We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Arnhem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Molendal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Molendal to your Saves list
Hotel Molendal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cronjestraat 15, 6814 Arnhem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Arnhem
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A gem in Arnhem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel is my favorite discovery on a recent trip to the Netherlands-- beautiful, comfortable, conveniently located, with excellent breakfast, friendly service, and free Wi-Fi that actually works (but no elevator, for those concerned with accessibility).

ROOM: Rooms 6 and 7 are large and lovely, with high ceilings, chandeliers, beautiful clean quilts on comfortable beds, draperies framing french doors to balconies overlooking the canal and with views of Sonsbeek Park. There is also a minibar, desk, and TV. The bathroom has a shower stall, and is overall a good size. Couples on a romantic getaway might find the pretty rooms perfect. The hallways of the 1st (2nd) and 2nd (3rd) floor were also beautifully decorated with flowers and antique-looking pieces, and the rooms there are probably as beautiful as rooms 6 and 7 on the 1st (2nd) floor. The top floor hallway though was plain, and it seems so are the rooms there.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast was served on zero (ground/1st) floor in a conservatory at the front of the building. It's a beautiful and intimate space, with more flowers and beautiful pieces and light fixtures. The food was also a mouth-watering selection of breads, pastries, cheeses, cold cuts, fruit, cereals, juices, coffee, tea, and yogurt.

LOCATION: From Arnhem central station, take the "back" exit (opposite side from the "centrum" exit), cross at the pedestrian crossing light, turn right and walk downhill. Cross the large street at the lights, and take the middle of the small streets, and the hotel should come up on the left side at the corner where the street intersects a lovely canal-side street. Those coming in by car might have to park a block away on the street running alongside the rail tracks.

SERVICE: The staff were friendly and offered suggestions for sightseeing.

DINING AND ATTRACTIONS: There is no restaurant at the hotel, but an easy walk gets to downtown Arnhem and its shopping and dining options. It was interesting, for example, to window-shop at stores that seem to be offshoots of graduates of the design school in the city. The bus toward the Zoo and the Open Air Museum stops right outside the hotel door.Arnhem is also a good base for WWII history exploration, for art at the Kroller-Muller Museum, and the rest of the Hoge Veluwe Park.

Room Tip: Aim for Room 6 or 7, which are large, romantic rooms with balconies overlooking the quiet street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
14
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is a very nice place, but if you are driving, be prepared to spend some time to find a place to park. We had to park about 5min walk away. Once you get to the hotel, it is very homely and staff are very nice, helpful and speak (as the Dutch generally do) very good English. There is a conservatory where a tasty breakfast is served, and which also doubles as an afternoon tea room/bar. There is no restaurant, but the hotel is an easy walk away from the centre of Arnhem, where there many nice food options. And it's another 5-10min walk to the (now re-built) "bridge", if you are in town for Operation Market Garden history.

Our room was very spacious and clean, although quite basic. It had a nice balcony with a view of a small canal. A fridge in the room would have been a bonus, especially in July. There is a WiFi available for free. As it's quite an old building, the staircase is quite narrow and steep, and there is no lift, so it's probably not great for anyone with mobility difficulties.

Had it been a bit cheaper, we would have been very satisfied with our stay. We paid 140 euros for a deluxe room, which felt overpriced for the facilities that the hotel offers.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony facing the canal - sunny and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I stay in this hotel, everytime I visit Arnhem. It has so much history and character. The staff are really friendly, they speak perfect English and the food is superb.
The rooms are big and spacious and are almost wasted on me travelling alone on business, would suit couples, families.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The Molendal is in an Art Deco building, 5-10 minutes from the train station and close to the old town. To my knowledge, it's easily the prettiest hotel in Arnhem.

The rooms seem to differ quite strongly. I had a single room at the top, which was comfortable, but quite plainly furnished and a bit cold (in summer probably hot, as it was under the roof). It's important to note that there is no elevator and it can be a long haul to the top.

The breakfast is good, in a pleasant room. In fact, other than my room, the hotel had quite a pleasant feel.

On the whole, the place is probably at its best if you take one of the larger rooms for a leisure stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Built in 1904 and a national historic monument, the Hotel Molendal was a lucky find. The hotel is situated on a canal within easy walking distance from Arnhem Central Station and the shopping areas of the city, as well as local parks.

We stayed in Room 6, a deluxe room with a balcony overlooking the canal. The room has en-suite loo and shower, and the bed was extremely comfortable (although the pillows were pretty solid - a lot harder than we were used to!)

As already commented by others, a very generous Dutch breakfast buffet is served in a light and airy glass fronted sun-room. The staff are on hand to make toast or assist with any special requirements (we had none - it was very tasty with a broad selection of hams, cold cuts, fruit, lovely fresh yoghurt, cereals and granola, various breads and cakes, cheese etc on offer)

We noticed when we checked in that the room was on a bus-route, and at first were worried that this would be noisy. We did not find it so - a peaceful sleep was enjoyed!

All in all a great stay - will most certainly return when we go to Arnhem again!

Room Tip: Ask for either room 6 or 7 - they have a balcony overlooking the wee canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I stayed one night in a 'Comfort' room which was located on the top floor. Good bed and bathroom, and very friendly service. The room where they serve breakfast is gorgeous! (I'd rather have one of their other rooms which are more decorated (and located on the 1st and 2nd floor - but unfortunately they were all booked).

5 minutes walk from the train station, 5 minutes walk from the city center and 5 minutes walk from the park.

Highly recommended if you're staying in Arnhem!

The only downside I can think of is that they do not have (yet?) an online reservation module, this means that you have to contact the hotel directly by phone or email to see if a room is available.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Review based on deluxe room 6, rate 140 euro for 1 night.

After 2 months travelling around Europe this was the worst place we stayed.

THE HOTEL, beautiful old building just lovely

CHECK IN, before I even had put my bag down the young lady was asking for payment even though they had a credit card guarantee. We asked where a good place to eat would be in Arnhem and were told "in town".

ROOM, spacious and nice furnishings. We new the room had no air conditioning but didn't realise there wasn't a window that could be opened. The french doors[ floor to ceiling] open to a shared balcony so you have to close them at night. The room therefore was hot and uncomfortable in the humid conditions. And leaving the doors open until you go to sleep, well best you bring some bug spray. The TV is an 1980's style box. You can here people walking in the room above you.

BREAKFAST, the breakfast room is gorgeous, usual cold meats/cereal/yoghurt/cheeses /boiled eggs plentiful and nice. We asked for an espresso and were told it was extra, paying for a deluxe room you shouldn't charge extra for an espresso especially when it is coming from a nespresso type pod coffee machine...please... don't be so lousy.

CHECK OUT, no ' thanks for your stay" "how was your stay?".....the same lady who was grunting at us at breakfast just grunted "anything from mini bar" and that was it.

The Hotel Molendal is a lovely old-fashioned small hotel but unfortunately the unfriendly staff have a very big hotel mentality, not what we expected and extremely dissapointing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Molendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molendal

Address: Cronjestraat 15, 6814 Arnhem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Arnhem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arnhem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Molendal 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Molendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molendal Hotel Arnhem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Molendal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.