We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on the Rhine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Arnhem Rijnhotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Arnhem Rijnhotel to your Saves list
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Onderlangs, 10 | Klingelbeek, 6812 CG Arnhem, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Rijnhotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Arnhem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
528 reviews 528 reviews
352 hotel reviews
Reviews in 313 cities Reviews in 313 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on the Rhine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

The hotel is on the river a nice 15 minute walk along the river into town. The room was very nice (317) and we had a large balcony overlooking the river. Food in the restaurant was nice, they had a great asparagus menu while we were there. Hotel is on the same side of town as the military cemetary so that was easy to find. Arnhem is a nice town with lots of pedestrian streets with coffee shops, pubs and restaurants. Parking is along the road by the hotel or along the road across the street. The parking area was pretty busy while we were there so it must be pretty full in the summer months. I'm glad we chose this hotel as it may not have been right in the centre but it was quiet and we enjoyed the walk into town. Wifi was 11 euros for 24 hours, I think it should have been complimentary but that was my only complaint.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    124
    39
    11
    2
See reviews for
24
150
8
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Rijnhotel whilst we were in the area to take part in a walking event in nearby Nijmegen. We had a lovely time, and felt like the hotel were part of our support team! Nothing was too much trouble for them.

We had a lovely room, overlooking the river as all the rooms do. It was nice and quiet as well as being clean and tastefully decorated. The hotel is ideally situated on the river, about a 10 minute walk from Arnhem centre.

We needed to leave the hotel at between 4 and 5 each morning and the reception staff, along with the very friendly night porter were kind enough to provide us with a packed breakfast every morning which contained just the right sort of food to set us up for the day ahead.

With such an early start we needed to be early to bed, and Marcel and his team in the restaurant arranged to have dinner prepared for us early each evening. They even let us turn up for dinner in our socks when our blisters got too much! The hotel does a very reasonably priced set menu and as we are vegetarian, the kitchen team put together a vegetarian version just for us. The food was absolutely delicious.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Liked — The fantastic service
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

When we arrived at the hotel the front desk staff was very polite and friendly and we recieved very good customer service. We then made our way to our room and we was delighted with it, it had a very comfortable large double bed, a very nice looking bathroom with shower and toilet and the room had a view to die for. The rooms look out over the river Rhine and the view is fantastic.
The hotels resturant is very nice with a lovely view of the river again and the prices arn't too bad either. The food we had whilst staying at the hotel was very nice and we couldn't find fault with any of it.
The only problem we had at this hotel was the shower which was very temperamental and we didn't seem to have too much control over the temperature of the water.
The staff at this hotel were all very friendly and helpful. The roomservice was really good and didn't take too long for them to get it to you. The breakfast was very nice and a great way to start the day.
It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel and if we ever return to Arnhem we will be staying at this hotel.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumps
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

Decided to take a break when travelling back from Luxembourg to ferry and chose this hotel.

Could not book standard room or deluxe room, had to book superior room. Decided to spoil my wife and I so I booked it. Could not have been better!

During our stay we found that the hotel was also used for business conference/ training meetings so could be busy during Mon/Friday. This was why standard rooms were full. Meetings seemed to be held in basement area so did not intrude except in dining areas.

What we had was two rooms converted into one - one was sleeping room with huge bed, other section was sitting/eating/tv area. Room overlooked Rhine (about 15 metres away) and balcony wrapped around both rooms - very relaxing after two week drive through Europe.

Dining room/food/service was of a very high quality but it was strange to be sitting in a dining room with people smoking!

Major drawback was access into town, about 1.5 kilometres to centre. Recent change to create a one-way system was very confusing - even staff in hotel used bus instead of driving into town. Bus stop was around 200/300 metres in adjacent street.

Overall this was a very relaxing end to our holiday.

  • Liked — Size of room and overall service.
  • Disliked — Access to town centre due to new one-way system.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suckley
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

The hotel looks great, clean modern lines, and is in a superb position on the banks of the Rhine from which you gets views back to Arnhem and can watch the river traffice pass by. I was immediately disppointed, therefore, to be given a smoking room when I had specifically requested a non-smoker. The hotel showed little interest in trying to change it, claiming that they were full. All the rooms overlook the river but there is also a busy terrace bar below which can get rather noisey.
The restaurant was quite pricey so, once again, I was disappointed to be brought the wrong dish. I had ordered guinea fowl and when this eventually arrived it was clearly chicken. If the hotel is to keep its place at the top of the Arnhem list it has got to do better than this. Significantly, of all the hotels I used on this trip the NH Rijnhotel was the only one not to ask me for a follow up survey once I had returned. Maybe they are a little too complascent.

  • Liked — Riverside position
  • Disliked — Lack of customer care
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

Hotel was clean, a little dated, but comfortable. Front desk was helpful and resturant was excellent. Solid breakfast which was included in the room rate. There is an outdoor patio with very nice views of the Rhine river. The hotel is located outside of the center of the city however. Expect a solid 20 minute walk to the center and about a 30 minute walk to the John Frost bridge (if you are a WWII buff).

  • Liked — Views of river and resturant
  • Disliked — Location outside of city center
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

My partner & me stayed here recently and had a lovely time. We were allowed in our room early as cleaning had been done and we were given a lovely room with balcony and a beautiful view.

My only complaint would have been the limited and expensive menu but we planned on eating out during our stay anyway so not a problem for us. We got a special weekend deal and I imagine the hotel is mainly for business people during the week so the menu is more for them. Very impressed.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Expensive and limited menu
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Arnhem Rijnhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Arnhem Rijnhotel

Address: Onderlangs, 10 | Klingelbeek, 6812 CG Arnhem, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Rijnhotel)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Arnhem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arnhem
#1 Green Hotel in Arnhem
#1 Best Value Hotel in Arnhem
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arnhem
#3 Business Hotel in Arnhem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Arnhem Rijnhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Arnhem Rijnhotel is a four-star hotel located right on the banks of the Rhine River in Arnhem. With its 68 guest rooms, two meeting rooms, bar and restaurant, the hotel offers great views of the river, complete services, and easy access by car and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, NHHotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your NH Arnhem Rijnhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Arnhem
Nh Rijnhotel Arnhem
Golden Tulip Arnhem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Arnhem Rijnhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.