We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a short night, but not for a pleasant weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn/Het Loo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn/Het Loo to your Saves list
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn/Het Loo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loolaan 556, 7315 AG Apeldoorn, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Apeldoorn
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fine for a short night, but not for a pleasant weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I ended up here after a gathering in Apeldoorn and no public transport anymore to take me home. The hotel does not check in late at night, and the staff doesn't know anything (no clue how far they are from the train station, or at what time breakfast starts in the morning).

The last room available was a "suite" but that is just a large room. And it's cold, boy it's freezing! The heating does not help. The bed was fine though and in the morning checking out was fast and easy.

I would not recommend this hotel for a luxurious weekend and that's a pity because the area is one of the most beautiful of the country of Holland and the hotel is close to sights such as the Royal Palace and the National Park. Perhaps the management should get inspired again?

At 140 euro the room was not overly expensive. Oh, and by the way, this hotel is branded "Bastion" now, not Best Western anymore.

Room Tip: Don't book a suite if you expect an en-suite bedroom. Suites are just large single rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn/Het Loo, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
16
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed at Hotel "Het Loo" twice when doing business in Apeldoorn and I am not likely to come back or recommend the place.
The location is one of the better compared to other hotels in the area. The property is near the palace and park but it is still easy to go to the city by bus. If you are driving, you can park your car for free.
The hotel building probably saw better days 30 years ago and could definitely use a lot of restauration work. The rooms reflect this impression, the furniture is worn and old fashioned - but not antique enough to have any flair. The windows are not well insulated, despite the heating being fully turned up it was still cold in my room.
There is a swimming pool and a small gym (1 treadmill, 1 bike, 1 indoor rower and 1 resistance machine) available - enough to get a bit of exercise in the morning or evening.
The room rates are not terribly expensive but you will find better quality for the same money elsewhere in Apeldoorn. The restaurant is nothing special, ok if you do not want to go out for dinner.
For reasons beyond my understanding the staff was unable to provide me with a correct invoice (needs to show company address for tax reasons) on check-out, although I had provided the details with the reservation and told them again when I arrived. That happened twice and I am not willing to go through any extra hassle because of a hotel chain's inefficient processes - thus they will not see me again.

Room Tip: I did not like any of the rooms I stayed in. One was bigger than the other, but decorated the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn/Het Loo, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I booked a suite. Much to my surprise this is only a mega version of a standard room. There is no 'feeling home' in that suite due to the lack of decorations or furniture. You got the impression that you are in some home retreat for elder people. Yes, there is a piblic swimming pool and sauna and the breakfast is sober but fresh and good quality food. The staff does his best, but this Hotel needs to step into the reality of better quality Hotel. For the time being I'm affraid I could not recommend this Hotel dispite of the efforts of the staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn/Het Loo, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

After a turbulent flight and a less than enthralling train journey I was ready for a good room with a good meal and that's exactly what I got.
The restaurant menu was good. The breakfast was adequate and I especially like the fact that a waitress was on hand to cook your eggs how you wanted when you wanted them.
It's location is fairly quiet and Apeldoorn has many trees so noise is absorbed by them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn/Het Loo, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Apeldoorn.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel have swimming pool, little gym, restaurant and bus stop in front of the hotel (very convinence).
It's 10 minutes drive by taxi from Apeldoorn train station or you can use a bus for 2 euro.
Overall is a very convinience hotel for business / leisure.

Room Tip: Facing the street is a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn/Het Loo, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel inn Apeldoorn.

With kind regards,

Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed for one night, large room, comfortable bed, free wireless internet access, good brewakfast, helpful and friendly staff, great location. I would certainly use this hotel again - perhpas next time with my wife ratehr than on a solo work trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn/Het Loo, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Apeldoorn.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Good hotel in a nice location, handy and quiet. I stayed for several days and while I had a pleasant experience overall, I have to mention the patchy cleaning of the room (towels left in the bathtub, garbage bin not emptied) and the overly expensive basic breakfast. The restaurant in nice for a rainy day when you don't want to go out, but there are much better restaurants in Apeldoorn, 5 minutes drive or 15 minutes walk away. A big plus is the free wifi which I've found fast and reliable. I would definitely stay there again but without breakfast included.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn/Het Loo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn/Het Loo

Address: Loolaan 556, 7315 AG Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Apeldoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Apeldoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn/Het Loo 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn / het Loo is a luxurious four star hotel. The hotel stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn / het Loo offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers wellness facilities, which guests can use for free, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn / het Loo is located close to Palace The Loo, with a view on the nice gardens. The natural environment with National Park the "Hoge Veluwe", offers a lot of possibilities for walking and cycling fanatics. The beautiful centre of Apeldoorn offers a variety of culture. Apeldoorn is the biggest city on the Veluwe and is known as residential of the Family of Oranje. Rooms The hotel has 70 comfortable deluxe rooms, 24 Junior suites and 10 suites. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, WiFi, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The junior suites and suites are more spacious than the deluxe rooms and have a separate sitting area. The suites are also fitted with sofabed. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 06:00 to 09:00 and in weekends from 07:00 to 10:30. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 until 23:00 for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open until 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn/Het Loo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Apeldoorn
Apeldoorn Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn/Het Loo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.