We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to relax.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Landgoed Groot Warnsborn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Landgoed Groot Warnsborn to your Saves list
Hotel Landgoed Groot Warnsborn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bakenbergseweg 277, 6816 VP Arnhem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Arnhem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
the hague holland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to relax.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Groot Warnsborn is a beautiful estate in the neighbourhood of Arnhem. The hotel is situated in a very green parc and surrounded by magnificent trees and gardens. We stayed in the main building in a grand luxe room and it was worth every penny. Room was clean, spacious and nicely decorated. Staff was welcoming, polite and kind. During our stay it was raining constantly but I can imagine this would be a wonderful place to spend a few days to relax and find some rest when the sun is shining:)) The restaurant serves meals of a good quality although the choice is very restricted if you want to eat a la carte.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    26
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
37
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Ct
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The hotel room we had, under the sloping roof, was somewhat bizarre. Only the toilet was private. The tub, shower and sink were lined-up and separated from the bed area by a wall of glass. Not to our liking even after 50 years of marriage. Someone should have told us there were other normal room options. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The dining room was spacious and the breakfast buffet plentiful. Dinner so-so even though served by a waiter in white gloves! The park location is lovely and its proximity to the Kroller-Muller Museum was the attraction for us.

Room Tip: Find out if your room has a totally private bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Came here several times before ... Almost everything seems to be perfect. Again weakest spot is staff: arrogant, not welcoming ... Prefer to look into the non possibilities (terrace open or not, full lounge and not seating) sigh ...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed in one of the two suites for a night, and were pleasantly surprised by the general atmosphere of the room. Luxurious and tasteful, with a stand-alone (bubble)bath, a rain shower, a sunken bed and minibar including coffee and tea facilities. As the room was situated under the roof the place breathed atmosphere with it's wooden beams and shuttered windows overlooking the premises. Romantic! The Rituals toiletries were a nice touch I personally appreciated; other guests might very well appreciate the climate control and the television (which could in fact be viewed from the bath tub) similarly. Unfortunately we felt the bed wasn't of the quality you would expect from a room like this; we kept rolling towards the middle during the night, giving us a sore back in the morning. This was well made up by an excellent and lavish breakfast buffet which included a small English selection, breakfast cereals, jams, meats and cheeses. We were also happily surprised by a wide selection of small pastries, fruits, and even a cooler with champagne. Add this up to an excellent service and we would like to grade our stay here as a good one, without hesitation.

Having said this, I have to admit we have slept and eaten better elsewhere for less, making us conclude the price-quality range of this hotel isn't optimal. As we understood this hotel wants to profile itself as high-end I expect paying a high price for it's facilities comes with the reputation they want to uphold, so this might very well be a deliberate marketing choice. As we have stayed here with a Groupon deal, we felt this wasn't a problem for us persé; we enjoyed our stay but admittedly, would pick another similarly luxurious/romantic retreat a next time, rather than returning once more.

We also wonder whether our (included 6 course chef's surprise) dinner would have been better if we would have visited like "normal paying" customers instead of Groupon customers, or if we would have ordered from the menu instead. We consider a chef's surprise dinner an opportunity for the chef to test new dishes but maintain a balanced menu all the while; we were a bit disappointed to see several typical ingredients pass us more than once (two courses with sauerkraut and forest mushrooms), and we recognized little thought and continuity in the range of courses as well (starting with fish followed by four courses of meat, the latter being rather heavy, while ending rather abruptly with a very light and fresh desert). We obviously enjoyed a tasteful chef's dinner, but one we felt didn't enjoy as much of the culinary staff's attention as it could have gotten.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite (room no.25); the sunken bed is excellent for young travelers, but might be a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel in July 2013, it was a great choice after frustrating internet searching for accomodation in the Nijmegen/Arnhem area.
A beautiful location with friendly staff and good service. The room (which was not a standard one) and view, was fantastic managing to combine cosiness and luxury. The hotel felt like a cherished family business and not a ubiquitous bland chain.

Yes the food is expensive, but of high quality and eating outside of a summers evening was wonderful. Alternative eating in Oosterbeek is only a short drive. Breakfast choice was extensive and plentiful, even a mini fry for those missing their 'full english'.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back may be quieter (not overlooking the dining area). We paid for an upgraded room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are really nice and comfortable. The staff is really friendly and the food is amazing. The location is perfect, nature is all around you. I would definitely love to come back again. The only aspect that some people might not like is that there is no phone network or service at the hotel because the location is a bit remote. I actually found it to be a plus because you can completely disconnect.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I read wonderful reviews on the Hotel and restaurant before I visited.
The hotel itself feels tired and old, not in a classical sense but rather in a worn out way. The restaurant was a tremendous disappointment. The food was good, but it just took too long, so long that 4 hours later we left before our main course was ready.
Not everything is negative. The surrounding grounds are beautiful, the staff was friendly and professional. Nevertheless, I found the whole experience sub par and will not be returning. The other options in the area are just too good.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Landgoed Groot Warnsborn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Landgoed Groot Warnsborn

Address: Bakenbergseweg 277, 6816 VP Arnhem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Arnhem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arnhem
#4 Business Hotel in Arnhem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Landgoed Groot Warnsborn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Landgoed Groot Warnsborn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landgoed Groot Warnsborn Arnhem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Landgoed Groot Warnsborn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.