expensive and places were limited. Would pick somewhere else next time. I do not like walking. Wi-Fi was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed one night for golfing holiday in single room (two beds). Room was clean and comfortable. Mini-bar was empty. Didn't use safe. Not luxury but it is only a 3 star hotel. Breakfast was fine but not extensive. Bar was open late but not busy.

Overall, I'd use it again if I was in the area as price was OK. No problem with anything for me but you get what you pay for so don't expect perfection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopron
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It is a nice Hotel. The WIFI was working properly and was free. I found a small bug in the bathroom and a spider above my bed, but if you happen to travel a lot these things might just happen, otherwise the facilities seemed clean. The soap was not working, but at the bath they had an other equipment, so one could solve the problem.
Breakfast was OK, although wouldn't say the choice was wide. The food however was tasty and enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amrath Hotel Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Hotel Belvoir

Address: Graadt van Roggenstraat 101, 6522 AX Nijmegen, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western)
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Nijmegen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nijmegen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Hotel Belvoir 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amrath Hotel Belvoir enjoys a superb location close to the banks of the river Waal and just a few minutes from the lively centre of Nijmegen with its fine old streets and alleys. Thanks to its central location the hotel is a great location for both business and tourist guests. With our generously proportioned, comfort rooms and large junior and senior suites, you can be sure of a fine stay in our hotel. What's more, our Brasserie and Lobby offer you free WIFI internet from KPN HotSpot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amrath Hotel Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nijmegen
Nijmegen Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Hotel Belvoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.