We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden to your Saves list
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heliconweg 52, 8914 AT Leeuwarden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Den Haag
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stay here on business every week for the last 10 months and am still not bored of it. I must admit that this is the cosiest place I have found in Leeuwarden. Its a super clean hotel with free wi-fi. I personally feel its even better than Hotel Post Plaza, but thats me.
I have nothing to complain about this place, and I havent got bored going back here every week for last 10 months.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
29
1
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

stayed at the Westcord on October 18th for one night. Now don't get me wrong, the hotel is very newly looking and the rooms are modern and very clean, but I wont stay here again.
The hotel is located outside the city center and next to the WTC building. The hotel is mostly catered towards bussiness people and not for the average tourist. Yes the room has coffee and tea facilities, but I have encountered better. The room is clean and quite large, but very sterile. No decorations.
Inside the hotel is a fitness center and sauna, but that comes with a price.
Breakfast ( €15 ) was good, but not worth writing home about. However breakfast is served on the top floor and you do get a great view.
Next to the hotel is the Holland Casino. So if you are looking for a modern hotel, in a quiet place and fancy to gamble then stay here.
If you want to be closer to the city center the go somewhere else.

Room Tip: First 5 floors are catered towards bussiness people => conference rooms and such. Rooms are loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Good

- spacious room
- corner room, so lots of windows
- fast check-in and check-out
- friendly personell
- free wifi (although I didn't use it)
- easy access to the WTC via a separate entrance
- City centre is 2 km walk away. Easy walk.

Bad

- you have to pay for the (minimalistic) fitness room. 7.50 EUR per usage.
- No queen/king size beds available, all rooms have two singles you have to push together yourself.
- Rain shower was more a dripping shower; cleaning the showerhead helped. Would expect that regular cleaning would prevent this.
- Removing the key (used for providing power) immediately shuts down all lights. At night, a couple of minutes delay would be nice.
- On the top floor is a bar which is rented out for parties. During our stay there was a wedding, which made a lot of noise until 2 am. We were several floors down, but still had a hard time sleeping until the music stopped.

To know:

- Available parking is at B2 ; although I didn't use it myself, the reception will probably validate your ticket. Might be worth checking before arrival.
- Not every conference in the WTC allows you to enter via the direct entrance. Sometimes they will only allow vendors through (since they are sleeping in the hotel as well). Ask the staff for assistance, they will help you get in instead of walking to the other side of the WTC venue.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

The room was spacious with tea and coffee facility, unfortunately having drunk the tea and the coffee the first night it was not re-supplied for the following 3 days of our stay nor was the shower gel. The rooms are very dark, could not see to apply makeup, could not find my black shoes on the floor, had to wait for daylight and try to draw the curtains - I say try to draw the curtains as they were built for giants, I could not reach the curtain pull, nor indeed the towels in the bathroom without standing in the bath. On the Saturday night there was loud live music above our heads until gone midnight, we were on the 10th floor, we were not warned about this, and the hotel was not full we could have been put on a different floor I suggest you check carefully if allocated a room on this floor. . The breakfast was buffet style, but what should have been the hot selection was cold and greasy every morning. The double beds are not double beds, but two singles pushed together with separate bedding. dangerous glass and slippy tiles in the bathroom. Internet connection slow and intermittent

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

3 days in The WTC-Westcord hotel in the capitol of Friesland.

The hotel is located outside the citycentre,, but you can reach the center in almost 15 minutes. So that's not a problem.
Parking is a litlle difficult on arrival, cause you can''t find out were to put the car: On the Holland Casino parking or elsewere???. You need to park the car on B2.
When we arrived there was no staff at the reception, that's a little unpleasant,, specially when you want to know if you parked well.
But the receptionist did it by heart.
Room on the 8th floor:
Stunning: Brand-new!!! Nice bathroom, no bath, but we knew it when we booked this room. There are with a bath! We had the so called: rain- shower. Well kept bathroom, enough ameneties.
Good bed, big and comfortable.
the design of the room is contemporary, and that's something I like. Even a labtop-safe.
Coffee, and tea making facilities, and a flatscreen t.v. It was a comfortable room.

Breakfast: What shall we say: it looked a little the cantine of the hotel. There is not a great atmosphere. People running in-and out. Buffet-style.Short staffed. 2 ladies had to do the job.
Ok there was plenty of food, but for me it was: so so....Not a place to have an outstandig breakfast. On the 11th floor, with, when your lucky, a great view.

We had dinner in the Globe restaurant: Unfortunatly there were only 6 guests. Very quiet.
Food: great, and service done by the heart.

There was free-internet access in the lobby of the Trade center.

In short: very pleasant hotel to stay for a weekend in the country....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Clean place, new, good design, bed was very comftable!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

I booked this hotel, because it was the newest one in Leeuwarden. When i entered the hotel, i saw that it was a good choice.

Everything is brandnew, people are friendly, lots of space for my stuff in the room.
I booked a room including the breakfast, and it was served on floor 11; a beautiful view over Leeuwarden and Friesland.

Iff you have to go to Leeuwarden for business, I recommend you this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden

Address: Heliconweg 52, 8914 AT Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden is a four-star hotel located on the edge of the city centre of Leeuwarden. The Hotel is directly connected to WTC Expo and is located next to the Holland Casino. The hotel offers free parking to all guests. All 143 comfortable, spacious and modern hotel rooms include free wireless internet, airconditioning, tv, minibar, coffee and tea facilities, seperate toilet and a safe. Against a small extra charge guests can relax in the wellness center and solarium of the hotel. It is also possible to work out in the fitness area. Wine and dine in the sky in Restaurant Eleve and enjoy the panoramic view. Get surprised by the original, creative cuisine and contemporary but cozy atmosphere. Restaurant Eleve is awarded with 1 Michelin star. Also located on the 11th floor of the hotel is brasserie le brass and the Skybar, where we have a more accessible menu. The city centre of Leeuwarden is only a 15 minute walk from the WTC Hotel Leeuwarden, with hundreds of monuments, beautiful museums and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.