We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic property, terrible management” 3 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden

Save Saved
You added WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heliconweg 52, 8914 AT Leeuwarden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Leeuwarden
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic property, terrible management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed more than 80 nights in this hotel while working on a project in Leeuwarden. Please excuse my attempt to cram a lot of information into one review.
I really liked the modern, spacious and comfortable rooms as well as the gym and wellness area at Westcord WTC Hotel and kept coming back because of those.
However I must say that I never stayed in a hotel where the staff showed less interest in their clients. This became apparent in minor details, such as the fact that they would still not recognize me at check-in although I stayed there every week for several months.
It got worse whenever I had a complaint or asked for extra services: They failed to replace a broken ironing board, literally told me they did not care when their WiFi network broke down, kept printing the wrong address on my invoices, once even refused to move me from a noisy room next to the elevator and similar things - whatever it was, they did not make any attempt to make me feel welcome. I never quite understood this attitude, especially as the WestCord chain is a family-run business and I had positive experiences at other of their hotels. To me it seems to be a local management problem.
Just for the facts: The hotel is in an almost brand new, modern building next to the WTC and convention center a little outside the city center. When the weather is nice, you can walk to the center in 20 minutes or rent a bike from the hotel (expensive). If it is raining, you better take the bus or a taxi (order well in advance!). If you arrive by car, free parking is available.
The rooms are fantastic, even the standard rooms are top of the range. The large beds are comfortable, many bathrooms have a rain shower. The upgrade to business or a suite gives you even more space and a fancier bath - the hotel also has long-stay appartments with a kitchenette. The room rates are reasonable so you get good value for money.
The restaurant, which also serves the breakfast and does room service, is a story of its own. I will write a separate review (search for "Fosk") about it. My advice in short: Avoid dinner and room service, for breakfast or drinks it is ok but there are better options in the city.
The relaxation facilities are first class again. The gym has all the equipment you would expect from a medium size public health center: Treadmills, bikes, spinning bikes, X-trainers, rowing machines, free weights... The wellness area is spacious and features finnish sauna, steam bath and infrared cabin.
Conclusion: If you look for a modern and spacious hotel room and a decent gym, stay here. If terrible service puts you off, avoid.

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms are good, only avoid the ones near the elevators because of noise. The rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
25
Solo
0
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Alfred, South Africa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on business and have been putting quite some thought into what to think of this hotel. The hotel is new, spacious, and all facilities that one would expect are there. Yet, I did not experience a warmth of service that one generally would expect in properties such as this. I think this was due to a number of factors.
Firstly the staffing levels are kept at an absolute minimum with one receptionist, one waitress for breakfast etc. Though this works and one does not have to wait long, it does detract from the ‘soul’ of a place. For instance, the lady that cleaned up breakfast was polite and industrious, however, she was not providing service or hospitality of any kind. She was merely cleaning up after people helping themselves.
This spirit of scarcity is further amplified by the fact that upon check-in, I was informed that to use the Gym, an entry fee of Euro 7,50 was in place. Though I do have Euro 7,50 I refuse to pay for such facility when I am paying close to 100 Euro for a room...
Also because the hotel is part of the much larger WTC, the reception is huge and the traffic is not for the hotel alone.

On a more positive note – the WIFI was FREE and worked very, very well. Also the parking was free, though this did comprise a small walk. The rooms are spacious, clean, with a tremendous amount of cupboard space and enough desk space when on business. The breakfast was OK.

In summary, not a destination on its own, but very convenient when on a conference at the WTC Leeuwarden, or when one is really just looking for a spacious comfortable room in Leeuwarden.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I purchased a NS train packaged that included a stay at the WTC hotel in Leeuwarden at a very reasonable price. We really enjoyed the hotel. It was clean, spacious, and had a good selection of TV channels. The breakfast on the top floor was really great, fresh juice, and pastries were a treat. The only thing two things that we would have preferred would be a shorter walk to the city centre ( though its only 15 minutes away, but it rains frequently) and we could not get a table at their restaurant on the top floor and their are few options surrounding the hotel for eating.

Otherwise a really nice hotel and I would recommend any traveler to take a break at the WTC hotel in Leeuwarden.

Room Tip: city view would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My room was well furnished, with two separate single beds together, as a king, which seems to be a common arrangement in the Netherlands. The bed was comfortable.

The TV had a wide range of channels in a variety of languages, and had quite a few HD channels.

The shower/wash room is separate from the toilet. There is a frosted glass door to the shower room, and an exotic glass sink.

The shower is a walk in type with no actual door and is very powerful and has a couple of different heads.

There is free wifi in all the rooms.

The area surrounding it is pretty industrial, so don't expect much of a view, but the room was quiet.

The location was extremely good for my visit to the Ministry of Justice buildings, and is about 15 minutes walk from the pretty town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The room is large, nicely furnitured and silent. Especially good for business traveling.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and i stayed there for a wedding. hotel is good rooms are modern and clean . beds are good. Rooms are big for dutch standards.
Cons :
Wifi on 8th floor central room sucks. if i were there for business that would be a big nono.
Breakfast is poor for 15euro.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holten, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The West Cord Hotel in Leeuwrden is very nes and well equiped.Rooms are great with nice bathroom and seperated toilet.Everything was clean and did it perfect. Free parking on a distance of 200m from the hotel. Not so far located from the center of the city, walking 10 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden

Address: Heliconweg 52, 8914 AT Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Leeuwarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.