We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good museum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fries Museum

Fries Museum
Wilhelminaplein 92, 8911 BS Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
+31 58 255 5500
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 25 things to do in Leeuwarden
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Fries Museum is dedicated to Friesland and the Frisian people. Its activities revolve around the eleven cities that make up the province and the surrounding countryside. These include the Frisians' love-hate relationship with water, the search for what defines the typical Frisian character, and Friesland's place in the wider world. The freedom fighter Grutte Pier's sword; old costumes and clothing; treasures from the Frisian mounds; the legacy of Mata Hari, the exotic dancer who was executed as a spy at the end of the First World War; Gerrit Benner's paintings; contemporary visual art; and the film de Overval: together these objects tell the story of Friesland.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

After the Ceramics this was disappointing, but good in its own right. Wish we'd had the time to do it on a separate day.

Visited June 2012
Thank Dilly1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

This was a great museum, focusing on the history and genealogical underpinnings of the area

Visited June 2011
Thank Uncleguido50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
167 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“An interesting overview of art, culture and history of Friesland.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We visited the museum on a foggy Friday, also market day in Leeuwarden. It was a great introduction into the Friesland history and culture; we are living nearby for 3 years and felt we should know something about the area where we are now living. We were given a museum tour guide in English, and that helped tremendously [as our Dutch is not quite up to par].

The silver collection [in the basement] is quite extensive and very beautiful, and all from at the time, local silversmiths. On the second floor you get the story of the freedom fighter Grutte Pier and of Mara Hari, while the third floor is dedicated to how the area, Leeuwarden in particular, was affected during WWII. We especially enjoyed the "bioscoop" or cinema with actual footage from the events in the 1940's.

In Sept. of 2013 the new Fries Museum will open on the Zaailand, the square in the heart of the city. I am looking forward to visiting again in this magnificent building of the future... the perfect integration of modern architecture and old canal houses in a single area.

If you're living in the NL, the way to go with museums is with the Museumkaart... you pay around €44 for a years membership and free entrance to almost all museums in the NL. Definitely worth the price, as the entrance fee for the Fries Museum alone is €10.

Visited March 2012
Thank karkar51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“"Frisian" museum?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

If you are looking for a museum about Frisian history and culture, this is not it. It's mostly art and silver. The naturl history museum and verzetsmuseum are better. The small collection at the museum in Moddergat gave our foreign guests more information about what makes Friesland stand out than this big one in Leeuwarden.

Visited March 2011
1 Thank FrisseKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fries Museum also viewed

Leeuwarden, Friesland Province
Leeuwarden, Friesland Province
Leeuwarden, Friesland Province

Been to Fries Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing