We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun & colourful atmosphere, friendly service and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Falstaff

Falstaff
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 163 Restaurants in Arnhem
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Fun & colourful atmosphere, friendly service and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The wide open space design of the restaurant lends a canvas of art of varying sizes and styles, but offers a fun dining atmosphere. The service was very friendly and quick, whilst the menu and wine selections were reasonable. There were a few creative food options which we enjoyed but overall a very casual, laid-back evening with nice food. Worth trying for an easy, no-fuss evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, Nederland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place, great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely meal outside on the terrace. The personnel went out of their way to make it a memorable evening and the food was delicious. With a couple of drinks, the whole meal was very affordable. We felt like we were in the South of France.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very memorable evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were looked after very well. The food was excellent value and the menu varied. The kids were even allowed to make their own ice cream sunday at the end of the meal. Would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overall A good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Based on earlier recommendations I thought I would give Falstaff a try on a short visit to the town. As others have said a good ecletic mix of fittings which add to the atmosphere. It can be noisy because it is a big open space inside but this adds to the enjoyment, but it's not too noisy that you acn not talk to each other. The staff were very friendly and prfessional offering to translate the dutch menu to english for me and remained attentive without interferring. The food, more of a french style cuisine was of a good quality and very well presented. The duck, cooked perfectly for me, was very good with a tasty & rich sauce and the recommended wine was balanced well. Overall a very good experience and one I look forward to trying again on my next visit to Arnhem. KRH

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic tucked-away alley-restaurant with good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Falstaff isn't situated very good in the towns center, but still very findable. When you enter this nice restaurant you're greeted by a medium always-the same menu and a monthly changing one. The interior is somewhat undetermined: Different styles, somewhat interfering which each other but on the other hand, that makes it this restaurant cozy and comfortable.

The menu, not very big, not very small, is mastered pretty well: Falstaff's chef delivers what he put on the menu, no questions asked. The food is prepared as it should, with a little extra on the side that you did not expect - but goes very well along. It is recommended to check their monthly menu (it's outside the door and on their website).

Staff is good at 'thinking along' and explaining what a stupid guest might not know - for example a good wine along their lamb dish. I would again and enjoy my time.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falstaff also viewed

Arnhem, Gelderland Province
Arnhem, Gelderland Province
 
Arnhem, Gelderland Province
Arnhem, Gelderland Province
 

Been to Falstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.