We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in a lovely city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stenden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stenden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stenden Hotel
Rengerslaan 8, 8917 DD Leeuwarden, The Netherlands (Formerly Stenden University Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Leeuwarden
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in a lovely city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The start-point is that you're staying in a real teaching university hotel - I've only one this once before (at Cornell) and did it this time at the recommendation of an alumni... I am glad I did... Reception was excellent - a trainee was on duty and was guided through the process (which felt good), then to our room, which was perfectly ok... nothing special, but very clean and functional... We spent a great afternoon in Leeuwarden, then opted to eat in the hotel restaurant... My wife had to help a young student with a G&T (but that was actually charming!), then we settled down for what was a quite excellent dinner in "New Dutch" style.... and after a good night's sleep enjoyed an equally excellent breakfast... all in all a great stay in a very nice place, and so good to see the students working so well!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
19
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and three kids were lucky enough to stay at the Stenden University Hotel in Leeuwarden. The hotel is a Learning Hotel and it was great to see young students trying their best to make our stay so comfortable. The hotel is situated within walking distance from town with safe parking. The rooms are clean, modern and very comfortable. The beds are amazing as they can be operated by remote control, very nice. The hotel has a focus on the environment so organic ingredients in the meals is assured. Unfortunatley the University was closed for the holidays so the hotel was very quite and did not have the buzz of a real learning hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

It appears that many B&B's are only offering an expensive breakfast option (12.5 euros per person). This puts the onus on the traveler to find and procure an economical breakfast. Since this B&B was far from town, we had to walk pretty far to find an alternative breakfast. Aside from this problem, we had no other complaints. The room and bath were modern and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritAbroad
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

It is the concept that attracted me to this hotel and I am delighted that I chose to stay there. The students who staff the hotel and restaurant under expert supervision made my night there all the more special: they tried so hard to please, always smiling and polite - nothing was too much trouble for them.

The hotel rooms are a short walk across the university concourse from the reception and restaurant, which was a nice reminder that guests are actually staying in a university, the life of which is very much going on as usual.

My room was spacious, clean, comfortable and well presented. I slept very well in the comfortable bed. The en suite bathroom was well equipped with plenty of soft towels.

I ate dinner in the restaurant where I experienced very good cooking and it was also the venue for a lovely breakfast.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stenden University hotel is a great spot to stay-over for a night or two, while being in Leeuwarden. I stay there every time I travel to Leeuwarden, to visit friends and family. The hotel is very stylish and modern, and the service, brought to you by Students, is simply perfect. The highlight of this hotel would for sure be the Restaurant. The personalized service and ambience are satisfying. Staff (students) are supervised by knowledged instructors who surprise you with their presence, to check whether every thing is alright. The menu is fairly Dutch, you'll be flabbergasted by the preparation of the components and its heritage. All in all, a must go! ENJOY!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUH8917, General Manager at Stenden Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Frank,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback! We are especially proud that you enjoyed our unique concept of the New Dutch Cuisine in our restaurant. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed several times at this hotel which is operated by Stenden University Leeuwarden as part of their "real life learning" philosophy.
It is run by their students going for a degree in hospitality. You should accept that the staff are not professionals yet and have a bit of tolerance and patience for them. In turn, you will experience a refreshingly young and motivated team that will go the extra mile to make your your stay enjoyable. If something goes wrong, there is usually a supervisor to help out.
The rooms are actually on the campus, but provide the same standard as you would expect from any other business class hotel. The location is not bad, the city centre is still in walking distance. There is also a bus connection that runs very frequently.
The room rates are sometimes so cheap that I still wonder if the hotel is a non-profit organization after all - you certainly get good value for the money.

Room Tip: I stayed several times and always were happy with the rooms, could not identify big differences. I p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

For the second time we stayed here one night with dinner. If you appreciate the added value to wittness the learning curve how to become a good hotelier it's the place to be.
The university in full operation is a very special experience. Dinner was very good but you have to be careful that it can take a little bit longer. But one thing is sure. To meet a friendly staff with a great smile and doing her utmost as if it's a 5 star level here it is!
If you are in a hurry, or stressed for what ever reason don't go.
Oherwise it's a great upportunity. Book it.

Room Tip: If you need an elevator take the rooms at the groundfloor with numbers starting with one hundred. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stenden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stenden Hotel

Address: Rengerslaan 8, 8917 DD Leeuwarden, The Netherlands (Formerly Stenden University Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Leeuwarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This four star hotel is run in cooperation with young and enthusiastic students from the International Hospitality Management education under supervision of practical instructors and therefore called a learning company. Their eagerness and willingness to learn and their continuous strive to achieve maximum performance will surely make your stay not only pleasant but also unforgettable.The hotel is located at the periphery of the city centre and just 10 minutes driving distance from the central station. Besides that the hotel is situated in the centre of Frisian which offers you the opportunity to use it as a base to get acquainted with all the beauty Frisian offers you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsNL and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Stenden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stenden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.