We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Postillion Hotel Arnhem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Postillion Hotel Arnhem to your Saves list
Postillion Hotel Arnhem
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaweg 25, 6816SL Arnhem, The Netherlands (Formerly Mercure Arnhem)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Arnhem
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in the Postillion recently. Cant complain about anything. The staff were friendly and helpful, room was above average. We ate in the hotel both nights, and the food was good and service acceptable. The breakfast was the usual continental fare but also included bacon, scrambled eggs etc...better than expected.
Overall we thought the Postillion was good value for money and certainly better than similar or even higher priced hotels in the Netherlands and Belgium.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    51
    30
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
41
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bonn
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

As other postings are stating this is a hotel mainly catering to automotive travellers and bus groups. As such, it is a solid and reasonable choice. I enjoyed my room (TV could have been a bit more modern), service in the restaurant/bar was attentive and well-informed. Breakfast buffet was quite good (for Dutch standards). No scrambled eggs -- a bit of a letdown.

Room Tip: Wheelchair users should ask for room 301 -- the only handicap room the hotel has. This one offers go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We´ve stayed here three times in the last fours years, each year around Christmas.
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpfull, the breakfast is excellent, both in quantity and quality.

This is one of the few hotels that have a room with enough space for four, without an absurd price premium. We stayed three nights at the end of december for less then 200 euro´s in a comfort room with two added beds, which for a family of four is a pretty decent deal. The rooms are well equiped and large enough, although in our case the second added bed (4 in total) logically took up some space. There's a watercooker and a coffee cup machine for our convenience.

Apart from the hotel itself, the location is perfect. Within ten minutes you´re walking in the forest and your a short drive away from major attractions like the ´openluchtmuseum´ & Burger´s Zoo.
Moreover, while the hotel is situated near a freeway, it's very well isolated against noise, so this isn't really a problem

Room Tip: tip: get a comfort room, it may be a bit more expensive, but it's roomier and much better equipe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I had to change my booking due to some visa delays. I had cancelled my reservation with them and made another one as per their directions. However, it has been a week and I do not have any confirmation of a refund for the cancelled reservation yet. Do not rely on the hotel staff to help you out, they said I would get a call and I have been waiting for two days now. I wish I had something better to say about the experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We visited Arnhem recently with friends to attend the 69th anniversary of the battle of Arnheim.
We stayed at the Postillion Hotel for one night and found the Hotel to be excellent. The rooms were very comfortable, with air conditioning, the bed was comfortable and the bathrooms very modern. We also had dinner in the restaurant, which again was very good indeed, the staff were attentive and served us well. We could recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was in Arnhem for a sports event at the nearby Olympic Training centre.
We flew in on August 29th from Toronto and stayed until September 2nd and our room was ready at 11 am on arrival, not guaranteed but a nice touch for 2 weary travellers .
I picked the room type for the price, i.e. it was one of the more basic rooms, not huge, with shower rather than bath, but for 49 euro per night ( I did book it about 6 weeks out ) perfectly adequate as we stayed 4 nights.
TV's older type, not flat screen, no outlet by the bed was a bit problematic if you have a computer, but all minor things. The Hot and Cold breakfast buffet was included in the price and was very good value with eggs, meats, breads, cheeses, yoghurts fruits etc. The hotel has a large cozy lounge, and large comfortable dining room and we had lunch and dinner there once, the food was good. they seem to offer a lot of corporate team building type of meetings during the week, and our room type was probably geared to corporate groups that share rooms.

the location, although just of the highway was very quiet, and centrally located to Arnhem, the Veluwe, and many tourist attractions in the area such as the Kroner Muller museum, the Airborne Museum etc.You do need a car though t o get around.
the staff was friendly and helpful.
I would definitely stay here again if in the area, and recommend for budget conscious travellers that want a clean, comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: I did not see all the room types, so do research. we stayed on the ground floor which was easy. Park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The value for money is excellent. Do not expect a 5 star hotel for the price.
The hotel is located outside Arnhem and a car is needed to get around. It is located close to the zoo (worth a visit.). Breakfast is all right - was included in the room rate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Postillion Hotel Arnhem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postillion Hotel Arnhem

Address: Europaweg 25, 6816SL Arnhem, The Netherlands (Formerly Mercure Arnhem)
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Arnhem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Arnhem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Postillion Hotel Arnhem 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The entirely non smoking 3 star hotel is a modern hotel with 83 rooms, located 5 km from the city centre. Easy access from the A12 and A50 motorways, Business Point M, restaurant, 3 boardrooms and 9 multifunctional meeting rooms make us a prime location for business in the area.Direct access to Veluwezoom nature reserve and our proximity to attractions like the Airborne Museum, Burgers Zoo and Kroller Muller Museum gives our guests a perfect base from which to explore the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Postillion Hotel Arnhem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Postillion Hotel Arnhem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.