We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in the this area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Taller

El Taller
2, place Verdaguer, 66500 Taurinya, France
04 68 05 63 35
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Taurinya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $45
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Contemporary, Healthy
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Prades P.O
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in the this area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Taurinya is just a couple of miles from the famous abbey of St Michel de Cuxa and the restaurant El Taller truly delivers heavenly food. The dining room is light and airy with interesting art work on the walls and the terrace covered by sail shaped material affords shade for diners who want to eat outside at this time of the year.
As the evening was windy we decided to eat indoors, and enjoyed a drink at the bar before taking our places and choosing from the two menus. My husband's choice was a rocket soup topped with whipped goat's cheese and cream. This was followed by king prawns with mixed vegetables, which were just melt in the mouth. I enjoyed stuffed veal escalopes and the other guests had salmon which rapidly disappeared. The waitress and waiter were charming and very efficient, making sure we always had bread ( home made) and drinks.
The desserts are to die for, it is difficult to choose, but all are excellent and as all the food here, beautifully presented. The staff who are young were friendly and discreet. We had a wonderful relaxing evening eating delicious food, bravo the chefs and bravo the staff. We highly recommend this restaurant and feel it is the best place to eat in this area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    21
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in the Prades area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Excellent restaurant. Have visited several times. Only dissapointed once, as we did not book.
Always book in the holiday season

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellet gourmet dinner at very reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

The restaurant is in a very modern building in the little village of Taurinya in the Eastern Pyrenees - off the beaten track just south of Prades. El Taller is most certainly worth a visit. They have two three-course menus, one at EUR 26,50 and the Gourmand dinner at EUR 35 (£30). Indivdual dishes may be ordered from each menu at slightly higher prices. The service is very friendly and attentive. We came early at 18:30, enjoying a special beer, l'Alzina from Bouleternere, in the bar waiting for the restaurant to open for orders between 19:30-21:00. Already at 19:00 we had a table ready and chose the Gourmand dinner along with an excellent bottle of white wine, L'Astre Blanc from Banyul at EUR 23 (£19,40). It was worth every penny! The starter, a Gourmand Salade was very good with a mixed salad along with pate, foie gras, bread with fruit and other specialties. The main course was an excellent veal tournedos with vegetables well prepared. My wife had large prawns and really enjoyed then. The finale was a Goürmand Coffee consisting of a cup of espresso accompanied by three sets of delicious cakes, some hot, some cold and with a wonderful sweet in a glass. We spent well over two hours at the table and enjoyed every minute. The friendly waitress saw to that we felt very well looked after at all times and also ensured that we had amble time between the main course and the dessert. This is our third visit to El Taller and they never fail to impress us with their food and service. As a bonus they have changing painting exhibitions on their walls. They do not have a Michelin Star, although in our opinion they deserve it more than some others in the region.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We had two visits to El Taller one for dinner and the other for lunch. Both were great successes and the staff were excellent in dealing with our limited French and explained the menus is full. This is a place worth seeking out. Interesting Art there too.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Simply a Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

You would not expect a restaurant like this in the village of Taurinya: A modern building with huge glass windows and a stylish atmosphere. The good impression started already with a very warm and friendly reception. There are two menues for 26,50 and 35 €, for each of them you can select among at least 6 starters, main courses and desserts. Everything was delicious, but the boles de picolat (Catalan meatballs) and the tomato-bell pepper soup deserve a special mention, not to forget the peach soup as a dessert. Be careful if you take a digestif, the portions are very generous.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Taller also viewed

Ceret, Pyrenees-Orientales
Prades, Pyrenees-Orientales
 
Thuir, Pyrenees-Orientales
Perpignan, Pyrenees-Orientales
 

Been to El Taller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Taller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.