We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kee's Hotel Ballybofey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre to your Saves list
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Stranorlar, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stranorlar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coleraine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kee's Hotel Ballybofey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I booked this hotel for 2 couples on a weekend break. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very welcoming. Our room was more than suitable and had everything that we needed. The food was really good and very tasty. The hotel was very relaxing and we really enjoyed our stay. We would definately go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing manager at kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your very favourable review. I am glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at Kee's, and look forward to your return. Kind regards, Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    140
    30
    22
    15
See reviews for
129
248
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent a lovely few days at this hotel We had comfortable rooms a very healthy breakfast and a tasty evening meal Staff we helpful and pleasant Found it quiet and relaxing -just what we needed The location was great and we enjoyed our shopping trip too

Room Tip: nice to have your own room if you are single and travelling with friends not that much more expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We came to Kee's Hotel with our two children, aged 8 and 6, and we all had a brilliant time. The kids really enjoyed using the pool. They were really excited about staying in a hotel. Every day they had a fresh tube of smarties in their bedroom and would rush upstairs to find it! The standard of the accommodation was superb and the food was very good - in particular the range of food on offer was outstanding. We hope very much to visit again soon!

Room Tip: our rooms were both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review, Thank your for posting your review. I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at kee''s. Sometimes a few smarties can make all the difference! We hope you will visit Ireland again (and kee's Hotel) in the not too distant future. Fond Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The ground floor of this hotel is warm and homely. The rest is a bit of a let down. The room was ok.but an upgraded room to have 2 single duvets covers as a double is wrong. The kettle could do with replacing also. Have a look inside the kettle in room 203, shocking is all I can say. Leisure centre is in bad need of a few euro spent on it. Enough room comfortably for one in the sauna. Jacuzzi was broke, four plastic garden chairs in steam room for seating. Food was ok, but very limited menu for the bar. Staff in the bar and reception very friendly. I fully understand the hard times that hotels are having at the minute. But this place could be so much better if some money was put into it. I've stayed in jacksons hotel (local)many times before. I thought I'd give this hotel a try. But I don't think I would stay again if I'm honest.

Ps the bar doesn't have sky for sport. Which would help bring in punters which means money in the till.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Donegal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Have just returned from our second visit to Kee's Hotel and it was just as good as our first visit.
The staff are all very friendly and nothing is to much trouble for them. Some reviews describe the
decor as dated and tired. I would say "rubbish" the decor is immaculate and the style is old fashioned ellegance. The conservatory is a bright comfortable place to sit and relax. Meals in the
restaurant are well presented and very good value and the breakfast selection is supurb. Our room (206 at the front) was large,clean and lovely and warm.The bathroom was huge and spotless with plenty of clean towels. We will return in the very near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review, I am so glad you enjoyed your return visit to Kee's. At present we are working on the gardens, planting and pruning! for a busy season ahead. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The staff are lovely, helpful and pleasant, but the hotel is a little tired looking and would do well with an update and freshening up. A more modern bathroom with hot water more quickly available would be desirable in guest rooms. The public areas of the hotel are nice but the guest rooms are tired, dull and worn, although very clean.

My room was in the front of the hotel and the room was very hot so that I had to keep the windows open at night. As the hotel is on a fairly busy road, it was quite noisy.

Dinner was good and the service was pleasant and efficient while breakfast, although there was nothing wrong with it, was uninteresting.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. Very many guests from overseas are welcomed to Kee's, and most are intrigued by the age and history of this old coaching Inn... It has been managed by successive generations of the Kee family for over 120 years, and many changes have taken place during this time. Each year a section of rooms are earmarked for renewal and refurbishment, and this work is carried out to meet exacting standards without destroying the character of the old building - this work is on-going! Kind Regards Paul Patton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night on 11th April 2013 - 2 adults and 3 children. On the positive sides the hotel is very well kept - the lobby halls and public areas are lovely - well decorated and spotlessly clean. The room we had also was very clean and ample towels were in the bathroom.

Upon arrival there was plenty of parking and the receptionist was very welcoming and helpfull. I was surprised to be given a key on a ring to our room - this is the first in a very long time we have not had a key card! but it was nice and definitley a reminder to leave it at reception when leaving the hotel.

We picked this hotel for the swimming pool and this area although clean and well kept is a bit tired and dated. A nice size however for a family swim.

The staff in the hotel were lovely and helpfull and charming BUT our experience of service at meal times was not great. At dinner- the 19 euro special (we are a family of 2 adults a 3 year old, 7 year old and 9year old) we waited a very long time for our order to be taken and there very long waits in between courses. We sat down at 7.30 and left the table a 10.10. This would have been fine if it were just me and hubby but the kids were starving and very whingy by the end. In saying that the food was delicious and a the staff lovely but it was a long wait and at one point we needed to find a staff member to clear our table and take our dessert order.

Breakfast was again a bit of a struggle with the kids. We had a swim first and then breakfast at about 9.30 - but had to sit for quite a while for the hot breakfast to arrive and then the adults arrived first followed about 10 mins later by the kids food. By the time we got to eat it was all cold.

I am not wishing to give a bad report of this hotel as I think there were extreme circumstances at both meals ( at dinner the hotel was hosting a fashion show and a breakfast there was a very angry client complaining to the waitress alot!).

The hotel is well kept and very clean and we saw evidence of rooms being redecorated. The staff were all lovely and polite but a few tweaks would help.

Our biggest bug bear was that our room over looked the road (which is very busy) and the windows were not double glazed. This meant there was alot of noise plus an alarm buzzed all night outside and we heard this also. This hotel is very close to a perfect haven off a busy road but needs just a bit of attention to detail to be great.

Room Tip: pick a facing away from the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing manager at kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center, responded to this review. Thank you for posting your review. I'm glad you found so many positives when you stayed in our hotel recently - the lovely lobby and public areas, the welcome you received from helpful, charming staff, and the high standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel. Hopefully these factors, as well as the delicious food you mention, will tempt you back to Kee's. I note that the wait at dinner was problematic for your little ones. Some of our guests choose to have their children eat earlier than themselves. Alternatively, since evening service begins at 5.30 p.m, you might decide to eat early as a family, when the restaurant is less busy... As you remark yourself, later diners tend to look on the "dining experience" as an occasion over which to linger!
Once again, thank you for your well thought out, considered review. it is our ambition to be a 'perfect haven' for all our guests. We work tirelessly toward this end and all recommendations to help achieve it are appreciated. Kind Regards. Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre

Address: Main Street, Stranorlar, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Stranorlar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stranorlar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the twin towns of Stranorlar and Ballybofey, near the foothills of the Bluestack Mountains, you'll find Donegal's warmest welcome at Kee's Hotel, family run since 1892. The bedrooms are bright and comfortable, offering the high standards expected by any seasoned traveller. The restaurant offers the finest local seasonal specialties. Spend quality time in the gym, sauna, pool or beauty salon. Ideally located for hill-walking, golf and touring. Numerous awards from international tour operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kees Hotel And Leisure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.