We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in bad need of full renovation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof

Save Saved
You added Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hofplein 29, 8911 HJ Leeuwarden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Leeuwarden
hong kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“in bad need of full renovation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Jacuzii suite, jacuzzi did not work.
Artificial plants full of dust in the room.
Peeping sound of floor and bed
room service charge to bring two beers to the room 3 euro and 50 cents
No mini bar in the room
Wall-paper and tilles of bathroom broken.
Carpets in the hotels public area looks dirty
Reception area ugy
location good
house keeping did not do a good job, did not renew the candle lights around the jacuzzi ( bad attitude and not nice for a so kind honey-moon suite)

thisa was for the first time I stay at a Fletcher hotel but if they charge 3.50 for room service to bring two beers then I thik its for sure the last time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
2
40
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a really nice hotel, with great royal athmosphere, and very affordable. Especially in combination with the restaurant this makes a great stay in Leeuwarden. The location is just minutes away from the different sites and musea

Room Tip: We paid the extra €15 to upgrade to royal room. It's not really ryal, but it's space and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stopped just one night in Leeuwarden but will prob be back for a longer stay. The hotel is a mix of old and new, our room was at the front overlooking the square and was reached by going through the old passages and then up modern staircase. The room was huge with modern furniture and fixings. It was very clean with the usual toiletries and beverages. The bed was extremely comfortable and we were not disturbed by any outside noise. Breakfast was a well stocked buffet with plenty of choice.
Overall a great stay in the lovely town of Leeuwarden.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I loved the place, only stayed here for one night as I had a meeting in leeuwarden, the hotel is clean and comfortable. the furniture is new and the room I had was really big. the shower was awesome. As for the breakfast it is similar to all breakfast you get in hotels in the netherlands pretty simple but good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel is located in the towncentre. The building has status. We booked a room on the backside of the hotel. The forniture in the room was very old and cracking when you walk trough the room. Keep that in mind and you will have a good stay.

Room Tip: If you are very tall, keep in mind that you would have difficulties when showering in a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my parents in July. I booked a king room for the 3 of us. The room is lovely and big with a lounge x 2 settees and a single chair, a large wardrobe, a tv, queen bed and dressing table. The bathroom has a bath/shower, toilet and hand basin and is a good size.

As the third party to this room, I was provided with a fold out stretcher bed. It was adequate, but certainly nothing special or comfortable. Had I known, I would have booked two of the cheaper rooms on the top floor (which my parents stayed in on their last visit to Leeuwarden) for the same price.

The hotel staff were very welcoming and polite and assisted and guided us when approached. The hotel does not have internet, however they did allow me to do checks of my emails on their reception PC, which was very thoughtful and convenient.

The breakfast room is lovely and bright and well serviced. The food was very good and certainly more than adequate.

The only negatives about this hotel is that the rooms got quite warm in the evenings/overnight and that there is no small fridge / mini bar in the room. I really missed being able to have a cold drink on demand. Apparently they have bar fridges in the rooms on the highest floor. This should be rectified for the lower floor rooms.

Apart from these 2 minor points, the staff were excellent as was the location to the main town area. I was able to catch a bus to within 100m of the hotel from the station. From recollection, I believe it was bus number 31 at a cost of Euro2. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo,Suriname
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Because the hotel is situated within five minute walk from all the shopping stores and good Restaurants is it nice to stay one night because of the spacious rooms and oh yes, the breakfast is good- not much has changed since 2007 - remind you this was a palace so all is kept well

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof

Address: Hofplein 29, 8911 HJ Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Leeuwarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hotel- Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof situated in the capital of Friesland epitomizes the region's historic grandeur. Guests benefit from free Wi-Fi during their stay. The premises were in fact a palace owned by the Dutch royal family until 1971. And each of the palace's rooms had retained its regal air. Enjoy a dinner fit for a king or a princely lunch against the backdrop of its 18th century decor. The hotel's surroundings also offer a range of activities and sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fletcher Hotel Leeuwarden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.