We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old times in the Netherlands for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Netherlands Open-Air Museum and National Heritage Museum

Netherlands Open-Air Museum and National Heritage Museum
Hoeferlaan 4, 6816 SG Arnhem, The Netherlands
026/357-61-11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Arnhem
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Old times in the Netherlands for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Perfect place to spend a day with your kids. You have everything there you need to go back in time to enjoy old times in the Netherlands: old trams, houses and variety of activities (things you do on the farm or field).

Fully recommended especially with kids!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    92
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IJmuiden, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“beautiful and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I didn't expect much of this museum, especially because it has to be good weather. I knew it was about old houses and life on the farm. You get to see a lot of barns and different kind of jobs on the farms. Sometimes you can try things and buy things like they are old, like; bookshelves, candy, postcards and books/stuff about how to learn, for example; knitting.

You have to like to walk if you want to see everything. And if you want to know what everything is or what it's about, you have the possibility to read a few signs at everything you see. The map is very simple and easy. Every building or place has a number and every number has a name. Next to every building or place is a sign. Some buildings or places have an nice employee who tells you about the building or their lifestyle in the clothes from the time the building was built. Also the interior is most of the times very interesting. It's also from the old times and not only the prints on the walls etc. are from that time, but the furniture itself is sometimes from that time too. You get to see a little of old parts of Amsterdam. (3 houses with on the inside information and short films about imi/emigration, an old café and a Turkpension.

Every food you buy is organic. Bakery, candy, milk, cheese, honey; organic.

You actually learn A LOT when you visit this museum. The museum has translates in English and French. People with a walking disability can visit this museum, but cannot see everything, because they are not able to go everywhere with a wheelchair. I think it's not a bad thing, because it's beautiful with all the nature, and disabled people can see enough. Bad part is; disabled people cannot get into most of the buildings.

I don't recommend this museum to families with children. It's to boring for them. If you have children who are really interested in old things, it might be fun, or if you want to go for the activities. But please don't go for yourself. To see everything, it takes a 6 hour walk.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Really nice day in the countryside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This can easily be done as a day trip from Amsterdam. Perhaps it was that we were there on the right day or the right part of August, but this was refreshingly absent of tour groups. Almost everyone visiting the museum were Dutch people, and it did not seem like a manufactured Disney-land experience whatsoever. This made me happy. It is a large space that covers a lot of ground, but it is not as big as the map would have you believe. The park is comprised of a lot of homes and buildings showing the traditional life of The Netherlands' past including the difference between a farming village and a fishing village. There are quite a few homes, windmills and farmhouses to view, but my favorite attractions were the ones where there were craftsman plying the crafts of a simpler time, making wagon wheels as example. I was most fascinated by the paper mill. They are making beautiful sheets of paper from water and old used cotton rags and suddenly I'm wondering if I can make this at home somehow and stop killing trees.

We had lunch at the cafe and the Dutch pancakes there, with onions, eggs and cheese cooked right in were the best I've had so far. The area by the small ponds, where they are cooking up the miniature pancakes is also fun if for nothing else than to watch them quickly make hundreds of little cakes on the biggest griddle you've ever seen.

Depending on how long you spend at each house, you could easily see the park in two hours, but I recommend relaxing and strolling the park for at least four. We easily got to the museum through a combination of trains and busses so if you don't have a car, no problem. Once you exit the bus (the stop right after the zoo) walk about five minutes, following signs for the Openluchtmuseum. They take the museumkaart, so if you have one it makes a great value.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well worth the 15 euro entrance fee !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just the perfect way to see the history of the Netherlands. From the moment you arrive you are just in a different world !
Take a picnic, as there are plenty of wonderful picnic spots. The food in the museum is quite pricey.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you are near Arnhem or would like to see how Dutch people have lived throughout recent history then I would recommend that you visit the open air museum. They do not touch on the Second World War or pre1700's history but visiting there with 3 generations of my family was an amazing experience. It inspired my oma to share many stories of her own upbringing which was very eye opening.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Netherlands Open-Air Museum and National Heritage Museum also viewed

Arnhem, Gelderland Province
Oosterbeek, Gelderland Province
 
Arnhem, Gelderland Province
Arnhem, Gelderland Province
 

Been to Netherlands Open-Air Museum and National Heritage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Netherlands Open-Air Museum and National Heritage Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;