We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Easter which was ruined by the Lamphey” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lamphey, Pembroke SA71 5NT, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lamphey
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Easter which was ruined by the Lamphey”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had booked two double rooms via booking.com and received confirmation (which we fortunately printed and took with us to the hotel). It seems the hotel had fouled up by manually entering our booking for the wrong month into their system and so did not have two double rooms available when we arrived. They tried to find alternative comparable accommodation in the South Pembrokeshire area but as it was the Easter weekend not surprisingly they were unsuccessful and rather than accept inferior accommodation we returned home. We live in south east Wales but my daughter and her partner had come from London. The staff were apologetic but were clearly not empowered to offer any reparation. A promise was made that the general manager would contact us but no contact has been forthcoming. So don't look for any proper apology, or offers of reparation when they screw up your booking as their customer care simply does not extend to it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare D, Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Melanie I feel that this has been covered in our resent correspondence, however I will apologize again and hope that you will accept to offer's made as the attempts to accommodate you at the time by our Senior receptionist & Operations manager where not suitable.

As we both agreed this was human error & I have taken on board your comments on empowerment, however will pick this up with the team as they where both able to make this decision under the circumstances and I am lead to believe that it was lack of availability in other hotels that was the challenge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    162
    89
    60
    37
See reviews for
86
236
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had made a booking with the Lamphey Court hotel via Best Western central booking for two rooms. We specified one room to be on the ground floor with a walk in shower. We live in South Africa and last night we got a phone call from Lisa at the hotel to say she had received the booking and while ground floor room was no problem were we aware that the shower was over the bath and not walk in. For her to have taken the time and trouble to phone from Wales to South Africa to make sure we knew about the shower was for us quite amazing. So many times we complain about a lack of service or at best shoddy service that we feel that Lisa and the hotel deserve a pat on the back. We certainly will come to the hotel when we are travelling on our own where the shower is not a problem. Thank you Lisa

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare D, Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the service you have received so far, we try and ensure all our guests have rooms that meet their requirements where ever possible.

We look forward to meeting you on your up coming stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very pleased with the room, the service, the spa and the breakfast. Staff were very helpful. Plenty of convenient parking. Pool was a bit cool but told by a regular that normally it's much better. WiFi worked a treat. Plenty of tea and coffee in room.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare D, Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your resent stay - your comments will be passed to the team.
We normally run the pool at approx 28-30 deg, sometimes if it is warm outside the water will feel cooler to the body, in the same way it feels rally hot if you are cold getting into a warm bath.

We hope to see you again in the future and are glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We were really pleased with the hotel overall. We and a family deluxe suite in a separate low building. It had a separate twin bedroom for our children and we all shared the ensuite. It was very very quiet which we appreciated. The beds and linen were good - plenty of towels and a decent bathroom. Nice biscuits and tea tray in the room. We asked for 2 extra duvets which were promptly delivered. The swimming pool and spa are clearly newly refurbed and were excellent with fixed times for children to play in the pool. Breakfast in the morning all excellent, slick and cooked to order - all tasty. Price for our stay was very reasonable. The hotel grounds and surroundings are beautiful and worthy if exploring if you have time. Many thanks - we plan to come back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare D, Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your resent stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, your comments will be passed onto the team and we look forward to your next visit.

Please remember to call the hotel directly for the best offers and rates: 01646 672 273.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed for 1 night in a family studio room. Have stayed here 3 times in the past during family celebrations and reunions. Felt that studio needed a major refurbishment - tired looking furniture and furnishings and bathroom needed updating -black mould around bath/shower not very appealing! Restaurant service and food very good. Spa and pool very busy, but enjoyed by all. Burglar alarm problems throughout the night meant that sleep was disrupted but no apology at all was offered during check out. Unfortunately, we won't be returning for another family break in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare D, Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Firstly I would like to thank you for giving feed back on your stay and let you know that the housekeeping & customer service comments will be picked up with the reliant teams.

I apologies that when the hotel alarm was activated by an intruder you where disturbed & that reception did not apologies on check out - I have addressed this with the receptionist on duty.

There is an ongoing schedule of works where we are up dating our rooms, we have not yest reached our studio's, but they are included within the plans.

We hope that you will return, possibly requesting one of the refurbished rooms on booking with the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel

Address: Lamphey, Pembroke SA71 5NT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke > Lamphey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lamphey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa is Pembrokeshire’s best kept secret, a stunning country hotel set in beautiful grounds. Set in the heart of Pembrokeshire, giving access to beaches, national park, the historic Preseli Hills and the world famous Pembrokeshire Coast National Park and coastal path. The hotel sits in an elevated south facing position with unspoiled views across the Pembrokeshire countryside alongside a beautiful medieval bishop’s palace. Also within a very short drive is Oakwood theme Park and Manor House Wildlife Park, owned by Anna Ryder Richardson; Caldey Island with its Cistercian monastery; and countless historic castles, such as Carew and Pembroke. Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa is the jewel of Pembrokeshire, a picture perfect location, whether on business or pleasure, with family or as a couple. Escape to the tranquility and luxury of this stunning location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pembroke
Pembroke Best Western
BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel Pembroke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.