We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Netherlands Open-Air Museum and National Heritage Museum
Hoeferlaan 4, 6816 SG Arnhem, The Netherlands
026/357-61-11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Attractions in Arnhem
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great day out, you can easily spend the whole day here. Really interesting, loads to see. I would strongly recommend a visit here to anyone, it is suitable for couples, families, friends etc. A real highlight is the terrace of houses showing Dutch homes through various eras. The tram shed is really interesting as well. The staff are all really friendly and helpful. They brew their own beers and they are delicious, and i have tasted a lot of beers, we bought several bottles to take home.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    113
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A day well spent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

It was great to walk around this open air museum, giving us the opportunity to enjoy both the weather and the exhibits. We really enjoyed the large early farmsteads with their incredible straw roofs. The windmills and the trolley ride were certainly the highlight of the visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very interesting, great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The museum is in a very large park, so you don't get a 'museum' feeling. In some of the houses there are people to give some explanations. This was very interesting as they point to little details one would otherwise overlook. Explanations are written in English and Dutch - sometimes in German. Highly recommended, but mind that this is a 'Dutch' heritage museum. Some elements will be of lesser interest to foreigners.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Full day adventures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is entire city and huge. You can and you should stay here with the kids all day.
You can skip the first two station using the train and then the distance from point to point is very close.
The Photographer is very tolerant with children and give you a lovely souvenir in 20 euro for 5 people.
In the palace the pancakes are delicious but the service is very bad, so book ahead everything because there is no chance you will meet again the waiter. Please note that the payment is an independent fund at the end of the meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor History Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

One of the highlights of my Holland trip. My friend and I took the one hour train ride from AMsterdam to visit this lovely museum. I was worth the trip. You stroll through the outdoor museum to see farmer's homes and shops and well as a mill, a paper making facility, an old shop street depicting Amsterdam, within a bucolic setting with Windmills throughout the property. It was a lot of walking so we did not see every inch of the place but we enjoyed our day at the Openluchtmuseum very much. We saw a great view into the lives of Hollanders over the years.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Netherlands Open-Air Museum and National Heritage Museum also viewed

Arnhem, Gelderland Province
Arnhem, Gelderland Province
 

Been to Netherlands Open-Air Museum and National Heritage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Netherlands Open-Air Museum and National Heritage Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.