We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsweg 4, 8911 AG Leeuwarden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Leeuwarden
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Positives:
Friendly staff; relatively large room; nice bathroom; opposite the train station and other public transportation; close to the city center.

Negatives:
Bathroom could have been cleaner (mold and some hairs in the shower).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieteke, Front Office Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte Travel_CG83,

Wat een fijne reactie dat uw verblijf naar wens is geweest! Een mooi compliment!

Uit uw reactie begrijp ik dat uw kamer niet aan uw eisen heeft voldaan. Dit betreuren wij dan ook ten zeerste. De badkamers in ons hotel dienen ten alle tijde aan de schoonmaak voorschriften die ons hotel hanteert te voldoen, echter hebben wij hieraan dit maal niet kunnen voldoen.

Uw feedback dat u hebt gedeeld met in uw beoordeling wordt meegenomen naar de afdeling van de huishouding en wordt besproken in teambesprekingen, om ervoor te zorgen dat ons team nog beter kan functioneren in alle situaties.

Wij hopen u uiteraard nogmaals te mogen verwelkomen in ons hotel waarin wij ervoor kunnen zorgen dat uw volgende verblijf helemaal conform de eisen voldoen!

Met vriendelijke groet,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    68
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
68
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

On arrival our standard room was not available but we got upgradet to supirior room.

Both type of rooms are spacious, kingsize beds en big bathtub.

Staff is great and service even better.

Food not cheap but great!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieteke, Front Office Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Flyboy65,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments! We are very glad to hear that you had a good stay in our hotel & restaurant.

We'll see you next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

As Helen said: "This is a very good hotel. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable and the (included) breakfast was plentiful and tasty. In addition, the Oranje is located conveniently right across from the train station, and also minutes from downtown Leeuwarden. Free internet access was easy and fast. This was our first stay at the Oranje, but it won't be the last, and we are happy to recommend it to other travelers." Add: The staff were teriffic! We can't think of a reason to even look elsehwere for a place to stay; the prices [at least at this Hampshire hotel] make this stop a really good value. It will be the reason we will not hesitate to spend much more time in Leeuwarden in the future. Dr. RLG -- Wisconsin/USA

Room Tip: The room we were assigned on the top floor was fine. A balcony would be fun too. Be sure to find the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieteke, General Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear spontaneous guest,

Your review is outstanding! We are very happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel!

We would love to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a road trip through Holland. The guy on reception was very nice and friendly and said he had give us a room with a balcony for us to sit on and drink hot chocolate because it was snowing at that time. The room overlooked w main road and he railway station, we thought it might be a wee bit noisy but we never her a sound all night. The room was very clean, comfortable and lovely warm.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a very good hotel. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable and the (included) breakfast was plentiful and tasty. In addition, the Oranje is located conveniently right across from the train station, and also minutes from downtown Leeuwarden. Free internet access in the lobby is another plus feature at the Oranje. This was my first stay at the Oranje, but it won't be the last, and I'm happy to recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at The Oranje Hotel each year since 2002. The rooms are very nice, the food is good, the hotel staff is very friendly and and professional! We have only had very good experiences at The Oranje!

Room Tip: In the rear of the hotel it is quieter. Floor 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieteke, General Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your nice words. We are looking forward to welcoming you for many more years at the Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

nice and clean room and in a great walking distace from the city centre. service was good and there is a parking garage available for 10 euro a day. opposite the train station and on a main road but still quiet in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden

Address: Stationsweg 4, 8911 AG Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Leeuwarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1879, the Eden Oranje Hotel is a four-star hotel located directly opposite the station in the charming old town of Leeuwarden. Nearby you can explore the town's famous maze of narrow cobbled streets, bustling with stylish shops, excellent restaurants and cosy café terraces. The hotel has 78 recently refurbished rooms, five conference rooms, new restaurant and lounge bar Van Buren, and private parking. Come along to experience Frisian friendliness to the fullest. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.