We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, good location, cosy atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Landgoed Groot Warnsborn

Save Saved
You added Hotel Landgoed Groot Warnsborn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Landgoed Groot Warnsborn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bakenbergseweg 277, 6816 VP Arnhem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Arnhem
the netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, good location, cosy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed in a Prestige Room (2nd floor main building) , since I read other reviews not being happy about their standard room. The towels were fine, the room big and cosy, and the bathroom big enough, only the sink was not practical at all!

The breakfast was nice, the atmosphere in the restaurant/cafe was cosy in the evening, fireplace, and beautiful views.
We enjoyed the walk the next day around the hotel, it feels all very relaxed and still elegant.
we would stay again, although rather pricey.

Room Tip: don't take a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    21
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
32
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

You will be hard pressed to find a more beautiful setting for a hotel in Holland. Taking tea on the terrace, overlooking the beautiful grounds feels like a modern day "Dowton Abbey" moment. This old hotel, has done an incredible job of mixing modern lux with classic charm. Our room was quite large, especially for european standards. The restaurant and lounge are well designed. I wish I my trip was longer, for I would have loved to stay here more nights.

You must take advantage of the bicycle or scooter rentals, Arnhem is a charming town. A world class zoo (Burger's Zoo) is a 10 min bike ride away, and tree lined trails are endless around the hotel. I also highly recommed the Kroller-Muller Musem as a MUST see during your visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "Prestige Room" I absolutly loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We will never, never stay here again. Positives about the location is the grounds. The room had ripped towels with holes as big as softballs, plugged drain in the shower, internet was not working. Breakfast was sad. Dinner was atrocious. Good thing we ate at a wonderful restaurant the night before. We could not wait to leave.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the coach house, perhaps the main hotel has all the rooms that everyone raves about i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel gives an overall impression of great class. We specially appreciated the very friendly and helpful staff and the magnificent surroundings.
The "comfort room" in the main building was well equipped but rather small and a bit "worn out". The big bed was comfortable although the mattress was too soft for us. The rooms were quite hot and the windows did not have a mosquito screen so insects came in the room.
The channels on the small TV offered a very limited choice.
We enjoyed the breakfast with a huge variety of foods, excellent coffee and homemade bread.
We came for a bicycle vacation with friends and found that the hotel is very conveniently situated nearby cycle routes (knooppunten). We only did not understand that the hotel did not have a proper room to stall our bicycles.
We only dined once at the hotel. Some of the dishes were excellent, others were just OK. We found the price for dining and for a drink rather high.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor can be very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I recently stayed here with my sister, niece and nephews and mom at this wonderful hotel in the middle of the woods in Arnhem, a true gem. I believe it used to be a hunting lodge and the owners live on the premises, in what used to be the chapel. My 10-year old nephew loved it, wandering around the beautiful gardens and forest trails, saying it was the "most beautiful place he had ever seen and did not want to leave". Young staff well trained, spoke multiple languages and helpful. Food was superb: breakfast was a wonderful spread of homemade cakes, breads, jams and local artisanal yogurts and milk served in glass bottles. Dinner was also worth it. Beautfiul modern lodge decorations, rooms were comfortable. Great place to stay when visiting the local attractions like the Zoo, open Air Museum, etc. The only thing I would improve would be the quality of the towels: small and felt more like dish rags! Otherwise, a must!

Room Tip: Stayed in the coach house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed for one night to visit Hoge Veluwe with 9 year old daughter. The room was great and the dinner in the restaurant very good. For such a restaurant to be willing do adjust for kids, I thought was very nice. Great service from all staff. Breakfast was nice with a very high local content of great quality. We rented bicycles from the hotel and everything we asked for was taken care off. Very nice destination.

Room Tip: Suites over corners with lots of windows to open onto the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

From the moment that you get sight of the hotel from its long driveway there is an impression of class. The room that I had was very spacious with all mod cons and a nice large bathroom with separate shower and tub. The restaurant was excellent and the food, service and ambience top notch although there is not an extensive choice available - three items per course and one of the starters had been fully taken up and was not on offer. The smoked salmon was carved at the table and was exquisite. Coffee was taken in the adjacent lounge after the meal. The breakfast buffet also could not be faulted. I certainly expect to return in the not too distant future. Location is outside of town but very convenient for the Open Air Museum and the De Hoge Veluwe National Park with the excellent Kroller Muller Museum (surely one of the top attractions in the whole of the Netherlands) is less than ten minutes drive away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Landgoed Groot Warnsborn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Landgoed Groot Warnsborn

Address: Bakenbergseweg 277, 6816 VP Arnhem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Arnhem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arnhem
#4 Business Hotel in Arnhem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Landgoed Groot Warnsborn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Landgoed Groot Warnsborn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landgoed Groot Warnsborn Arnhem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Landgoed Groot Warnsborn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.