We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Post Plaza

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Post Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Post Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tweebaksmarkt 25-27, Leeuwarden 8911 KW, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Leeuwarden
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Room with great space and very well decorated.. Good views in the windows also..
The restaurant has great cuisine and wines, as well as very interesting breakfeast.
Gym and spa also available.
All the staff was very nice and helpful.. Really great place to have a good relaxed time...

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
36
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Hotel Post Plaza for a couple of nights. The hotel is located right in the center, walking distance to everything, shops, restaurants, parks etc.
Rooms are nice, modern, clean and spacious.
Didnt book the breakfast as 15euro per person seems a bit hefty.
Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at this property and it was lovely both times. It's clean and comfortable along with being quaint and close to the center of everything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who stays on this wonderful city

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The owner was so friendly and the hotel so cosy that I wish I could give the place five stars. However, in comparison to the two hotels I stayed at in Amsterdam I can not. This is likely the best place to stay in the north of Holland. It is attractive and in a good neighborhood. It makes a great base to explore the north of Holland. We parked our car in front of the hotel in metered parking.

We arrived and received three rooms for our family. My father was given a room that stunk of cigarette smoke (a problem all over the country). The owner understood that this was not acceptable so he gave my father another room. This room was facing a large construction site that was quite noisy. Luckily, we did not spend a lot of time in the hotel that day and the the following day was a weekend and there was no construction. The other two rooms we had faced the attractive courtyard. Here is the issue with that. There is no air conditioning in the room so you would like to have your windows open. In the afternoon I could not open the window since people were smoking in the courtyard. In the evening there is fairly loud music from the courtyard area so I didn't open them too long. Also the screens do not fully cover the window.

The room itself was fine. The bathroom too was fine. They lacked a soap dish which was odd. They also skimped a bit on products providing the minimum for two people. The breakfast area was lovely and we had included breakfast buffets that were typically Dutch. The most wonderful part was the large orange juicer that provided huge amounts of fresh orange juice. That was a five star experience. There is nothing like fresh juice in the morning.

One night we had drinks in the hotel. The owner himself served us and gave us delicious cookies with the coffee and tea. The following night we had dinner at the hotel in their elegant dining area. The meal was not memorable. There was an issue of overcooking duck. The atmosphere was nice.

My biggest problem with the hotel was the noise. I was bothered by the music outside at night, by the elevator noise near my room and mostly by the impossible banging around by the upstairs neighbors. I can't imagine what they were doing but they were doing it very loudly till the early hours of the morning. That would be the only reason I am not likely to return. Otherwise the friendliness of the staff is my biggest impression of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The actual rooms seemed a bit outdated, but still nice, clean and comfortable, the showers were really nice with an overhead rain shower, with lots of water pressure and hot water (we didn't find this I other parts of Friesland).

We had an included dinner at the hotel, it was very unusual food for us, including chicory mousse, and apparently smoked pigeon. It was a bit fancy for my children, but it was a beautiful dining room, with nice service. It took about three hours for the three courses to be served, which seemed a bit drawn out, but still everything was very nice, with good service.

Breakfast was also nice, with some nice extras like homemade jam.

The staff was very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Absolutely recommendable hotel in the centre of the city. Very good sauna downstairs, free towels and bathrobes present. (Really hot, 93 degrees!). The hotel is rather new and kept exceptionally clean. Even vegetarians can have a great diner in the restaurant. We loved it and will surely return one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with streetview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Liked the location of this hotel whichis close to central station and iis close to the most restaurant. Staffs were very friendly and attentive welcoming. It was my first time in this property and purely follwed tripadvisor.com reviews before walking in which proved me right. I will definately recommend this place for all travellers to this city

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Post Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Post Plaza

Address: Tweebaksmarkt 25-27, Leeuwarden 8911 KW, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Leeuwarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Post Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Post-Plaza is een kleinschalig Fries **** hotel, gelegen in de prachtige historische binnenstad van Leeuwarden. Door de servicegerichtheid van ons jonge, ambitieuze team, zult u zich hier snel thuis voelen. Persoonlijke aandacht, een ambachtelijke keuken, en een goede prijs-kwaliteitverhouding zorgt ervoor dat onze gasten ons als hoogste waarderen en daar doen wij het voor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Post Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Post Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.