We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, perfect, perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longnor Wood Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longnor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
Save
You added Longnor Wood Holiday Park to your Saves list
Longnor, Peak District National Park SK17 0NG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bank Holiday Deal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect, perfect, perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We arrived at Longnor Wood for a 4 night break. From the moment of our arrival until our departure, we enjoyed a wonderful and relaxing break in this quiet and secluded location. It is obvious from the start the owners want their guests to have a relaxing time during their break away. The accommodation was first-class; the standard and quality is well above that of other rentals we have stayed in previously. The site is adult only and very quiet, not a sound was heard during our stay. Overall, we were extremely impressed with the lodge and surrounding area, and will most definitely be returning. The hot tub was the best feature, very romantic.

Room Tip: All lodges are quiet, some more secluded than others, like Fir and Geranium
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    11
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
82
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent a week in one of the static caravans, which was very clean and better equipped than most rental caravans.
We were greeted warmly on arrival, were accompanied to the caravan and shown where everything was, how the TV worked etc.
This adults-only site appears to be very well run and maintained and was wonderfully quiet during our stay.
The site is well away from the nearest road so there's no traffic noise, although you will hear some aircraft making their way, presumably, to Manchester airport (as we live on the Heathrow flightpath, this didn't bother us!).
The location is superb for exploring the beautiful Peak District, with the towns of Buxton & Bakewell, for supermarkets, restaurants etc., close by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

A lovely location and very nice lodges. Just a shame it felt like a military camp ! A very long inventory of property, including the plastic coat hangers all , 26 of them . The list of costs for any breakage , £5.00 for one glass, it made you feel nervous reading it and not wanting to use any of the items and then it took some time to read the long list of house rules .
Lights and hot tub off at 10.00 pm !!
if this is how you like a hoilday site to be run ,well it is a lovely location and very nice lodges ,but
Do think the Sargent Mayor could do with a rest and take some anger managerment courses.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed one week, and enjoyed it. Good location: near plenty of attractions - but remote. Surrounded by beautiful country side and wildlife (lots of bunnies!)

Of course you get what you pay for so the static caravas are more basic than the lodges, still had everything we needed. Can get cold at night, weather was poor when we stayed. (we packed warm night clothes and were fine.)

All in: had a relaxing and comfortable week here (I felt it was good value for the money we paid).

Room Tip: We had the dog friendly caravan. "static 2" It was clean with no dog odour and was a good...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Went for a long weekend (Friday-Monday) with my partner. It took us a while to find the location as the postcode takes you to the other side of the hill to the Holiday park so bare that in mind when travelling.
Soon as we arrived it was remote, quiet and beautiful. The lady showed us to our log cabin and gave us a card which only allowed users of the holiday park into the site so stray away we felt safe and assured of where we were.
The log cabin itself was called fir lodge and it was new for 2012, it was imaculate. Not one bit of dit, beds made and everything that you would need. One very slight issue we had is that the lodge didnt have towels which we sorted by travelling to local Buxton and purchasing a few.
The weather was brilliant but wind, rain or snow the cabin would still be amazing. the hot tub was a lovely addition to the cabin and we found ourselves in there very often.
There was free crazy golf and other games you could play on site.
Overall we would stronlgy recommend Longnor for it's peace and just getting away from it all. There was no traffic for miles and the hills just kept rolling around us.

Room Tip: take towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Returned yesterday from a very relaxing three night break in Fir Lodge.
Having put the postcode given on the website into the satnav we took what can only be described as the scenic route. We soon asked for directions and were pointed in the right direction. However... I would recommend just searching for longnor and following signs from there.
Upon arrival staff were friendly and helpful and quickly showed us around the modern lodge.
The lodge was well equiped stylish and spacious. The hottub was a fantastic addition.
The only time we ventured out was too purchase a towel which was about the only thing not supplied. This trip allowed us to visit the beautiful village of Longnor.
I would highly reccomend Longnor wood to couples looking for a peaceful getaway.
Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Have just returned from a midweek break at Longnor wood.Its not often you can say an accomodation is 10 out of 10 but this is!! we stayed in Hawthorne lodge, it was spacious but cosy warm at the same time. The spec and attention to detail was extremely high, with everything you could want from flat screen tv and dvd player to non slip bath mats should you need them. The icing on the cake was the hot tub, glorious after a days walking and sightseeing in this beautiful area. Another bonus was plenty of traditional pubs in the area offering home cooked meals. If you are looking for somewhere to completely unwind and escape for a few days longnors the place.

Room Tip: choose a lodge with a hot tub, you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longnor Wood Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longnor Wood Holiday Park

Address: Longnor, Peak District National Park SK17 0NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Longnor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Longnor
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longnor Wood Holiday Park is a small select park "just for adults" (over 18s only). Peace, tranquility and a very warm welcome await all our visitors. We are located in the heart of the Peak District National Park, an area of outstanding natural beauty, with unspoilt, dramatic rolling countryside and charming villages. We enjoy a quiet, secluded position, hidden from any road. Surrounded by woodland and farmland, Longnor Wood Holiday Park provides the perfect base for exploring the unique and beautiful Peak District. The picturesque village of Longnor, where Peak Practice was filmed, is approximately 1 1/4 miles away, offering a selection of public houses, plus a craft centre, a general store, post office and chip shop. The cobbled square is the starting point for many lovely walks. We rent 2 bed lodges with hot tubs, 1 bed lodges with hot tubs. We also have a pet friendly mini lodge to rent. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longnor Wood Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.