We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick drink” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn

Save Saved
You added Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn to your Saves list
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   High Street | Longnor, Longnor, Peak District National Park SK17 0NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Longnor B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A quick drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stopped off for a quick pint before meeting up with friends to go for a walk around Longnor.
Service was not the fastest as there only seemed to be one person on duty.
I didn't eat but looking around the food seemed to be very nice.
I had an excellent pint of Unicorn bitter.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited longnor for a Royal Marines memorial service . We we rebooked in for the Sunday lunch carvery !! What an excellent meal!! Good value for money and a hearty portion !! This is a hidden gem in the Derbyshire countryside!! Well worth a visit!!

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This b&b is under new managements so the previous bad reviews can be
Ignored . We stayed here after our first day of a walking holiday. We were made very welcome both us and our dog, with a bowl of water to clean her. The room in a converted barn opposite the pub was excellent with everything we needed, plenty room huge wet room and comfortable bed. We ate in the pub in the evening which I can thoroughly recommend excellent food great beer and friendly bar staff. Our breakfast in the pub the next day was also excellent. I can say this b&b is a must stay if you are visiting/walking in this area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We wanted a quiet break, spent two nights here and can't fault it; It's quiet, comfortable, clean, lovely food and a friendly welcome from the owner. Great location for walking, or if you're lazy like us, an easy drive from Dovedale & Tissington. Great beer as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Spent a great bank holiday weekend here recently. The family running it, who took over last year, were extremely welcoming and helpful. The accommodation was across the road from the inn, so we weren't bothered by any noise. The bed was very comfortable and the shower had impressive pressure. We ate here both nights. The food was lovely pub food, well-cooked and huge portions. There's a good selection of real ales too. We had the full english for breakfast on the Sunday and managed a ten mile walk round the Bakewell and Chatsworth area without any thought of stopping for lunch. The countryside round about here is truly beautiful and we hope it's not too long before we return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The pub is located in a delightful village in the southern Peak District. Clean, modern rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Food was good English pub style food. Highly recommend this pub/hotel, great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful olde English pub. Village of Longnor is a time warp. Hospitality in this place is second to none, food good, locals even better. At £75.00 a night inc. breakfast is a steal. Highly recommended, rooms are excellent

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn

Address: High Street | Longnor, Longnor, Peak District National Park SK17 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Longnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Longnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated barn to a very high standard. Three en-suite double/twin rooms, one double/twin en-suite disabled room. Ideal base for exploring the Peak National Park, and many local attractions - Alton Towers 20mins, Chatsworth House 20mins, Haddon Hall 20 mins. Family run traditional village inn with well-stocked bar offering real ales, lagers and beers, good wine and fine food freshly prepared on the premises.crisps etc and chocolate, pool table dartboard dominoes cards something for everyone. The Inn is full of interesting old knick knacks, old photos of local scenes and local people. Large car park, beer garden, open fires for a very warm welcome. Food served all day every day; Sunday lunches served all day Sunday with a choice of two meats.All our pies etc are homemade. Dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Hotel Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.