We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Good location but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kalia Kibbutz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kalia Kibbutz to your Saves list
Kalia Kibbutz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   adjacent to the caves of Qumran, Kalya 90666   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalya
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good location but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Just to say I am reviewing this place in comparison to other places in Israel, as all of them have different standard to the European accommodation. We stayed in the kibbutz 2 nihgts, out of season- in January. First of all it takes only about an hour to drive from Jerusalem to the sea. You can find cheaper places to stay in Jerusalem if you want to spend just one day by the sea. I was quite disappointed with the hirls at the reception, who were quite rude on our arrival...Honestly girls-smile would not kill you!!! We booked a triple room but only had a double bed ready so had to wait for the linen and then do the third bed ourselves...Little details like no hairdryer in the room-in fact no hairdryer even at the reception. But I think after unpleasant welcome you notice things like this even more. The kibbutz (village of Kalya) is located close to the "green line"...therefore the entire village is surrounded by a smart or electric fence with a barbed wire. Not sure if its for the protection from Jordanians or Palestinians or just over protection... Between 6-8pm the israeli fighter jets fly really just above your head-a lot of noise and gives you a weird feeling like being on a polygon (although the other two in our party were delighted and very excited seeing that). The soldiers on the gates to the village do not allow villagers to leave after sunset and so the tourists are advised to stay within the camp as well. The hotel grounds are nice-a few rubbish here and there but clean inside the apartment. In the morning-good breakfast, birds singing and close by mountains make up for the evening noise. There are hourse riding lessons, tennis court and an open pool-unfortunately the pool is closed In low season which is a shame. The beach is about 5 km drive from the village (!!!) so dont even bother booking more expensive rooms with "the sea view". All apartments have the same view. The beach itself is nice, a bar, few shops with souvenirs and mud cosmetics.There is plenty of mud just on the beach so you can do the mud bath if you fancy.The Kalya Kibbutz hotel will give you some vouchers for free entry cos normally you have to pay for the entrance to the beach. All in all we would say it is a good location and pleasant stay, but should be cheaper for what they offer.The hotel management should make sure the reception staff is welcoming even for "after season" tourists- in the end the whole kibbutz would benefit from better reviews.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grafton
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was with a group of tourists, on a one night stay. This was my second time staying at this kibbutz. Reception was a bit hard to find at first, and not immediately welcoming. They did warm up, and we were shown to our rooms. The cottages are nice, not elegant, but clean and comfortable. The food was good, but not spectacular. The grounds are relaxing and well taken care of. I especially liked having the little market in the middle of the facility; a good place to stock up while traveling.
There was a wedding at the kibbutz pool that night, which meant we could not use the pool. It also meant that there was very loud music until very late, which kept most of the folk in our group awake. The staff was willing to open the bar for us after dinner, which was nice.
I would stay here again; the location is great, and the prices very reasonable. I would make sure there was not going to be a big event.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

this is a nowdays review about this zimmer for pepole with good standart i obey you do not reserve and if you did cancel it immediately.
i'll start with 2 things that were ok
the pool is nice but crowted
and the beach is nice {as long as you leave before noon}
and now the bad things:
well start with the location
as a israeli who understands the north dead sea has nothing to offer it is far from the hotels shopping centers and attractions {1hr drive}
the rooms:
they were very small and not suitable for families with 2 kids imagine a small space that contains together kitchen bathroom and 2 armchairs that opens to beds {that aren't comfortable to say the least as a result from the location youll probobly have to make your meals but the kitchen even doesnt have a microwave!!
the breakfast was average made mostly out of vegtables but has white chesse and bread too
sleep quality:the beds were terrible {from all kinds} like slepping on a rock {kids} or on a raft {adults}.
things i didnt like:
firstable we went with our large families and we sat together when we did i felt like i sat at the animals shelter there were dogs cats and mostly flies around us at all times.
the thing that holdes the curtain in the bathroom fell on me twice and in the reception said fix it alone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I've been here for the second time, and again I loved every minute.
The sun, the sea and you have a freshwater swimming pool, for those who don't want the saltwater.
The food they serve is not to the greatest I had but still eatble...
Around you can find nice restaurants

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lod, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

It is impossible to enjoy the Dead Sea on the hotel beach! Bottom is covered with a thick layer of mud. You should be go up from the beach to the parking lot to a height of 10 floors under hot sun. The entrance to the water is not suitable for healthy people, and it is impossible for the disabled people. In past years, special bridges were built, but now they are destroyed. The Administration explained that the construction of bridges is very expensive but entrance to beach is not free!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This collective has a poignant history, as it had been abandoned due to the war of independence in 1948 and then rebuilt following the 6 day war. The members braved the harsh desert to grow prized quality dates, watermelons and dairy products. The guesthouse provides a genuine and spartan kibbutz living experience, but the rooms are adequate and surrounded by nature. The nearby dead sea beach of the kibbutz (entry is included) is great for bathing and mud and is literally 5 minutes away by car. We also got an excellent massage by a kibbutz member. The food was simple but satisfactory, and there is a well stocked minimarket. In such an environment I rate it excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was a beautiful spot with lovely flowers, birds and even cats and dogs.
Neat, small utilitarian apartments with patios
Good food.
Didn't see much staff.
Shower from Hell! A half stall with a drain in one corner and a squeegee to clean the floor. Apparently, not all are like this. Word of advice: navy shower - less water to clean up!
Free Wifi in public areas.
Traveled with a group, stayed 1 night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalia Kibbutz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalia Kibbutz

Address: adjacent to the caves of Qumran, Kalya 90666
Location: Palestinian Territories > West Bank > Kalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalia Kibbutz 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just A few minutes drive away from the Beaches of the Dead Sea, Qumran, Masada, the Judea Desert and the Ein Gedi Hot Springs, Kibbutz Kalia Holiday Village offers its guests accommodations surrounded by lush gardens. The hotel has 64 air-conditioned ground floor rooms, some of which can accommodate two people, while others can accommodate up to four individuals. All rooms have a private terrace and feature cable television, a double bed and two sofa beds, refrigerator, kettle and lounge area. Guests can enjoy free wireless internet in the hotel's public areas, an outdoor pool in season, laundry, dry cleaning and ironing services, a 24-hour reception desk and currency exchange. The kibbutz offers a playground for children, as well as a mini-market, two conference rooms, health treatments and horse- back ridding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Kalia Kibbutz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalia Kibbutz Kalya, Palestinian Territories

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalia Kibbutz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.