We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of India Gate

India Gate
Molenstraat 136, 6511 HM Nijmegen, The Netherlands
024 3226857
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 160 Restaurants in Nijmegen
Price range: $26 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Bathgate
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked at table when passing on the afternoon - We were glad we did as it was busy when we went at 20:00 for dinner. Very authentic Indian food. Staff were happy to adjust recipes based on taste & preference. Lamb melted in our mouths in the 2 dishes we ordered as did the chicken in another dish.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kleve, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Small restaurant, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is a very nice small restaurant with friendly Indian staff. Even though I usually only go there once every few months, they know my face and the food is very nice. Once you have made a choice from the menu, they immediately offer poppadums and 3 sauces. I have never had to wait very long for my dinner which is just the way I like it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Nice place quite close to the center of Nijmegen. The staff is very friendly and food is simply delicious! The interior is nothing special tho

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranenburg, Germany
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A bit run down and totally adapted to Dutch pallates”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Indian Gate is an OK Indian restaurant, but the dishes are bland, no comparison the nice spicy Indian food I learned to appreciate in restaurants in London and even California.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We have been going to India Gate for close to 20 years now, and still love it! Excellent food ranging from mild to hot (vindaloo); naturally, great vegetarian options, too. Very friendly and knowledgable Indian staff that speaks English and Dutch fluently and will remember you. Nicely decorated, fairly small and intimate, Indian music in the background. Just go for a main course - you'll feel stuffed, trust me! Drink mango juice or lassi, which combines much better with Indian food than wine or beer (just my personal opinion). Guests: many Indian business people and regulars. A friend of ours, who has visited India about 50 times by now, told us this is THE BEST INDIAN RESTAURANT IN THE NETHERLANDS!! I.e.: great value, very affordable! Enjoy!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Gate also viewed

Nijmegen, Gelderland Province
Nijmegen, Gelderland Province
 
Nijmegen, Gelderland Province
Nijmegen, Gelderland Province
 

Been to India Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage India Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.