We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel close to city/train station.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Molendal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Molendal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Molendal
Cronjestraat 15, 6814 Arnhem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Arnhem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel close to city/train station.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a 5-7 minute walk from train station. Very good breakfast buffet. Pretty view from our windows (room 7). Close to nearby park and you can be in city center pedestrian zone in 10 minutes. Very nice proprietors who see to all requests with a very nice attitudes. Make you feel very welcome. Great place for doing business in arnhem.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
13
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Molendal in Arnhem, however, if you are coming by car, the only parking is metered parking or some free spaces on the street. It was very safe, but the meters were a surprise. Also, put the side street of Reijstrasse (off Sonsbeekweg) into your GPS to get there more easily than the address of the hotel. There is a parking space on the corner by the hotel which you can use for ten minutes to unload, then drive around until you find a free space or a metered space. The meters are euro 1.60 an hour and you can pay for the entire day 9am-6pm.

So, although we had some trouble finding the hotel Molendal, our stay was great. The room was extraordinarily beautiful as was the entire house. The breakfast room was sunny and delightful and the food was a grand buffet of offerings. They had thought of everything. In the evening, the breakfast room becomes a bar and this was very nice, too. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location was at most a ten minute walk to the pedestrian only area of town, but the location was also very quiet since it is just a bit out from the center. It is close by a very large park called Sonsbeekweg, I think.

I highly recommend the hotel Molendal which was a perfect hotel at a good price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I really liked this hotel. The service was excellent -- very welcoming. Our bedroom was huge -- a king size bed barely made an impact and the high ceiling boasted an impressive chandelier. It's a very old-fashioned place -- some may find it a bit fusty -- but that is part of its charm (though the quilt looked a little old and careworn).

Coming down for breakfast was like coming down to presents on Christmas morning. They provide an impressive spread that looks and tastes beautiful. Probably the best breakfast in the Netherlands! A drink in the evening in the lovely period conservatory is also extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had an excellent one-night stay at the Molendal in July 2013. The hotel is a short walk from the train and bus stations, which made it easy to tack a side-trip to De Hoge Veluwe (and its phenomenal Kröller-Müller Museum) onto our trip back to Amsterdam from the eastern Netherlands. The exterior of the building is beautiful and looks transported from another time. The inside is also unique, with high ceilings, a pretty muted color scheme, and stenciled patterns painted along the walls. Our room had a lovely glass chandelier, French doors with lace curtains leading to a balcony, a large old-fashioned but comfortable bed, and nice clean & modern bathroom. The front desk wasn't staffed around the clock, but someone appeared promptly every time we came and went. The selection of things available for breakfast was not as extensive as one might find at a larger hotel, but considering that there are only 16-17 rooms and not all of them were occupied, we were pleasantly surprised at the freshness and range of offerings, especially juices, fruits and pastries. The hotel is also a short walk from Sonsbeek Park, which has beautiful grounds, quite a lot of aquatic bird life, and a very old watermill still used to mill flour and other products.

Our only problem at the Molendal concerned trying to pay the bill with a US-style credit card (without an embedded chip). We had found it almost impossible to use our cards at retail outlets in the Netherlands (restaurants, cafes, stores, museums, to buy train tickets, etc.) -- but elsewhere we had NOT had any problem using the card to pay hotel bills. At the Molendal they had the same hand-held swipe technology as at retail outlets, and so could not process our card. Fortunately because of all the problems I happened to made a biggish euro withdrawal from the ATM and so could pay the one-night bill in the cash, so it wasn't a giant problem. But otherwise they just acted as though this was universal Netherlands technology, and if they couldn't process our card, we would have to rustle up the cash. Knowledgeable people told us after the fact that we could have insisted that they process the charges the old-fashioned way (by calling the credit card company) -- but that option didn't occur to us at the time and the staff did not suggest it. This was the one unexpected problem of an otherwise marvelous stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I read all the reviews before booking, and just returned from two weeks in the Netherlands. We stayed here for three nights and found it to be...average - not overwhelmingly wonderful.
The room was very nice (large family suite) but the fire escape for the entire floor was right through our room and if there's a problem our door would automatically open. Makes it hard to relax knowing your hotel door could automatically open at any time. Also, if you stay on the first floor, the noise from the ground floor as they set up breakfast and work the desk starting at 7am is quite loud and annoying. There's also a noisy daycare center next door so don't plan on sleeping in.
There is no free daytime parking at the hotel. Parking right at the hotel is all paid during the day. One block away, if you are lucky, you can find free parking.
The room cleaning service was awful. Dirty dishes left in our room on two days, coffee cups not washed or cleaned or exchanged. Empty beer bottles left out - we were very clean guests and could not understand how housekeeping could do such a poor job cleaning. Left some euros on the bed for housekeeping but they just moved them to the dresser. The pillows are useless for sleeping. We had to wrap towels around the flatter sofa throw cushions as the bed ones are so overstuffed and round that they kill your neck.
Found the front desk a bit short and rude. Traveling with children is tough and they did not help much by saying that laundry could not be done. With a little initiative we found a 24 hour service about 1/2 mile away and got it done on our own. This lack of unwillingness to help or provide some basic service was quite unfriendly.
Breakfast is very basic as compared to the other hotels we stayed at - not at all above average as some of the reviews read. Just basic meat, cheese, bread, jams and hard boiled eggs.
All in all, a great historic room in a great part of town. We paid 180 Euros per night but I don't feel the service provided was worth it. They also tried to get us to pay cash for the room as we checked out and I had to remind them that the deposit was paid with a credit card and that they take credit cards. After telling them I could not pay in cash they relented and "fixed" their machine so I could pay by credit card.
Sorry to be so harsh but I was expecting a much better experience based on all the positive reviews and left quite disappointed.

Room Tip: Great location. Parking is free with some luck about one block away. No free daytime parking at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've stayed here a few times now and I'm never disappointed. The service is exceptional, the rooms are large and comfortable and the breakfast is really good. It's walking distance to Arnhem city centre

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our daughter lives in Arnhem, so we decided to spend 2 weeks visiting her and stayed at the Hotel Molendal -- a marvelous hotel built circa 1900 right near the center of Arnhem. During our stay, we had two rooms -- both roomy (with balconies) and very tastefully put together with period furniture and decor. Every corner of the hotel was, in fact, tastefully decorated -- even the silk flowers had an authenticity to them! Breakfasts were basic, but adequate. The staff were extremely friendly -- and made us feel right at home.
The only two shortcomings were -- no elevator (so quite a haul up the stairs with luggage) and the bathrooms, which were basic at best (no tub). But the overall nostalgic charm of the hotel far outweighs these slight inconveniences. I look forward to visiting my daughter again -- and, of course, staying at the Molendal! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Room #12 has a lovely view and a balcony. Room #10 is very spacious, also with balcony, but not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Molendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molendal

Address: Cronjestraat 15, 6814 Arnhem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Arnhem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Arnhem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Molendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molendal Hotel Arnhem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Molendal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.