We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An atmospheric, quiet and comfortable stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Landgoed De Klinze - Hampshire Classic

Save Saved
You added Landgoed De Klinze - Hampshire Classic to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Landgoed De Klinze - Hampshire Classic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Sminiaweg 32-36, 9064KC Leeuwarden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Leeuwarden
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“An atmospheric, quiet and comfortable stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed for four days at the Landgoed De Klinze, a state from 1655. The hotel is surrounded by a large 8 ha park and there is a nice driveway leading upto the mansion. We had a spacious room - the Statekamer Hector - because it has airconditioning (it was around 30 degrees Celsius). Not all rooms have this facility. The nicest asset of the Klinze is the terras with ample protection against to much sun shine. We were there at breakfast, for our morning coffee, the afternoon tea (beer) and the diner. To dine in the Klinze, at the terras or in the restaurant is satisfactory but not the reason to stay at the hotel, although the restaurant is in classic and beautiful room. If you like, you can make nice and interesting cycling tours from the hotel as we did. Good bycicles are for rent at the hotel.
The hotel advertises it self as a 4-star hotel. I would say 3-star, but it is true that we had an atmospheric, quiet and comfortable stay. Finally, and this must be said: In the Klinze there was free Wifi, which is a nice surprise because in hotels in the Netherlands it is not yet normal to have free Wifi.

Room Tip: Some, but not all rooms have air-conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Viersen, Deutschland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were looking for a quiet hotel within driving distance of water. This hotel is about 30 min to the North Sea and 45 min to Ijsselmeer (Makkum) The Makkum beach is nice, and especially suited for smaller children due to shallow water. It wasn't overcrowded, we had space to lay out all our stuff with the next people at least 3-5 meters away.
Back to the hotel: we booked a 5-night stay including two 3-course dinners and breakfast each morning. We received a welcome drink which we took on the nice patio/veranda (which due to the nice weather, was also used for breakfast). Besides the absolute quiet (with a nice park to walk in), one of the best things about this hotel is the food for dinner. I believe the chef is trying to get a Michelin star and I hope he will achieve this some day. The portions were a bit small, but the presentation and the food itself was absolutely fantastic. We had to pay for drinks for those 2 meals, but the prices were OK. We booked one of the suites and there was plenty of space. The only thing that was a bit strange: despite the size, the closets were a bit small (and only 7 hangars) - my wife took up most of the space for hanging up her clothes ;-)
We had a problem with the AC the first day but the hotel manager (a very nice gentleman, part of the very friendly staff) had it repaired and it worked fine for the rest of our stay. We had a very nice bathroom with a full bath and a seperate shower. Along with 2 wash basins, we didn't have to block each other when using the bathroom, which was very nice. Only minus point here: the toilet is in the bathroom behind it's own door. But there is no window and no (active) ventilation :-(
The hotel has it's own little swimming pool and sauna and spa. We only used the pool. The water was too warm for me (seemed like over 30° C), for my wife it was just right. The area could use some renovation, however. The nice thing was that we were practically alone. Very few people used it, so it was nice to cool off (outside temp was anywhere between 28-35 that week) every day.
WiFi was free, but the signal was pretty weak in the suite, it could only be used on the groundfloor in the lobby and maybe in the business rooms one floor up (we were 2 floors up from the lobby).
Breakfast: as mentioned above, was outside on the veranda, which we did almost every morning as the weather was mostly beautiful. The buffet was good, but nothing spectacular. Only orange juice the whole week (no apple, no tomato, just OJ!). One day we had to wait for bacon to be refilled (at 9:00, when breakfast is 8-10). Normally the waitress should see that on her own. But otherwise, the service was very good and friendly. Fresh fruit every day was also nice.
Here is my overall impression: On a scale of 1-10, including the location, quietness, sleep comfort, food, friendliness, etc, I would give this hotel 8.5 out of 10. My suggestions would be to renovate the rooms and the pool just a little and make the breakfast a little bit more interesting. Then this hotel would be in the 9 point category.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are quiet, the hotel is in the middle of a park. My mattress was a bit soft (I for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast NSW
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a lovely looking estate. The rooms were clean, the furniture was a bit dated, but not shabby, carpet is a bit tired looking. There was a lovely big marble bathroom with a beautiful big bath. Free wi fi. For 60 euro this was a great overnight stop.
The gentleman who checked us in was very friendly and helpful, he seemed to be the only person there and in charge of everything including table service at dinner.
Dinner was a set menu, there were only 2 choices for mains, beef or fish.
Not sure what the beef was but it would have to be one of the best meals I have ever eaten. The whole meal and service was fantastic. I was offered a dessert that they were making as a one off for another guest, not sure what it was but it was made with Friesian sugar bread and was delicious.
Did not have breakfast so cannot comment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed for 1 night only should have stayed longer, what a great hotel yes it may have been a bit faded but the service & food made up for it.
I thought 5 star at a 3 star price, nice & quite in a lovely part of Holland

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed from Friday till Sunday in a 'verwen arrangement' to celebrate my parents wedding anniversary. Couldn't have picked a nicer place. The snow made the whole scenario super romantic! We enjoyed the horse carriage ride around the estate and the spa treatments. The dinners were wonderful, some people may find the service slow but we enjoyed family conversation between the different courses and were in no hurry. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly. We would come back here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Stayed here for one night on a Sunday - one of only about 5 guests.
Exterior of hotel and grounds are beautiful, but the interior is faded! Paint chipped from doors. carpets stained, dated furnishings etc. The pool was OK and the water seemed clean, but the wooden trim around the pool (hard to explain) was broken and looked mouldy. The sauna was just OK, but the Turkish steam room smelled of drains - I don't think it was a natural sulphur smell. I didn't stay for breakfast as I walked throught the breakfast room and the tables were set .......... with the orange juice already poured in the glasses - no thanks!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landgoed De Klinze - Hampshire Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landgoed De Klinze - Hampshire Classic

Address: Van Sminiaweg 32-36, 9064KC Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Leeuwarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Landgoed De Klinze - Hampshire Classic 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Landgoed De Klinze - Hampshire Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landgoed De Klinze - Hampshire Classic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.