We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beach location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Culver House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Eynon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Culver House Hotel
Save
You added Culver House Hotel to your Saves list
Port Eynon | Gower, Port Eynon SA3 1NN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Eynon
South Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent 2 nights in suite 4 which allowed dogs so we allowed to take Duke. Check in was perfect collect your keys from a secure box in reception and found our suite straight away. If you are after somewhere that you are left alone this is the place. Suite was lovely with real oak floors, Tv, DVD player excellent information, everything you need and even special touchs like tea coffee milk etc. Very clean (only few cobwebs around the windows) bedding and towels fresh and clean.

Location - fantastic walk out of the hotel and within 10 seconds you can sea the wonderful Port Eynon beach which is clean and beautiful. Dogs are allowed at the top end of the beach which Duke loved playing in the sea.

We took a trip over to Rhossili Bay ( dogs allowed all year) - all I can say about this beach is wow wow wow, ok the downside is the walk down which is a proper Tarmac path, however you must remember you are walking down a cliff. We have travelled to many places in the world but never seen a beach with miles of sand, clean water and fantastic mountain views and watching the surfers tackle the waves. After walking the length of the beach and tackling the path back up ( burning thighs oh yes) we had a cup of coffee and headed over to see Worms Head which is a flat walk along the top of the cliff where the views are some of the prettiest I have seen. What a beautiful coast line.

After we headed to Oxwich Hotel for lunch and sat in the gardens with Duke and enjoyed the views of the sea and the wonderful lunch.

Overall we had a lovely time would recommend this hotel, and we will definitely be back.

Thank you for excellent service and see you soon Culverhouse hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going away with no dogs, get the suite on the second floor you get wonderful sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    28
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
19
64
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at this apartment for 2 nights Friday 30/8 and Saturday 31/8 what a beautiful place. The beach is just metres from the front door and there are no busy roads to negotiate. There is a lovely fish and chip shop a couple of minutes walk away. The apartments are well equipped with everything you need plus thoughtful extras coffee and coffee maker, milk in the fridge etc. The views eating breakfast were amazing helped by the sunshine. We took a trip to Rhossilli Bay about 10/15 minutes drive. We were a mixed age group my little niece 4 years had a lovely time and really enjoyed the beautiful beach as did we all - thank you for a fab stay. I would recommend taking food with you as we didn't see a lot of shops and they were quite expensive.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 5 for 4 people this was perfect a twin and a king. If you can have one of the upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Culver House Hotel
Date of stay 6th August 2013
Location 5 - Excellent
Cleanliness 5 - Excellent
Facilities 5 - Excellent
Service / Staff 5 - Excellent
Would you recommend us to other travellers? Yes
Comments about us we were grateful of the fresh milk, tea bags etc. shower gel, shampoo etc in bathroom all very thoughtful. we would return again and the weather was a bonus.
Tips for other travellers greyhound pub for food in oldwalls also the britannia inn good for food. not many shops around so advise travellers not to forget essentials.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Beautiful location - very friendly owner - quiet area - great see view from our room - one minute to the beach - we are happy to have been at Culver Hotel - (couple from switzerland.).

I really would recommend to my friends and to other travellers who want to visit Cower

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The location of this property is amazing! Lovely bright rooms and fantastic views. A very pleasant, peaceful stay. Walk from the property along the coast to Worms Head, about 8 miles with stunning scenery.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was above and beyond all our expectations and was equipped with such generousity and with everything to such a high standard. We appreciated the packet of ground coffee, big carton of fresh milk and all the extras which makes a stay so enjoyable - many thanks for a restful break

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay in your hotel. The rooms/apartment were first class. Modern, clean and tidy and made us very comfortable. The location is lovely and we were obviously blessed with great weather so all in all we had a fantastic weekend.
Kind regards
Joe

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Culver House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culver House Hotel

Address: Port Eynon | Gower, Port Eynon SA3 1NN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Port Eynon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Eynon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished in April 2009. Great for a romantic one night getaway, a short break or a family holiday. Situated on a stunning, accessible blue flag beach, offering luxury 1&2 bedroom suites offering open plan living/kitchen/dining room. All apartments have sea views and balconies or direct private access to a garden.WiFi with free internet connection, music library, P.C. with DVD facility and large screen TV in lounge. Flat screen TVs in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Culver Hotel Swansea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culver House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.