We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by its cover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre to your Saves list
Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agoraweg 11, 8224 BZ Lelystad, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lelystad
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Let down badly by another hotel denying any knowledge of our booking (although we did have our confirmation with us) we booked into the Apollo. Not a pretty hotel from the outside we were pleasantly surprised by the interior. At reception we were given upgraded accommodation when they were told of our trouble at the other hotel. The Apollo was not even in the same chain of hotels, so no need to do this.
The suite was spacious with a balcony with a view over the square. Breakfast was great with choices to suit every taste.
The only downside was no facilities for tea making although there was a coffee machine and pods for the coffee lovers.
The staff were friendly and efficient. Would I go back again? Definitely.

Room Tip: Take your own tea bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
8
16
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands + USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

An excellent hotel with friendly staff and of particular note was a very great breakfast menu. The scrambled eggs and bacon were specifically noteworthy. However, several more varieties of yogurt would have been a nice addition. Our only minor complaint was the cleanliness of the room such as stains on the curtains. The service desk informed us that they are aware of this issue but all of the rooms are scheduled for renovation and would be repaired at that time. I would also like to make note that the bathtub/shower is very slippery and anti-slip features would be a good addition but if the room is scheduled for renovation perhaps that would be a good inclusion. I'd also like to see a water kettle in the room with tea and coffee. We hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaron h, Guest Relations Manager at Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Google Translation
Geachte Robert3892,

Hartelijk dank voor het uw review op Tripadvisor. Ik ben erg blij om te lezen dat uw verblijf goed is bevallen!

Ik hoop dat wij u in de toekomst wederom te mogen verwelkomen als onze gast!
Met vriendelijke groet, Aaron Hensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Boy this hotel is in need of a serious modernization. Just walking in, the carpet is very worn, all the trim has dirt and grime around it. In the bathroom there is mold in all the grout and stains everywhere. The bed is on a pallet about 6 inches off the ground. At least the room was good. The people working there were very nice though and the breakfast was good enough. The location is good, it's in the middle of a shopping mall. There is an Chinese buffet restaurant in the hotel that I would encourage you to eat at, it was very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here two nights in November. Room ok but no plug in sink in the bathroom so had to plug it with toilet roll. Also no tea or coffee making facilities. We had been warned so took our own travel kettle. Other than these faults our stay was fine. It is within walking distance of the train station and right next to all the shops. Staff friendly and breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a coffee maker if you want a hot drink in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hotel close to the main station, friendly staff, good breakfast, restaurant open until 10pm but possibilities to have tapas until midnight. Simple rooms (decoration could be better) but quiet. Bathtube in the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here in the summer for a few days. The room was quite hot, with no air conditioning. Modern flat screen TV, good quality internet and breakfast, and a comfortable bed. However, everything looked slightly outdated. The staff was very friendly. Unfortunately there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room (or at least I did not find them). The hotel served my purpose (business trip) very well and I would return here if on business, but I would not book this for a holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

To call this Hotel 4 Star is a joke. It is the only hotel in the world I have stayed in where there was no tea and Coffee facilities in the Room. The room was badly lit .Although the bed was comfortable I booked a double and got two single beds shoved up together. The bathroom was OK and the Shower worked fine. The meal service was non existant. Dinner was a help yourself buffet style and the food was just about OK .

Room Tip: Apparently there is Tea and Coffe available in your room if you book a Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre

Address: Agoraweg 11, 8224 BZ Lelystad, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Flevoland Province > Lelystad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lelystad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre is situated in the city centre of Lelystad. The 4-star hotel is easily accessed from Amsterdam, Almere and Utrecht. Lelystad lies in the heart of the former Zuiderzee district, has the longest coastline in the Netherlands and is nestled in the middle of many historical cities around the expansive IJsselmeer area. From here, you can easily visit the Walibi fun park, the Dolfinarium, the Aviodrome and Bataviastad. Boat enthusiasts can truly indulge themselves in the Bataviawerf and take to the water on the Oostvaardersplassen. Lelystad also encompasses several museums, including the Nationaal Ruimtevaart Museum (space travel museum) and the Aviodrome Luchtvaart Museum (air travel museum). It is also possible to see the replica of the VOC ship "de Batavia" for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Lelystad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.