We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very Happy Birthday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Croft Acre Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Eynon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Croft Acre Holiday Cottages
Save
You added Croft Acre Holiday Cottages to your Saves list
The Rickyard, Port Eynon SA3 1NN, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A very Happy Birthday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband booked me a surprise weekend break at Fennel Cottage for my birthday. We arrived at around 8.30pm on a Friday night after a four hour drive in the pouring rain. I was tired and hungry, it was dark and cold. All I wanted to do was get something to eat & go to bed. We went straight to the pub opposite as we couldn't find anywhere else (see other review). The cottage felt warm & inviting when we returned and had a chance to look around, I realised just how nice it was. It was clean, tidy and had everything you could possibly need for a weekend stay. The bed was comfortable and the blackout curtains and lack of noise meant we had a good night's sleep. The showers were hot & powerful and the kitchen was perfect. The best part was when I got up the next morning & realised just how close we were to the beach! I hadn't noticed the night before that there was a balcony in the dining room looking straight out over the beach. The sun was shining & although it was cold, we were able to sit out & admire the view. We bumped into the caretaker on our way out & he was friendly & keen to know that we had everything we needed. A lovely stay - just a shame it was only for a weekend.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

A group of friends and I had an absolutely perfect stay in the Carreglwyd Farmhouse!
The cottage is well equipped, comfortable and spacious for a group of 12. The cottage is also very well located with respect to Rhossii Bay, Worm's Head, Mumbles and Swansea making it the idea gateway to exploring Gower Peninsula anytime of the year!
The owner Jitu was also very responsive to my questions and very helpful when we needed more information.
Overall, very highly recommended in all aspects! If I ever return to this neck of the woods, I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and comfortable! Given that this is a cottage it was first in first served for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

My mother, sister, cousin & I (& our 2 dogs) have just returned after a lovely week in Maize Cottage. Ideal accommodation with view of beach which is just a 5 min walk away. Cottage had everything we needed apart from a salt & pepper pot! Lots of thoughtful extras provided however - hand wash in all bathrooms, plenty of loo rolls, dishwasher tabs, washing up liquid etc. Really comfy beds, lots of hot water etc......the little things which make all the difference. Our first visit to The Gower & we fell in love with the area. Our fav's: lunch at King Arthur Hotel, fish n chips from The Seafarer in Port Eynon, The Coalhouse Restauranfnat Oxwich By and Rhossili beach- breathtakingly beautiful and walking the worms head was tough but v rewarding! We intend to return again next year so we can explore some more beaches and enjoy this outstanding area which we thought of as like Cornwall without the traffic

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in a group of 7 for one of our friends birthday. There was more than enough rooms and three bathrooms meant that you didn't have to queue to use the toilet. The location was great, a few minutes walk to the beach. We took our own food and drink and the kitchen facilities had everything you could ever need. The decor could have been better, it could have done with modernising but this wasnt an issue. The beds were comfy and the surrounding areas were nice and peaceful. There was also free wifi available which was helpful as none of us had phone signal. Overall it was a lovely stay and none of us wanted to leave. It would be definitely something i would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Barley Cottage is lovely and what a brilliant location, just a very short walk over the dunes and you are on the beach and wow, the view from the balcony is amazing! Jitu the Manager is wonderful, he just couldn't have been more helpful when our car broke down in Scurlage and was off the road for 3 days. He made sure we enjoyed Rhossili and Three Cliffs by giving us lifts not to mention transporting our luggage back to our car on the last day, all for free. It was so re-assuring to know Jitu was only a phone call away! We are planning a return trip next year.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

My family had another lovely stay at Cherry Tree Cottage. Mr Groves and Jihu looked after us very well. The accommodation is high quality and very pleasant to stay in. We will certainly return next year. The cottage is near the only pub in the village, and only a short walk from the beach.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Rented Maize Cottage for 2 weeks in August. Clean and well equipped accommodation on v small private estate in the centre of this lovely little village. Even though August, the sandy beach with life guards was not busy (sand when the tide is out, and to the left of where the web cam is pointed). VERY quiet even though centrally located. Good restaurant in the village, good fish and chips there too, and a pub which was being refurbished when we were there, good we are told. Great walks in different directions. Lovely feel and very relaxing satisfying holiday overall.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Croft Acre Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croft Acre Holiday Cottages

Address: The Rickyard, Port Eynon SA3 1NN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Port Eynon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Port Eynon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croft Acre Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.