We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cavery and cabaret weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre to your Saves list
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Stranorlar, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stranorlar
belfast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“cavery and cabaret weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

an ulsterbus tour, for a relaxing weekend we had very good food and entertainment at the kee's hotel. the staff were great, the locals chipped in to make the break memorable. our room was spacious and clean, the bed was superb! go for the food, you won't be disapointed. the local area smelt of wood burning heating, fond memories! being from a smokeless city! enjoyed the pool and facilities, and the wireless connection was fast. we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad you had such a good time at our Carvery and Cabaret Weekend. I note that you enjoyed the input of the "locals" From all accounts they enjoyed your input as well!! Say no more! We hope to run more of the same. Hope to see you and your friends again soon at Kee's. Kind Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    124
    28
    19
    14
See reviews for
112
226
12
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I cannot vouch for the Leisure Club facilities as I didn't see or try them, but I had a spacious and clean room with good en suite facilities.

As an old building, with numerous steps and stairs (even having taken the lift), a frail or disabled customer may struggle where I was positioned, but I dare say they would place someone accordingly if any special needs were mentioned. Thinking of the lift again, beware: the door closes quite quickly and the sensor appears not to be on the lift door, but just inside: it knocked my frail mother on the way in, and shut on her before she could leave the lift behind me. Having made the adaptation to my own company's lift for just this reason, they should consider this.

Dinner was superb. I understand that the kitchen has a team of three French chefs, and they prepared a simple filet steak to perfection. Too often a filet can merely be a tender texture (hopefully!) with zero flavour; this Irish beef was delicious, served with a generous supply of vegetables. And the creme brulee desert was as good as I have tasted anywhere (and I am very fussy about this dessert), but did not require the honeycomb ice cream that came with it: it was less sweet than the brulee and superfluous.

I like the hotel, and would prefer to stay overnight here than in Jacksons nearby. But I would go to Jacksons for a better pint of Guinness!!

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for a room with no steps en route!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your very positive review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay witrh us. The hotel has been run by members of the Kee family for over 120 years, so we have a bit if experience, and a genuine love for, and interest in, this old building. We continually up-date and refurbish, and we try to ensure that the "new" bits fit in fairly seamlessly with the old. Vicky, Richard and Jayne (all Kees) are assisted by a dedicated and hardworking team to ensure that the high standards set by previous generations are upheld. It is very rewarding for us to know that our guests are enjoying the atmosphere and service we provide. Hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We booked Kee's Hotel as we wanted a two night break mid-week with our 2 sons (as a treat for our eldest son's 11th birthday). It was reasonably priced, and my husband and I had stayed here before and had a nice stay. The hotel is not modern - old fashioned, homely feel as stated in another review. The staff were pleasant and accommodating. Quick and fuss-free check-in and check-out. We had a family room - one double, 2 singles. Room towards back of hotel, near swimming-pool/spa, so quiet area. Room and bathroom clean. TV quite small and old - not up-to-date, flat screen and limited channels. Our sons had a lap-top with them to keep them entertained (thank goodness for wi-fi!). Swimming pool ok - water cold so be warned. Jacuzzi nice and warm. Also sauna/steam room. We enjoyed the full buffet breakfasts - no need for lunch as so full each day! We had one dinner for 2 in our hotel deal which was delicious. Good selection on set menu. Service good (although our sons thought meal was slow to come to table - kids!) There is a nice riverside walk - we touched lucky with nice weather during our stay. Also some nice places to eat in Ballybofey. All-in-all a nice, relaxing break for a few days. We stayed 15th and 16th March 2012. Would certainly recommend Kee's Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel near spa/swimming pool quieter ( Not wheelchair accessible as quite a few set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Kee's. People tell us that they like the traditional, homely, warm fire-type atmosphere of the hotel, but it 'sthe food that brings them back again and again. We do have a great kitchen team led by Head Chef Etienne Meyer! Hope to see you again in Kee's, and under such favourable skies!!! Kind Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My daughter held her wedding reception here on 10th February 2012, although this hotel is not one of the newer hotels, it has a long family history, it still has a homely feel about it, from the log fire to the plants in the reception area.When we arrived at the hotel we were made very welcome by the manager and the staff who served the pre meal refreshments. The meal itself was one of the talking points of the wedding, everyone had praise for the meal and the service. During the wedding the bar staff were very helpful, and after if any guests who were staying overnight wanted a drink the night porter was very pleasant and helpful. The room myself and my wife stayed in was very clean and the twin bed we slept in was very comfortable, there was also tea making facilities if you required them. The breakfast was self service and you had a choice of fried or continental breakfast and you could eat as much as you wanted. Kees Hotel is good place to stay if you are look to do some sight seeing as its ideal for Donegal or for sight seeing around Derry or Giants Causway

