We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Very Cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Donatello's

Donatello's
Jansplein 50, 6811 GD Arnhem, The Netherlands
+31 26 4437444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 176 Restaurants in Arnhem
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Cheap and Very Cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Visited November 2013. English is spoken and there are English menus available.

The tables are very close together in the front of the room, but a little more generously spaced toward the rear. We had a bit of an obstacle course to get to our table and we were not alone in noticing this. The menu is normal Italian stuff but we felt the choice was a little limited.

Our pizzas were generally ok and of generous size, but the mussels and scallops on the Frutti de Mare were not as fresh as they could have been. Total cost for two meals with drinks was an extremely reasonable 29 euros, which we felt was pretty good value.

Overall a basic restaurant with reasonable food and friendly service. Excellent value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Always eat here one night when in Arnhem. Food always good and a very pleasant atmosphere.Staff really friendly and helpful nothing is to much trouble. Portions are good size and I always enjoy the pasta. Pizzas are really good.Get a take away box if u can't eat it all.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gelderland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Donatello's serves great Italian food for a bargain. The Texmex pan pizza is awesome! The restaurant is always packed, so you need a reservation (even on mondays). The restaurant has too many tables in it, each table has just a little space and that's why I give it 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Quality, Well Priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Donatellos does not have the most fantastic decor but the menu is good, the food is freshly prepared and the staff are attentive and friendly. The menu is well priced, ideal if you want to have a quick, tasty and value for money meal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

simple but good food in this cheap and cheerful Italian joint - recommended. Have been there on a few occasions and no complaints at all.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donatello's also viewed

Arnhem, Gelderland Province
Arnhem, Gelderland Province
 
Arnhem, Gelderland Province
Arnhem, Gelderland Province
 

Been to Donatello's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donatello's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.