We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Away...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre

Save Saved
You added Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Stranorlar, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Stranorlar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Weekend Away...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

After searching online for hotels around Donegal... Kees Hotel stood out from the rest.

When we arrived, the hotel definitely lived up to our expectations. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, the food was delicious (I personally recommend the homemade chicken goujons), the room was very clean and spacious and the entertainment was enjoyable.

The hotel had some added touches with the warm open lit fire, live entertainment, character and the staff that go the extra mile in making you feel at home.

Donegal itself is also beautiful... If anyone is considering a few days away to Donegal, I would definitely recommend the Kees Hotel.

Christine.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad Kee's lived up to expectations, and very much look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    110
    24
    18
    14
See reviews for
97
201
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

What can I say, what a fantastic hotel. We had an excellent meal on Friday night on arrival in the restaurant followed by great entertainment in the bar with a live band and open fire whilst enjoying a drink with friends. A lovely breakfast setup us up for the day out around Donegal. We returned to the hotel and enjoyed another great meal in the restaurant on Saturday night also. The staff are very friendly and polite. The room was very spacious and had everything we needed for a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Kee's. All the team here take a great pride in the history and traditions of the hotel, and we enjoy meeting our guests, especially those returning year after year, who are so interested in al the changes and our plans for the future. Hope to welcome you to Kee's again in the near future. Kind Regards, Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

After a few hectic weeks at work my girlfriend decided to book ourselves and two close friends into Kees hotel for a weekend away.

We had heard great reviews from other family members and after great service we totally agree! From arrival on the Friday night(later than anticipated) the staff were super friendly and even accommodated a great meal before the chefs closed the kitchen! We had a few drinks in the bar, listening to a super one man band before retiring to a much needed comfy bedroom. The next morning we indulged in what I can safely say is one of the best breakfasts we have ever had!

A day in the west coast of Donegal was ended by staying in the hotel on Saturday evening, we had a few triples in the bar and were really well looked after by the friendly staff yet again.

Saturdays evening meal in the dining room was most enjoyable and the busy atmosphere was great.

Thanks to all of the staff who made it a great weekend to remember!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. It is great for us to hear that family members are urging the rest of the family to come to Kee's and I am so glad that your visit lived up to the 'high expectations'!! We see the same guests come back time after time, and their loyalty is much appreciated - really the backbone of our business. I have passed your thanks on to the team here, and we all look forward to welcoming you and the extended family to Kee's again in the near future. Kind Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Spent the weekend in kees for the third time. This time with 3 friends. The friendly, family run hotel maintains the highest standards in everything it does. Staff are highly professional, extremely friendly, polite and helpful. Kees has something for everyone regardless of age. We had a wonderful stay, enjoyed 2 superb breakfasts and exquisite evening meals. Live Music on Fri and sat in the bar makes for a warm and lively atmosphere. We also had a lovely relaxing Sunday afternoon in the leisure centre. Can't wait to return again soon. Thanks to Vicky, Paul and all the staff for looking after us so well :-) Maria x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. I am delighted that your three friends and yourself had such an enjoyable time at Kee's. I shall certainly pass on your compliments to Vicky and all the team. Hope to see you and the gang again very soon, Kind Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangor co.down
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was our first trip to Kees Hotel and it certainly won't be our last. At reception the booking in process for very friendly, quick and efficient.Room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. Could not fault the large buffet breakfast or evening meal. Every member of staff were very friendly. I would not hesitate to return here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you highly recommend the whole' Kee's Hotel Experience.' We look forward very much to your next visit. Kind Regards Paul (patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Just back from a lovely couple of days at this lovely hotel,the staff are so friendly and the food is fabulous, I have been going to the Kees now for fifteen years and have never been disappointed, a wonderful friendly and warming place to stay

Room Tip: If u don't like traffic noise ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. The team here at Kee's love to hear from people who come to stay year after year, watching the changes - we are so grateful for your continuing loyalty and support. We do work hard to create the warming, friendly and welcoming atmosphere our guests so appreciate. We look forward to your next visit// Kind Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundonald, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hotel is one off the oldest in the area off Donegal. It is very friendly staff very clean and tidy food is great and priced fairly the drinks are in a price bracket which is fair. Rooms are basic large and comfortable spotless and very clean free wifi for guests. A good all round choice

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you to Kee's in the near future. Kind Regards, Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre

Address: Main Street, Stranorlar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Stranorlar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Stranorlar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the twin towns of Stranorlar and Ballybofey, near the foothills of the Bluestack Mountains, you'll find Donegal's warmest welcome at Kee's Hotel, family run since 1892. The bedrooms are bright and comfortable, offering the high standards expected by any seasoned traveller. The restaurant offers the finest local seasonal specialties. Spend quality time in the gym, sauna, pool or beauty salon. Ideally located for hill-walking, golf and touring. Numerous awards from international tour operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kees Hotel And Leisure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.