We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Par for the Course” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre

Save Saved
You added Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agoraweg 11, 8224 BZ Lelystad, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lelystad
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Par for the Course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Disclaimer: I was leading a student tour of Europe, so my reveiw is based on the types of hotels we frequent with 28 middle and high school students, chaperones, and family members.

If you are looking for a hotel to use as a base for Amsterdam, this isn't it. We spent at least an hour driving into and out of the city. The convenience of location was not optimal. There was a grocery store just outside the door of the hotel, but the hours of operation were sketchy. For the most part, it was closed.

The hotel was relatively new and modern. The lobby is large which made handing out keys to our group convenient and easy. The hotel claims there were computers on the 1st floor (European), but I never found them. The same 1st floor had a lovely bar and breakfast room. The breakfast was excellent. They offered both hot and cold options, cereal, breads, meats, eggs, etc. We were sequestered into a different room on the first day (common for large groups with teens), but the food was the same, and on the second morning, they let us eat with the "real" guests.

The service was solid. The bar was willing to provide me with ice in my ziplock bag to bring down the swelling in my ankles. Due to old ankle sprains, I get horrible cankles when I fly long distances, so I need ice to bring down the swelling. The bartender was very accomodating both nights. I never expect European hotels to have ice machines, so I am at their mercy. In my reviews, I always comment on the availablity of ice. However, in Europe, my expectations are much different than in an American hotel. I was thrilled that the bar was so generous with their ice. My ankles were very grateful. I spent my evenings in my room propping my feet up on pillows covered in bags of ice while I watched the World Cup. Not too bad.

The rooms were large enough, but the lack of air-conditioning was a problem. It wasn't so hot with the window open, but my room was just above the vents, so the smell of hot dog water washed over me when I opened the door to the Juliet balcony. The room smell was bad enough before opening the window, but it only got worse. I had to choose between hot, stuffy room with musty smell, or slightly cooler room with a breeze of old hot-dog scent. Also, the door had no screen on it, so any random flying insect could visit my room all night.

Due to leaving the balcony door open all night, I got to hear the sound of screaming people on the street at random times in the night. This was not the best way to recover from jet lag. At first, I thought they were my students, but then I checked on them and eliminated them from blame. Just some drunk twenty-somethings making noise. Arg.

The bathroom was clean and functional. The tub is a bit too high off the ground and doesn't really have a flat surface, so you have to balance a bit while showering. Also, the mirror is right across from the shower and the shower door is clear, so you will have a lovely view of your dough-y naked self in the shower. After flying for 13 hours, this was not pretty. Also, the bathroom has no outlet but for the hairdryer/shaver appliance. The only outlet in the room is on the desk by the television. If you're sharing, you want to bring an extension cord with additional outlets. I wish hotels would take outlet location into consideration when designing their rooms. Rooms need outlets near the bed for plugging in your phone to use as an alarm clock, then other outlets for cameras, tablets, hot-rollers, etc. The outlet was serviceable, but with no mirror nearby, I had to unplug my rollers after heating them and bring them into the bathroom to use. It seems trivial, but when traveling on a schedule, you want the mornings to run as quickly and smoothly as possible.

In the end, the hotel was okay. For a student tour hotel, it was fantastic, but for random travelers visiting Amsterdam, you might want to find a place that's a bit closer to the city. I hear Lelystad is an attraction on its own, but it looked like a non-descript suburb of Amsterdam, and I never found out why anyone would visit this town other than to stay somewhat close to Amsterdam in a group travel situation.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not over the kitchen. The smell is horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron H, Staff Apollo Hotel Lelystad at Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
You give us the opportunity to improve our weak points
We take this opportunity with both hands and will ensure that this improved in the future. Lelystad certainly has special attractions such as Batavia Outlet Shopping Centre, Bataviawerf Aviodrome, please visit also our famous nature Oostvaardersplassen. There is still more to do in Flevoland, when you staying in our Hotel ask our receptionists for the possibilities.
We hope to welcome you might as individual guest or with a group again in the future
Warmest regards.
Staff Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
7
12
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Really great, friendly old school service. Quite unique like this these days!

Although the hotel was fully booked when I walked in, reception helped me to book in Apollo Almere City which is just 24 km's away. Perfect!

Thank you Apollo Lelystad! :-)

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Let down badly by another hotel denying any knowledge of our booking (although we did have our confirmation with us) we booked into the Apollo. Not a pretty hotel from the outside we were pleasantly surprised by the interior. At reception we were given upgraded accommodation when they were told of our trouble at the other hotel. The Apollo was not even in the same chain of hotels, so no need to do this.
The suite was spacious with a balcony with a view over the square. Breakfast was great with choices to suit every taste.
The only downside was no facilities for tea making although there was a coffee machine and pods for the coffee lovers.
The staff were friendly and efficient. Would I go back again? Definitely.

Room Tip: Take your own tea bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands + USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

An excellent hotel with friendly staff and of particular note was a very great breakfast menu. The scrambled eggs and bacon were specifically noteworthy. However, several more varieties of yogurt would have been a nice addition. Our only minor complaint was the cleanliness of the room such as stains on the curtains. The service desk informed us that they are aware of this issue but all of the rooms are scheduled for renovation and would be repaired at that time. I would also like to make note that the bathtub/shower is very slippery and anti-slip features would be a good addition but if the room is scheduled for renovation perhaps that would be a good inclusion. I'd also like to see a water kettle in the room with tea and coffee. We hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaron h, Guest Relations Manager at Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Google Translation
Geachte Robert3892,

Hartelijk dank voor het uw review op Tripadvisor. Ik ben erg blij om te lezen dat uw verblijf goed is bevallen!

Ik hoop dat wij u in de toekomst wederom te mogen verwelkomen als onze gast!
Met vriendelijke groet, Aaron Hensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Boy this hotel is in need of a serious modernization. Just walking in, the carpet is very worn, all the trim has dirt and grime around it. In the bathroom there is mold in all the grout and stains everywhere. The bed is on a pallet about 6 inches off the ground. At least the room was good. The people working there were very nice though and the breakfast was good enough. The location is good, it's in the middle of a shopping mall. There is an Chinese buffet restaurant in the hotel that I would encourage you to eat at, it was very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here two nights in November. Room ok but no plug in sink in the bathroom so had to plug it with toilet roll. Also no tea or coffee making facilities. We had been warned so took our own travel kettle. Other than these faults our stay was fine. It is within walking distance of the train station and right next to all the shops. Staff friendly and breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a coffee maker if you want a hot drink in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hotel close to the main station, friendly staff, good breakfast, restaurant open until 10pm but possibilities to have tapas until midnight. Simple rooms (decoration could be better) but quiet. Bathtube in the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre

Address: Agoraweg 11, 8224 BZ Lelystad, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Flevoland Province > Lelystad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lelystad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre is situated in the city centre of Lelystad. The 4-star hotel is easily accessed from Amsterdam, Almere and Utrecht. Lelystad lies in the heart of the former Zuiderzee district, has the longest coastline in the Netherlands and is nestled in the middle of many historical cities around the expansive IJsselmeer area. From here, you can easily visit the Walibi fun park, the Dolfinarium, the Aviodrome and Bataviastad. Boat enthusiasts can truly indulge themselves in the Bataviawerf and take to the water on the Oostvaardersplassen. Lelystad also encompasses several museums, including the Nationaal Ruimtevaart Museum (space travel museum) and the Aviodrome Luchtvaart Museum (air travel museum). It is also possible to see the replica of the VOC ship "de Batavia" for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Lelystad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.