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. We very much enjoyed hosting your daughter's wedding here at Kee's, and are delighted that you all had such an enjoyable experience. There are three members of the Kee Family working in the hotel, and maintaining the standards set by previous generations is very important to them. We have been hosting weddings here for almost fifty years , but each wedding is unique and our dedicated wedding team treat each one as the most important, because that it is what it is for our prospective bride and her family. Hope to see you in Kee's again soon. Kind Regards, Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Went for lunch with a friend & couldn’t believe how awful the food was. We ordered a Caesar salad & a prawn salad, a glass of wine & 2 coffees. The food was on the verge of being inedible. The lettuce was very wilted & the prawns were dreadful. I really wasn’t sure if they were fresh as they definitely tasted funny. I really thought the days of serving food like this in Ireland was well & truly gone & was very shocked that a established hotel could serve up food like that & then charge over €26 for it.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you were so disappointed with your lunch the day you called with your friend. We work hard to keep our food standards high, but obviously fell short of expectations on this occasion. Our apologies, Paul Patton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed the weekend of 17 February.

Found the staff to be very helpful and always pleasant from checking in at reception to breakfast/dinner in the restaurant.

We had breakfast each morning and 1 evening meal - all of which was delicious.

Would stay again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We work hard as a team to keep up standards set over the last 120 years!! Dispatches over the intervening years mention the same positives a s yourself - friendly service and good food.
We look forward to return visits. hope to see you soon! Kind Regards, Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonderry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

From the day I accompanied my daughter and my son in law to Kees Hotel when they were searching for a venue for their forth coming wedding we were made to feel welcome. Tea and coffee was offered as soon as we arrived. Vicki sat with us taking her time and answering our many questions, Leading up to the big day my daughter had many occasions to contact the hotel and always found them very helpful, On the big day I could not fault a thing. The hotel has a lovely cosy atmosphere anyway but non more so than on that day, All the staff were very attentive and couldnt do enough for us, The food was superb and all our guests raved about it.
We were made to feel so special and that nothing was too much bother. Thanks to Kees Hotel they helped make my daughter and son in laws special day even more memorable .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeshotel, Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Paul Patton, Banqueting and Marketing Manager at Kee's Hotel, Leisure and Wellness Center responded to this review.
Thank you for posting your review. It was a real pleasure to host your wedding reception here at Kee's. It is, of course, our job to make you feel special on this very special day for the bridal couple and their families, and we have many years of experience! Many of our guests comment on the warm, cosy atmosphere of the hotel, and congratulate our chefs on the high standard of the food. We work closely together as a team to uphold Kee's proud tradition of caring for our guests. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host your celebrations, we enjoyed having you all, and look forward to your visits in the future. Kind Regards Paul (Patton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre

Address: Main Street, Stranorlar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Stranorlar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stranorlar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the twin towns of Stranorlar and Ballybofey, near the foothills of the Bluestack Mountains, you'll find Donegal's warmest welcome at Kee's Hotel, family run since 1892. The bedrooms are bright and comfortable, offering the high standards expected by any seasoned traveller. The restaurant offers the finest local seasonal specialties. Spend quality time in the gym, sauna, pool or beauty salon. Ideally located for hill-walking, golf and touring. Numerous awards from international tour operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kees Hotel And Leisure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.