We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“75 Euros for room and breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Emmen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Emmen to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Emmen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Schaikweg 55, 7811 HN Emmen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Emmen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“75 Euros for room and breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Clean quiet, rooms. Walking to hotel from train station (20min) is easy, but at the end of road not easy to find it. Do not give up, you are close :) Food not a great, but comparing with other restaurants in area very good. It is close to center of town. Internet is free, but slow (125kb/s), complicated to login (ask for code at reception) and fast internet you have to pay. Staff is great and supportive. All-in-all use Hampshire Emmen if you have to, a bit too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk-Jan D, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Emmen, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel. We are sorry that we have not been able to fulfil your wishes. We are busy with the transition of our hotel name from Eden to Hampshire. However, we try to deliver the best possible products and services, although this is quite difficult when changing businesses. We would like to hear what you missed in our food concept. We apologize for the slow internet.

During your next visit we would like to offer you a three-course meal in our restaurant.

Kind regards,

Dirk-Jan Doek / +31 (0)6 23 428 991 / d.doek@hampshire-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    45
    26
    13
    1
See reviews for
13
44
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The rooms in the hotel are quite all right, big and clean. Good service in the reception.
And the restaurant was suprisingly good, exellent food and service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

A perfect and reasonable priced hotel near the centre of Emmen and close to the zoo. Nice, clean room and very friendly and helpful staff. They offer free wifi, great when I needed it! I also loved the generous, delicious breakfast buffet.

When you visit Emmen, I recommend this hotel for business travelers as well as tourists!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

A box, like so many others, but missing the amenities that all of the other boxes seem to offer.
- I booked the room via a web-site and before I checked out I got to see a grand total of all charges. Itemized. Room costs. Tourist taxes. Grand total. Imagine my surprise when the amount charged my credit card did not match the amount I had agreed to when I booked the room.
- free WIFI. yes it was there but at such low speeds (128 kpbs) I thought that I had fallen into a time warp. It took 10 minutes for a web-site to load. Checking email was impossible. There was an upgrade offer but it was costly.
- TV was good quality, but impossible to use. Remote didn't work so I asked the front desk for a new one, but they sent someone to fix the settings, claiming that hotel guests change the settings making it impossible to use the remote. TV worked fine for 10 minutes, then suddenly stopped working again. Basic aggravation.
- Rooms were smoke-free but they should have done something about the smell of cheap liquor. Halls smelled like old beer. Since I don;t smoke or drink, this was a definite turn-off.
- I checked out the breakfast they offered. Very little choice. Lots of fatty stuff like bacon, ham and very expensive. (not included in the room) I went across the street to an arches restaurant and had breakfast for a third of the price.
- every other box I've ever stayed in offered a cup of coffee or tea in the room which you could make upon arising. No such amenities here. I'm sure that the hotel wants you to go to the breakfast buffet, but I do like to sit in my pajamas enjoying my first cup before I have to face the world.

Once you feel you've been screwed, it just doesn't go away and all the small things just get bigger and bigger. This list could go on and on. I had many colleagues who stayed on other hotels in the area so the next time I'm in Emmen I'll rely on their advice.

Room Tip: do more research on internet before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Emmen hotels

Fraser Valley, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

When visiting family in Holland, I stay at this hotel every year. It is located at the edge of the downtown core in Emmen, which makes it a perfect 5 minute walk to the shopping centres and restaurants. The rooms have been renovated and are always clean, the rates are reasonable, the front desk staff are helpful and friendly. The breakffast is a very impressive buffet with assorted fresh baked goods, eggs, bacon, fresh fruit salads, yoghurts, cereals, cold cuts and cheeses, the Dutch coffee is of course great. The famous Emmen zoo is within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. This hotel seems to be a preferred choice for business travelers as well as tourists. Hotel offers banquet and business facilities. Highly recommended.
Tip to the hotel management: you will need to make more than 2 luggage trolleys available for the guests.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

A fairly decent hotel, within easy walking distance of the center of town. Rooms are a bit cramped but clean and cigarette smoke free but there's little ventilation which could be a problem during the summer heat. In room safe. Basic bath with shower and tub, hairdryer and liquid bath soap. There are some rooms that have A/C but need to be specifically requested. English language channels were available on th flat screen TV....but, the TV could not be turned off with the remote provided and it was necessary to get out of bed to turn it off . NO FREE WiFi. Breakfast buffet was fairly good, fresh fruit, various breads, jams, cold cuts, scrambled and hard boiled eggs but if you don't like the scrambled and hard boiled eggs and want fried,or some sort of ham with scrambled eggs you're out of luck, no special requests. Evening restaurant food was pretty good, except the bread (bun), which was supposedly home made but very very hard. Wait staff was friendly and efficient. The hotel does have some 'themed' suites which are a bit larger than the standard rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with A/C on the 3rd floor in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred, South Africa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Stayed here with a group of colleagues. Was not very impressed by the room which is basic, somewhat outdated with cheap finishings. Another disappointment was the unavailability of free WIFE - the reception sells scratch cards that give you the general hassle of spending too much time to even bother. The one (...) PC in the lobby is for free though.

Service at the front office was OK but definitely not warm and this experience was repeated during breakfast. The bar staff did get it though and was friendly and attentive.

On a more positive note, the hotel is clean and the breakfast buffet and setting was lovely. An OK place for an overnight in Emmen, just don't expect too much...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Emmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Emmen

Address: Van Schaikweg 55, 7811 HN Emmen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Drenthe Province > Emmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Emmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Emmen 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel Emmen is a four star hotel located in Emmen (Drenthe), The Netherlands. The hotel has 83 hotel rooms, 2 large event rooms (which can facilitate up to 2500 people), 11 meeting rooms, broad sport facilities containing five tennis courts, three squash courts and various fitness facilities. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi, free parking spaces, a bar, restaurant, roomservice, a terrace, laundry service and it is located near the city centre. Certified with the Silver Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Emmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Emmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.