We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word ..."Fantastic"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bull I' Th' Thorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bull I' Th' Thorn to your Saves list
Bull I' Th' Thorn
Ashbourne Rd, Hurdlow, Peak District National Park SK17 9QQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hurdlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One word ..."Fantastic"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We booked this place for a night after we had planned to go out walking for the day, upon getting to the hotel in the evening feeling really tired and cold, we were pleasantly surprised to see a real log fire burning in the main room, which was full of many interesting and quaint items.
Upon reaching our bedroom, again we were pleasantly surprised, it was not a huge room, but was more than adequate, with one of the most lush comfortable beds i have slept in, there was an excellently tiled on suite bathroom.
After a quick shower we went back down stairs to have some drinks and an evening meal, we took a seat near the fire and relaxed as we looked at the fine menu, we chose a home made pie and chips that was very nice and filling...we spent rest of the evening drinking alongside the log burning fire, the evening was made more romantic for myself and my partner when the lights were turned down and the room was lit by candles......ah what an experience.!!
The next morning we sat down to eat a hearty breakfast, full English with toast and Tea, just what the doctor ordered.!!
In summary i would say, we had a great time, it was all very olde worlde, with a fantastic atmosphere, Mick the owner was an exceptional host, he could not do enough for you, i would highly recommend and will definitely be going back

Room Tip: Get a chair by the fire and keep the drinks flowing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    37
    5
    6
    8
See reviews for
9
75
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

What an amazing place to stay, absolutely jam packed full of interesting local historical artefacts. Mick and his staff and the two dogs made us most welcome. Food is first class, accommodation is first class and the hospitality second to none. Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a great overnight stay with Mick & his team & will be back as soon as is at all possible.
Mick was a great host & nothing was too much trouble for him. The food was great ,both in the evening & at breakfast . Rooms were clean & tidy.
Lovely atmospheric bar area with a real fire. Will definitely be going back here for more than a one night stay to see a little more of the surrounding area ,then back to sample some more delicious food & drink !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Mick and his staff really know how to make you welcome, from the moment you arrive to the farewell. If you like quiet, homely accommodation, here is the perfect place. Although on the main Buxton/Ashbourne Rd, your bedroom is cosy, clean & quiet. We stayed around Halloween so the myriad suits of armour, ancient artefacts were enhanced with ectoplasm & scary ghosts (there is also a permanent replica of a local highwayman's skeleton down the spooky corridor) quite a hoot!!! The thick walls, old listed furniture give you an idea of just how old the inn is, & you can read the history of it, plus a list of previous publicans in the 'Snug'.There's a medieval Big Hall, where banquets are held, it's such an interesting place, and above all, the bar's open 365 days a year, stocking some exciting ales, wines & spirits (liquid of course). The local beauty spots are close by, such as Matlock Bath, Bakewell, Castleton & Chapel en le Frith, besides the market towns, of Leek, Ashbourne & Buxton Spa town. We would love to see it at Christmas, well any time really, it's ideal for families, walkers, and comfort seeking escapees like us, well done Mick, thanks for your hospitality, hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are towards the back, quiet & with views of the moors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We booked the b&b through expedia for £75 a night a few weeks in advance, unfortunately the owner didn't get the confirmation but luckily a room was available and the owner made us feel welcome when we arrived unexpectedly.

We had the four poster bed room, which was lovely, the bed was made of beautifully carved wood and all the furniture in the room was exquisite, with a carved wooden wardrobe and a dressing table. The room was chilly, a halogen heater was provided to help with this and a small television was on the dresser (I've yet to see a smart phone bigger but perhaps @Jane_H has access to different technology).

The bathroom was also quite chilly and would benefit from more heat and there was a loud pumping system attached to the sink, but luckily I hadn't got gastroenteritis so didn't spend long in that particular room. But perhaps bathrooms are more important to other users like @jaqueline_w.

My boyfriend enjoyed the full English breakfast and they accommodated my vegan request well and despite having a busy breakfast service as the VW car club was visiting they even cooked my own sausages for me.

The bed was really comfy and the mattress great. The staff were really friendly, really accommodating and the location very good.

The view out the window wasn't directed at the countryside, but the inside of the venue more than made up for it, with a spectacular collection of interesting items including: a suit of armour, a cheese axe and a lit open fireplace in the breakfast area which was very quaint.

All and all we felt the bed and the breakfast were great and we would love to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We visited for two nights earlier this month on a KGB deal & I loved the place. Its so old, so full
of character & very different from your average hostelry. As previously stated it is in need of some tlc from the brewery, but having said that I was not disappointed. In the bedroom the decor & furniture need updating but the room was cosy, warm, clean & quiet - one of the best nights sleep I've had for a while! The whole building is full of interesting artefacts & different quirky little rooms but the bar is an absolute revelation - so full of all sorts of 'stuff', low beams, a wonderfully warm open fire in a really ancient fireplace and it was very busy on the nights we stayed. The food was excellent, there was a good choice at very reasonable prices & when it came it was piping hot, freshly cooked & loads of it. So much so, that we couldn't even manage a sweet between us even though it was paid for in the deal we were on. Mick & his staff couldn't have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them & I hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Spent three nights and really enjoyed the food and the company. Mike just cannot do too much for you - all you have to is ask! Bedrooms clean and comfortable even if a little jaded. Would recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind staying out in the country.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bull I' Th' Thorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull I' Th' Thorn

Address: Ashbourne Rd, Hurdlow, Peak District National Park SK17 9QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hurdlow
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hurdlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bull I' Th' Thorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bull I' Th' Thorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.