We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“general appreciation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stenden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Stenden Hotel to your Saves list
Stenden Hotel
Rengerslaan 8, 8917 DD Leeuwarden, The Netherlands (Formerly Stenden University Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Wiltz, Luxembourg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“general appreciation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The location and the room were OK, but I was not very enthousiast about the quality and the diversity offerd at your breakfast buffet. I missed a.o. fresh fruit. The price/quality ratio is not OK regarding this aspect.


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martine H, Guest Relations Manager at Stenden Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Luc,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really like that.
Sorry to hear that you weren't completely happy with our breakfast.

Thanks to your review, and other ofcourse, we upgraded our breakfast-buffet big time.

Hope to see you again in Stenden Hotel so we can show you.

Thanks again for your effort.

Kind reagrds,
Team Stenden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
22
2
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Clean rooms, good food and agood place to stay for a few days.
Leeuwarden is a nice place to visit.
the service in the Stenden hotel is perfect! Everyone is doing it's best to make your trip as comferteble as possible!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martine H, Guest Relations Manager at Stenden Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Daniel,

Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Stenden Hotel.

Is you have plans to visit Leeuwarden in the future, we hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Team Stenden Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Very nice hotel with a private car park right outside. Good location for visiting Leeuwarden, a short walk from the city centre. The young staff which are in training were most helpful and doing their best to make us feel welcome. Spacious, nice room with a view to an atrium garden. Quite a long walk from the reception to the room, but it was interesting as we were passing the school area on the way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martine H, Manager at Stenden Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for leaving a review at Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our service. If you wish to come back to Leeuwarden, we truly hope that you choose to stay at Stenden Hotel again.

Kind regards,
Team Stenden Hotel Leeuwarden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Being a seasoned traveller, it was fortunate that I was pre-warned about the nature of the hotel and told to 'be a bit patient'. Just as well as the check in was more of a practical lesson than anything I had ever encountered before. That stated when you get to my age (51), education of the next generation is something important to consider and being able to be a small part of that process somehow gives a positive feeling of well being - like you are helping in some way.

I was accompanied to a very comfortable and well appointed room by 2 delightful young students, a young lady from Romania and a guy from Latvia. Both keen to practice English and both very engaged in what was being said - not just asking questions for the sake of making conversation if you see what I mean.

I was later joined by my friend and his partner (both locals) and we were treated to a wonderful gourmet dinner featuring many locally sourced products. Absolutely delicious.

Breakfast was also good and although slightly more than I would normally pay for a stay it was overall a wonderful experience that I would recommend to others in a heartbeat.

My only slight criticism is the distance of the rooms to the reception and rather poor signs to navigate my way back - other than that, very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StendenHotel, General Manager at Stenden Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Martin,

We are delighted to see your positive feedback on your stay with us. We were happy to have been of service. We hope to welcome you once again in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Jorn J.D. Wisselink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I visited Stenden last night and stayed "on-campus" at this student run property. The front desk greeted me warmly and even provided me with an adapter/transformer as I was travelling from another country. Every student staff member I passed said hello and seemed thrilled to have my business. Look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The start-point is that you're staying in a real teaching university hotel - I've only one this once before (at Cornell) and did it this time at the recommendation of an alumni... I am glad I did... Reception was excellent - a trainee was on duty and was guided through the process (which felt good), then to our room, which was perfectly ok... nothing special, but very clean and functional... We spent a great afternoon in Leeuwarden, then opted to eat in the hotel restaurant... My wife had to help a young student with a G&T (but that was actually charming!), then we settled down for what was a quite excellent dinner in "New Dutch" style.... and after a good night's sleep enjoyed an equally excellent breakfast... all in all a great stay in a very nice place, and so good to see the students working so well!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and three kids were lucky enough to stay at the Stenden University Hotel in Leeuwarden. The hotel is a Learning Hotel and it was great to see young students trying their best to make our stay so comfortable. The hotel is situated within walking distance from town with safe parking. The rooms are clean, modern and very comfortable. The beds are amazing as they can be operated by remote control, very nice. The hotel has a focus on the environment so organic ingredients in the meals is assured. Unfortunatley the University was closed for the holidays so the hotel was very quite and did not have the buzz of a real learning hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stenden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stenden Hotel

Address: Rengerslaan 8, 8917 DD Leeuwarden, The Netherlands (Formerly Stenden University Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stenden Hotel is a modern 4-star hotel located within 10 minutes walking distance of the historic center of Leeuwarden. A bus stop is located right across from the hotel. Free parking is also offered on premises. The hotel offers spacious guest rooms all equipped with modern facilities, such as flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and Nespresso coffee machines. The new restaurant, ' Wannee', offers an all-day dining experience. Here you can enjoy fresh and organic dishes according to the 'New Dutch Cuisine' concept in a relaxed and modern atmosphere. In the cozy bar and lobby you can relax and enjoy a drink or small bite. Right across the street you will find the beautiful Rengerspark, where you can enjoy a walk or a run. Extensive gym facilities are available for hotel guests at the fitness studio next door, for a small fee. Stenden Hotel is committed to training and inspiring international young hospitality professionals within a dynamic and hospitable environment which allows them to evolve and grow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Stenden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stenden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.