We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, dark & very much centraal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arnhem Centraal

Hotel Arnhem Centraal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Arnhem Centraal to your Saves list
Hotel Arnhem Centraal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemsplein 18, 6811 KB Arnhem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Arnhem
England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Dated, dark & very much centraal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

1st night on our road trip, the staff are pleasant even though they struggled with English, i know, i wasnt in England & i should of spoke Dutch, but my Dutch is as bad as their English. There is nowhere to park unless you pay to park in the multi-storey at a cost of 24 euros, we got there at 7pm & were due on the road at 8am so i didnt park in the car park, i left it outside between two trees as there was a car there too. We wernt towed away nor ticketed so it was a result. The room was expensive at £99 for one night i found, the room was dated with very basic amenities (no tea/coffe making) but the best thing about the hotel is that it is very central to everything. There are restaurants all around you & if you cross the road you will find a paved street that leads to all the bars. We met a friend there & we drank in the 'pegasus bar', a bar full of paratrooper memorabilia. Once again it is Europe with the euro, so everything is oh so expensive, nice welcoming people but a not great hotel, we stayed in Arhem the following Friday on our way back & stayed in the Best Western accross the road (see other review) that turned out to be a wonderful choice.

Room Tip: Very central & average hotel, the Best Western is 30 yds across the road, go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

An unwelcoming and dark reception area greeted us. The room wasn`t ready. The keys to the room didn`t work. There is no one on Reception after 11 o`clock in the evening and entrance is through a side door using room key.......that didn`t work and we had to knock loudly on the door to rouse a member of staff to let us in. Rooms are not cleaned on a daily basis. The breakfast was very limited....bread stale, scrammbled eggs cold, no fruit on some days. The casually dressed staff had a limited knowledge of places of interest around Arnhem. On the positive side the location is good for the train station, bus station and city centre. The rooms were adaquate and the shower and bathroom good. However, this is not a place I would recommend to anyone and was extremely poor value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire. England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

Taking a business trip to Arnhem we had planned to stay in a 'branded' hotel, but our customer decided to select something a little more 'cost effective'... This did not seem to bode well. However, my worries were Totally unfounded...

The Hotel Arnhem Centraal is in central Arnhem and is located directly in front of Arnhem railway station (very simple for transfer from Schiphol airport) and also 100 meters from the central bus station (very good for local travel). Parking is in the central car park under the bus station and is EUR 12.50 per day, it seemed secure and safe. We arrived, parked outside then took the empty car to the car park and walked back, we did this daily and it was no issue at all.

Upon arrival at the Hotel we were met by extremely friendly and helpful staff and a quirky (the main part of the ground floor is a Greek restaurant) but really very nice hotel. I travel excessively, normally stay in 4-5 Star Marriott's and don't suffer middle of the road hotels very well at all - but the Hotel Arnhem Centraal was really very good and I have no complaints at all.

The hotel boasts a lift to floors 0-2 (you need to walk from 2 to 3) or an almost Vertical staircase (beware visitors with small children this is very steep - no reason not to go, but beware). All rooms have card key entries. My room 104: was spacious in the extreme (note others said their rooms were smaller) but had a none too impressive view of Arnhem railway station which is behind the hotel (no noise issues though).

Each room has a small flat screen TV, free internet, phone and a mini fridge (not minibar) and an individual aircon unit. The bathroom was bidet and shower (no bath) and quite new and Very clean. The shower was powerful and easy to operate and they supplied sachets of shampoo and baby soap (take your own shampoo). They offer a simple room service including breakfast in the room. Breakfast is served in the lobby restaurant and includes cold and warm food. There is a smokers room off the lobby.

As described above, the hotel also has a large Greek restaurant (complete with Greek Urns and Statues..) which offers either a la carte, or a Greek Buffet. Having lived in Cyprus for many years I like 'Good' Greek food and was Very Impressed with the buffet, such that I ate there twice in three days and would have eaten there again had I not been out voted!

The hotel is fairly central in Arnhem and is in easy walking distance from bars and restaurants in town. It seemed safe and is in a well lit well travelled area.

I had one free morning during my trip and wanted to get to the Airborne Museum Oosterbeek, but was pushed for time and transport (no car that day) so I walked to the central bus station, jumped on the bus and in 20 minutes I was there. An excellent and moving museum by the way and well worth the effort. I took the bus back and then set off for Schiphol via the station (3 minute walk from the hotel lobby).

All in all, I would unreservedly and thoroughly recommend this hotel on the basis of cosy friendliness, service, location and ease of access from Schiphol and transport links to the rest of Holland.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

The hotel is easily located from Arnhem train station and can be reached in a minute's walk. It is located above a Greek restaurant with the main reception accessed through the restaurant entrance. The room was modern and clean with spacious twin beds and good shower / bath facilities with a monsoon shower and air-conditioning. You can also access the main shopping and tourist district within a minutes walk. The tourist information office is on the same street.

We were required to pay on checking into the hotel but could not be provided with a receipt until the main receptionist started work. Though a fridge was provided in the room, no other drinks facilities were available e.g., kettle, tea, coffee, or minibar. I recommend you walk to the station to buy these before returning to the hotel as we were charged EUR5.00 for two cups of tea even though the menu said they cost EUR1.85 each.

I'd stay again as Arnhem seems to have pricey hotels (converted into British Pounds) and at EUR98 per night, this hotel was one of the cheapest. However, at this price, I would have at least expected some shampoo!

For what we wanted it was a fantastic location, and I would stay again as I'm very picky about how clean a hotel is. There are also some good touristy things to do such as Sonsbeek park, the water museum, Burgers Zoo, two other parks, good shopping area - I think the previous reviewer just didn't do his research because there is a map available online.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed here to visit the Airborne Museum and do a little history/culture stuff. We hadn't appreciated that much of what we wanted to see was at Oosterbeek, around a 10-15 minute bus ride out of Arnhem, and this area was much prettier and more picturesque. If you're going for the WWII history, I'd stay there instead. The hotel is clean, with very modern and pleasant rooms (although the one we stayed in in the attic was a bit small) and really nice full bathrooms, fluffy towels and toiletries etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. As the name suggests, the hotel is situated adjacent to the train station and on a fairly busy main road, which isn't great for a leisure break, although as far as value for money goes, it was pretty good. I personally was disappointed in Arnhem as a town - not a lot to see or do and won't be going back, although was very glad to have gone to Oosterbeek.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arnhem Centraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arnhem Centraal

Address: Willemsplein 18, 6811 KB Arnhem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Arnhem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Arnhem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arnhem Centraal 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Arnhem Centraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arnhem Centraal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.