We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wont go hungry!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Hurdlow | Buxton, Hurdlow, Peak District National Park SK17 9QJ, England
01298 83288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Hurdlow
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Postcode: SK17 9QJ
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“wont go hungry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

we dined here twice during our 2 night stay nearby, the first night because it was the only pub we found that stayed open late on a Sunday (food served until 9pm), the second night because the food was so good!
The portions are HUGE! so bring an appetite, the menu is extensive and very reasonably priced - there is something for everyone. I had lamb shank the first night and fish pie the second, my partner had steak and guinea fowl, both meals were delicious, we attempted a pudding as well the second night and these were just as divine but soo stuffed afterwards!
Great choice of beers and wines to go with the meal and the staff were friendly and attentive, obvioulsy popular with locals as well as tourists which is always a good sign

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    258
    64
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great peak district pub/retaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went back here for Saturday lunch, booked in advance although there was room for people turning up on spec, just not the nicest table IMHO.
We were sat in the top bar near the fire= although sunny it was still chilly so the open fire was a bonus. Swift and attentive staff who knew the menu- and no fuss if you just wanted a sandwich rather than a main meal. Lots of specials, mainly meat based but everyone in our group had the choice of 2-3 dishes that they liked the sound of. Food was excellent - and plenty of it. No room for the delicious sounding puds- maybe a stater and a pud next time!
I was driving but my other half sampled the beers all pronounced well kept and good guest beer selection.
As Arnie would say - I'll be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Went for lunch today to this pub/restaurant. First time at this place. Bright and attentive waitress welcomed us and banked up the fire when she saw my partner was cold. I was surprised to see reserved tables... can it get that busy?... Yes, it does. By 1230 it was pretty much full.
There is a very extensive menu, perhaps too extensive?

I had the braised chorizo to start and it was dire. There is more to braising chorizo than showing it the frying pan, chef. That said, it was nicely dressed with apple and cider, but could have been a delicious dish if a little effort had gone into it.

The chicken combo was OK, zero out of 10 for the soggy chips and awful onion rings it came with, though. My partners lamb shank she reported as 'good'. We didn't manage desserts.

Overall average, possibly because the menu is overly ambitious, portions large and just about adequately cooked. The bill came to £40 (including 2 glasses of wine) so reasonable value. Would we go back? Maybe, but it wouldn't be first choice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Huge Portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went for a Saturday lunch to celebrate a birthday. We were made very welcome and the menu choices were explained to us and also the fact that the portions were big. We all had different meals and all were excellent. Home made chips - lovely. The local real ale was good. Fantastic location - great for the Tissington Trail if the weather had been better. Will definitely consider using their camping facilities in the summer. Intend to return soon for another family celebration.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, The Best Around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I have eaten here a number of times and we never leave disappointed. The food is fantastic, real home made food cooked and presented to a high standard, and is always served with a smile. The menu had plenty of choice and is prices right for the quality of food. The desserts are delicious I recommend the Lemon and Blueberry Roulade. It has to be one of our favourite places around for food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Crowdecote, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Monyash, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.