We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay in a Beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Culver House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Eynon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Culver House Hotel
Save
You added Culver House Hotel to your Saves list
Port Eynon | Gower, Port Eynon SA3 1NN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Eynon
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in a Beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I took a weekend trip to Port Eynon in Early November this year, although we didn't expect great weather, we were looking for a peaceful getaway from the city. We were recommended the Culver House Hotel by a family member and it was absolutely beautiful. We stayed in Apartment 8 on the top floor and were greeted by breathtaking views of the beach and surrounding areas, which were literally a stones throw away from the front door. The apartment was spotless, the kitchen held everything you needed, the bedroom was tidy, clean and extremely comfortable. Honestly we were completely blown away by the upkeep of the hotel and the presentation of the rooms and services on offer, especially considering it is animal friendly. Fortunately the weather didn't disappoint too much and we were able to get a few long walks across the beach and sand dunes. It was perfect for myself and my partner, as we are both photographers and we couldn't recommend this hotel enough for a peaceful break away in the colder months or a month long stay in the summer, as I can only imagine it to be amazing. Thank you Culver House hotel for a lovely stay and we shall definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    28
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
19
64
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in October - lovely location right near the beach - brilliant for us as we have a dog. We stayed in the apartment separate to the main house and were very disappointed.
Overall everything needed updating but the worst aspect was that the room was not clean. We had to sweep the floors ourselves, the microwave was dirty and there were hairs all over the bathroom. We will not be going back which is a shame because it was difficult to find anywhere that would take a dog in this location.
Went to the Greyhound for an evening meal which was a good place that did allow dogs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culverhot, Owner at Culver House Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We were very sorry to read your review. We try very hard to do a good job for our guests. As you will see from our other reviews on TripAdvisor and on our own web site, we frequently get it right. Occasionally something goes wrong and things don't reach guest expectations. If guests make us aware of problems we will always endeavour to find a solution. We regret that in this case we didn't have that opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend at culver house,upon arrival we we upgraded foc to a better suite ,what a great place to stay,100yds from the beach,pub just down the road,modern hotel suite everything you need is there ,very comfortable ,clean,warm,cosy,didn't want to come home will stay again .reccomended

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

this is the second time we have stayed and the fact that the rooms are apartments gives you a feeling of a home from home.the location is as good as it gets,a short walk and you are on the beach.really lovely break,wish we could have stayed longer.thanks

Room Tip: downstairs apartments have a small garden for sitting out and the upstairs rooms have balonies,so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for instant beach access which our dog loved- so much so that he woke us at 4am to go for a sniff!
An Out of season visit means the beaches are all dog friendly but everything else is shut so you need to drive a fair distance for food (or stock up en route).
Local beach was fabulous but can also highly recommend nearby Rhosilli and Oxwich beaches, where at low tide you can walk as far as the eye can see or maybe up a sand dune like we did to enjoy the view ( and receive a wedding proposal..... I said yes by the way!)
Culver House is clean & has everything you need for a lovely stay. We couldn't locate a DVD player as suggested in other reviews but we didn't want for anything and our hosts were on site to provide fresh towels etc if needed.
Highly recommend for a dog friendly visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent 2 nights in suite 4 which allowed dogs so we allowed to take Duke. Check in was perfect collect your keys from a secure box in reception and found our suite straight away. If you are after somewhere that you are left alone this is the place. Suite was lovely with real oak floors, Tv, DVD player excellent information, everything you need and even special touchs like tea coffee milk etc. Very clean (only few cobwebs around the windows) bedding and towels fresh and clean.

Location - fantastic walk out of the hotel and within 10 seconds you can sea the wonderful Port Eynon beach which is clean and beautiful. Dogs are allowed at the top end of the beach which Duke loved playing in the sea.

We took a trip over to Rhossili Bay ( dogs allowed all year) - all I can say about this beach is wow wow wow, ok the downside is the walk down which is a proper Tarmac path, however you must remember you are walking down a cliff. We have travelled to many places in the world but never seen a beach with miles of sand, clean water and fantastic mountain views and watching the surfers tackle the waves. After walking the length of the beach and tackling the path back up ( burning thighs oh yes) we had a cup of coffee and headed over to see Worms Head which is a flat walk along the top of the cliff where the views are some of the prettiest I have seen. What a beautiful coast line.

After we headed to Oxwich Hotel for lunch and sat in the gardens with Duke and enjoyed the views of the sea and the wonderful lunch.

Overall we had a lovely time would recommend this hotel, and we will definitely be back.

Thank you for excellent service and see you soon Culverhouse hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going away with no dogs, get the suite on the second floor you get wonderful sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at this apartment for 2 nights Friday 30/8 and Saturday 31/8 what a beautiful place. The beach is just metres from the front door and there are no busy roads to negotiate. There is a lovely fish and chip shop a couple of minutes walk away. The apartments are well equipped with everything you need plus thoughtful extras coffee and coffee maker, milk in the fridge etc. The views eating breakfast were amazing helped by the sunshine. We took a trip to Rhossilli Bay about 10/15 minutes drive. We were a mixed age group my little niece 4 years had a lovely time and really enjoyed the beautiful beach as did we all - thank you for a fab stay. I would recommend taking food with you as we didn't see a lot of shops and they were quite expensive.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 5 for 4 people this was perfect a twin and a king. If you can have one of the upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Culver House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culver House Hotel

Address: Port Eynon | Gower, Port Eynon SA3 1NN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Port Eynon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Eynon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished in April 2009. Great for a romantic one night getaway, a short break or a family holiday. Situated on a stunning, accessible blue flag beach, offering luxury 1&2 bedroom suites offering open plan living/kitchen/dining room. All apartments have sea views and balconies or direct private access to a garden.WiFi with free internet connection, music library, P.C. with DVD facility and large screen TV in lounge. Flat screen TVs in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Culver Hotel Swansea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culver House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.